We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary

Save
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (38)
Storyboard
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good44%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“olympic oval”(5 reviews)
“minute walk”(19 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
81
135
62
42
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
81
135
62
42
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudent residenceolympic ovalminute walkcontinental breakfastone bedroom suiteboiled eggsbar fridgeyogurtper dayfree wifidoing businessparking garagesmall kitchenmini fridgefront desk staffc trainflat screen tv
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had a 1 br suite. Fridge, microwave, 2 TVs; Fairly Euro styling. Room has air-conditioning and blinds. Washroom is okay - not too small. Things were clean and housekeeping can be arranged. Bistro Alma downstairs is a functional and somewhat pleasant diner. The bed...More

Thank Eric G
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Eric G, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Alma. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the bed fit...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

I found Hotel Alma on Trivago, as one of the cheaper options for a night's stay in Calgary, close to the airport. I was completely impressed by the helpful and friendly staff and the appearance of the space. My room was great - and more...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q4120STkarenk
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Q4120STkarenK, We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at Hotel Alma. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us at Hotel Alma. In addition to our convenience store and restaurant we have...More

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Worst experience ever, booked through hotwire for 2 rooms @ their so called hotel. When checked in was not put into the hotel but into the dorm room section. When front desk was informed about what i had booked I was told to pay an...More

Thank Bilal S
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Bilal S, Thank you for passing along your comments about your stay in one of our student apartment. We are sorry to hear that you were unaware that a student room had been reserved for you, these room types are also available for online...More

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Hotel Alma. Were not sure what to expect, with it being on a university campus. The hotel and room appeared to be renovated and were clean. Breakfast was included each morning, and access granted to the University of...More

Thank Beach_Babe_033
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Beach_Babe_033 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Hotel Alma. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on campus and were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. The University Campus...More

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Yamnuska Hall where Hotel Alma apartments are located. On the plus side - inexpensive, relatively close to downtown, clean, large fridge and microwave, Starbucks and Domino's on site, free wifi with strong signal. On the downside - bed was really uncomfortable and too...More

Thank Dawn_Nadeau
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Dawn_Nadeau We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your time in one of our Residence buildings. During the summer months the University offers student dormitories to guests looking for less expensive accommodations. We hope that you found this option comfortable for your...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Calgary
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$68 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$68 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Yaxinlou
10 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow pets at Hotel Alma. However, we do allow service dogs.
0
Votes
290carol
9 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Hello 290carol, Thank you for your question. Our Two bedroom student accommodations are equipped with two double beds. These beds have dormitory style mattresses so can be quite cozy with two people. If you are worried... More
0
Votes
29 November 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Good Morning, Typically Hotel Alma does require a credit card to book a reservation as well as at check in. However, if you are able to put down a 50% deposit at the time of booking we would certainly be able to make an... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"If you use a wheelchair make sure that your chair will fit through the doorway"
Read review
"Ask about the deals on the rooms they have check trip advisor or kayak to get the best deal on a room as they..."
Read review
"Ask for top floors. It is more quiet."
Read review
"just call or book online, the staff is so warm and accommodating"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing