Le Germain Hotel Calgary

Le Germain Hotel Calgary

899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8 Canada
Clean modern decor
Traveller (431)
Comfy Bed
Room & Suite (303)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 859
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 110 hotels in Calgary
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Across the street from Calgary Tower, this modern, upscale hotel is just steps from the Arts Commons the Glenbow Museum, the TELUS Convention Centre, and Olympic Plaza. Also nearby: the popular pedestrian walkway Stephen Avenue, where there are nine large shopping centres and department stores, retro cinemas, some of the best restaurants, pubs, cafes and bars, as well as an array of eclectic boutiques and art galleries. Sleek, contemporary rooms are equipped with goose-down comforters and minibars, plus flat-screen TVs, Nespresso coffeemakers and free Wi-Fi. Amenities include a spa, a 24-hour fitness centre, and a contemporary lounge bar. Ten spaces, perfect for meetings and events, and an indoor parking are also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Calgary Intl Airport
1,167Review11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 817
  • 260
  • 66
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Raymond W wrote a review Aug 2020
Spruce Grove, Canada29 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lot has changed post covid unfortunately. The hotel has done well in some aspects but others have room to improve.

The parking is one of these, there is no valet anymore since covid and the signage to find the current parking lot and to know which spots are safe to park in is lacking. I nearly missed the entrance to the parking and also noticed others calling in to ask where it was as well. There is no map on the website pointing out the parking lot. Due to poor signage, I had to call to confirm I was in the right parking place, to make sure I didn't need to take a ticket, to confirm that the spots marked "reserved hotel" were for guests and to confirm that the posted $40 per day would be discounted to the price I was quoted when booking.

Breakfast was previously included, now it is cancelled except for a couple of days per week. I understand the difficulty of having a buffet with covid happening, but it would be nice to have some sort of breakfast option available all days, even at a cost.

Be careful with your room selection, the first time we stayed, we had a large room with a bathtub, the second time, we were given a smaller room with no bathtub. I've never stayed in a hotel without a bathtub in any country I've visited, so this was new for me. I wouldn't have had an issue with this if I was informed of this at booking, but I wasn't made aware of this.

The room was clean. The TV in our room had a chromecast built in which was cool, it might be something you need to ask for in advance.

Overall the stay was nice and I've had worse experiences in Calgary but I've also had better. Next time we might consider looking around for something better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Dear Raymond W, Thank you for your time and sharing your feedback us . I will definitely that we had to adjust a lot of operations due to Covid . I hope we will be able to safely open our breakfast room with buffet in the future. Currently we have restored valet operations, I regret to know that this service was not available during your stay . All our rooms are coming with spacious walk-in rainfall shower ; and some rooms have bathtub as well. Chromcast is available on all the TVs in the rooms! I greatly look forward to having you stay with us again! Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GratefulinDundas wrote a review Sept 2021
Dundas, Ontario107 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose to stay for two nights between two legs of vacation: one featuring family visits in Edmonton, the second in the mountains with friends. It helped that we were subsidized by a generous gift certificate.

We enjoyed the view from our Privilege King corner room, the high ceilings, the Moulton Brown bath products, free Wifi and the very comfy bed. The room's layout and long desk allowed us to spread out and enjoy a variety of activities.

The proximity to the pedestrian mall, nice restaurants and patios for coffee and treats added to our city experience. Not feeling comfortable with indoor eating, we chose take-out for dinners and were impressed with the quality and presentation of what we ordered.

As others have commented, the staff were helpful and friendly without exception- but we'd offer a special mention of Erwin who went out of his way to cater to our every request.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lunanegra5 wrote a review Aug 2021
Guejar Sierra, Spain293 contributions161 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love this modern boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Calgary. Prior to my stay, I received a call to check on my needs for my upcoming stay. Desk personnel were professional and welcoming. The room was exceptionally comfortable with superior bedding - linens, mattress, etc. The bath/shower were also really nice - lots of space to spread out (as I was sharing the space with my sister!). k

Our room was also a considerable distance from the elevators and stairs making it a quiet location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris W wrote a review Sept 2022
Sorede, France915 contributions279 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had everything we wanted apart from one thing, something which we thought applied to other parts of the hotel and that was lack of light. Our room, including the bathroom, were much darker than anticipated even when the blinds were fully opened and all lights were turned to maximum so it gave the room an uncomfortable feel. It even made wet shaving difficult which was not helped further by a lack of a plug in the sink. Likewise, the corridors leading to the lifts were also darker than one would expect.
Our reservation included continental breakfast which was fine apart from one thing - the lack of any bread to accompany the cheese and meat. We were flabbergasted when the hotel expected us to pay 5$ for 2 slices of bread!
Overall, the staff were quite friendly and helpful.
However, if ever in Calgary again, we would definitely look to stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Paying 5$ for two slices of bread when having continental breakfast when no bread is offered as...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Dear Chris W, Thank you for your time and sharing your experience with us . I regret to know that lighting in the hotel was not up to your expectation. We are working with restaurant constantly to improve the breakfast offering. I am so pleased to hear that the staff were cordial and accommodating; and that other than the lights you liked the room amenities. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joshmoka4 wrote a review Jun 2020
8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is nice but very inconvenient and overpriced. Staff were not helpful in their advice and it ended up costing us $52 for parking overnight because of innaccurate information given by her front desk clerk. Check out was painful even though we informed them that we had a gift card when we checked in. The hotel itself is very modern and aesthetically pleasing but not much value for your dollar.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Dear joshmoka4, Thank you for your time and sharing the feedback with us . We are pleased to know that you liked the hotel design. We apologize about inconvenience during the stay ; and happy to confirm the hotel parking situation is resolved and self parking fee is currently 25 CAD for 24 hours . We hope to have an opportunity to provide you with a more fulfilling stay the next time your travel needs bring you to Calgary. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stephane93 wrote a review Jan 2024
Montreal, Canada7 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious room, nicely decorated with lots of amenities but still oddities from a chain that favors design to the detriment of functionality (faucet too short that floods vanity when opened slightly, sliding doors that could be opened Lamborghini-style because of missing rails on the floor, shower glass door that bangs a lot because of a measurement problem, light system requiring a PHD in electricity to understand how to switch off all lights at once)

Beds were very comfy and housekeeping fast to answer for amenities in shortage.

Breakfast buffet is a big disappointment. Quality was okay the first day (very good croissants, cold meats, banana loaf) but pastries leftovers clearly offered again the next days (not fresh at all). Worse is the staff that we seemed to bother and preferred to stay talking between each other. No "Good morning", no warmth at all, just rough business-as-usual style. When we asked for bread (twice, because once doesn't seem enough) for butter, jam or cold meat, we were reluctantly brought a basket of toasts, that were added to our room charge without letting us know. We really were under the impression that staff was expecting us to spread butter and jam on our fingers, and then, lick them!

This kind of experience really ruins a whole trip. It's just mean. And what is not understandable is that Charcut (the restaurant where breakfast is served) has many reviews reflecting poor behavior from the staff. How come Le Germain hadn't rectified the situation with them for a long time? I can't understand staying with a partner that damages one's brand...

That being said, lobby staff was quite polite and understanding, helping us to fix the troubling situation with breakfast. A big thank you also to the manager who was fast to act and did it in a generous way.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear Stephane93, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel team provided a warm welcome, addressing the issues you encountered with breakfast. I sincerely apologize for the breakfast experience. We will discuss the points raised with our partners at Charcut restaurant and collaborate with them to enhance both services and offerings. Your feedback on the stay is highly valuable, and we will explore various options to improve the overall guest experience moving forward. Thank you once again, and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
youcango wrote a review Aug 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina14 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to stay at Le Germain Calgary on our last night of our week long excursion to Banff and Jasper National Parks. What a great decision that was! We treated ourselves to a massage and facial and the spa (really nice after hiking for so many days), and we wound down with room service from Charcut for dinner. The room itself was beautifully appointed and spacious, and we loved having some nice cool air conditioning after staying in some places that did not offer it.

The staff was wonderful- everyone was kind and warm. Our time at the spa was particularly relaxing- they offered drinks and snacks while we enjoyed the relaxation spaces and waited for our appointment.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place to stay in Calgary or just to wind down and treat yourself to a nice night in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carrie-Anne M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am very disappointed on the choice of wine it was horrible and the chocolates are the most disgusting chocolates I’ve ever eaten in my life. The phone did not work in the room. And the couches were extremely uncomfortable to sit on. I paid almost 700$ and I expected top notch room and was greatly disappointed in the face that I was on the 5th floor with absolutely no view of the city as well. Overall I am extremely disappointed and will not be staying here again. The beds are not so great either. The only thing impressive was the size of the room and the fact they used real rose petals. Not worth the 700$ I spent on the room for a romantic evening for the first night of being a wife..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 21 Jan 2022
Dear carrieannem2022, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. I are truly sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay. We are sourcing chocolates from local companies that expert manufactures of artisan chocolates. And wine is sourced from one of beautiful wineries in British Columbia. We apologies for the inconvenience with telephone. We hope that you will give us another chance and we can definitely note your preference to be on higher floor . Thank you kind comments about spacious room and real rose petals arrangements. Please feel free to contact me should you want to discuss this further, Sincerely, Armine Gevorgyan agevorgyan@germainhotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travellalone wrote a review Sept 2020
Canada249 contributions126 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel doesn't provide bottled water. It cannot even be purchased. I had to walk to a McDonald's late in the night to buy water. I needed a good night's sleep and wanted a quiet room. Although the room and the bathroom was good, the room was noisy as I could hear all that was happening on the streets outside. Wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 12 Sept 2020
Dear travellalone, Thank you for choosing Le Germain Hotel Calgary for your stay in February . All our rooms are equipped by minibars. We have water, soft drinks and snacks available for guests' easy reach . The items can be replenished any time . The hotel also supports eco friendly choices of the guests, and we have water carafes on each floor and ice machines on every even floor. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LosCabosWedding wrote a review Oct 2021
Edmonton, Canada126 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a corner privilege suite, it was a very nice size. It had some very cool features. The bed was comfy. However the guests next to us were loud and partying. We finally complained and then the front desk assured us he dealt with the matter. For the most part thay was true however the guests just kept going in and out the
rooms and doors slamming continued. When we checked out the front desk never even bothered to inquire how the rest of the evening went.

For the price we paid we certainly didn’t feel well relaxed or well rested.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armine Gevorgyan, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear LosCabosWedding, thank you for your time and feedback which is very important to us . I sincerely apologize that you did not have good rest due to noise situation on the floor. We will ensure that we are more conscientious with the guest who caused the issue and most importantly the guest who had inconvenience . Please contact me directly if you need to make any reservation in the future, I will be happy to assist you with . Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bailey N asked a question Oct 2020
Do all rooms have bathtubs?
Answer from Armine G
Hello , Prestige room and Apartment Suite comes with separate bathtub and walk in rainfall shower. All other rooms have spacious walk in rainfall shower. Kind regards, Armine
Answer from Armine G
Dear Mr. alan592014, Thank you for choosing Le Germain Hotel Calgary. As for transportation from the airport, a taxi or an Uber is the fastest option. It takes about 20 – 30 minutes to reach our hotel and costs about $40-50 depends on how long it takes. There is laso shuttle services available to our hotel: Allied shuttle will cost $15 per person. This could take up to 45 minutes to reach our hotel since it does stop at several other hotels in downtown Calgary. It leaves every half hour from YYC airport. No reservation is required to make, just approach their counter near Gate B on the arrival level. We can certainly help you to make reservation from hotel back to airport if needed. Kind regards, Armine G
Answer from Armine G
The breakfast is served from 6:30 am till 10:00 am Monday to Friday. And 7:30 am till 11:00 am on Saturdays and Sundays. Some exceptions on long weekends and other event dates may apply. Deluxe continental buffet breakfast is complimentary.
sf109 asked a question May 2018
Toronto, Canada17 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you offer parking at your hotel and if so what is the price?
Answer from Armine G
Good day, Thank you for contacting us . Yes we do offer valet parking. the rates are different on weekdays and weekends. Please contact hotel for detailed information and we will be happy to provide all details Armine Gevorgyan Front Office Director
Teresa S asked a question Mar 2018
Edmonton, Canada294 contributions127 helpful votes
Do you offer a shuttle service to local attractions?
Answer from
Sacramento, California
We were told the Hotel has shuttle service to different attractions; however, the places we visited were close enough to get to either by walking (including the +15) or by ridesharing.
World E wrote a tip Apr 2024
Vancouver, Canada15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner rooms"
Read full review
Carol K wrote a tip Dec 2023
Paris, France57 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is underground parking available beneath the hotel."
Read full review
jeanbrunet2023 wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The fitness room is great with lots of space! The view from the fitness room over the city is fantastic!"
Read full review
Albert C wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Strongly suggest a different hotel. This one isn’t worth your money"
Read full review
Bazlen28 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Melbourne296 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for food and shopping and Calgary Tower."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 885 - RM 1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE GERMAIN HOTEL CALGARY: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 482 Photos (Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Which popular attractions are close to Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Nearby attractions include Glenbow Museum (0.2 km), Wonderland Sculpture (0.3 km), and Calgary Tower (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ten Foot Henry, ONE18 Empire, and Native Tongues Taqueria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Le Germain Hotel Calgary located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Calgary.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Germain Hotel Calgary?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Le Germain Hotel Calgary offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalgaryHotels near Le Germain Hotel Calgary
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire