We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Expedia.comUS$58*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$129*
US$58*
US$129*
US$58*
US$129*
US$58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
 Click to rate
Europe
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best hotel rooms I have stayed in for a long while ! Located in the cluster of motels, hotels and restaurants near the university, there was enough parking (perhaps too little if the hotel is full – not sure where there is alternative parking if so). I was in an “efficiency room”. A nicely sized room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danno_99
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Wow! Thanks for such great comments. We look forward to showing you an even better stay the next time you're in town!

Porto Alegre - Rs - Brazil
Reviewed 1 week ago

Near the University of Calgary, walking distance to the Public Transportation, Very nice free Breakfast! Very clean rooms, friendly staff! Good pool and Jacuzzi! Very close to the Dino's Football Stadium!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your great comments regarding your last stay with us. We take pride in our hotel and our staff and we are always happy to hear when we get it right. We look forward to showing you the same great accommodations the next time you're in town!

Coaldale, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my four year old son and mother while visiting my husband at the Foothills hospital. I choose this hotel due to location close to the Foothills, quite reasonable price, and being able to get a room with enough beds to accomodate us all. Pros: -good value for a having a larger room - two queen beds, sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer135
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate feedback from our guests so that we may improve services for everyone. We hope to have the chance to serve your accommodation needs in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Price is good but you get what you pay for I guess. I've been in a newer Econo Lodge in a different city before and it was nice, but this one was older and dated. Cleanliness is also questionable but it might be due to old carpets/walls/bath/bedding etc, but still not a pleasant feeling. Staff was very friendly however, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BDanni
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are happy to note that we are already under renovation and hopefully the next time you are in town we can have the opportunity to show you a better stay in our new rooms!

manchester,
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Good location for easy access into the city using the C train. Shops and small restaurants within walking distance. Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast is provided. It's adequate but no hot food except for oatmeal. The hotel claims to be 'green' with notices about reusing towels and bedding in the room, so we were surprised to find that the dishes,plates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lpma40
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps us improve services to all our guests. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to show you an even better stay the next time you're in town!

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We choose to stay in Econolodge inn & suites during the month of January because our stay was quite long . But the hotel service was really worst . Hotel General manager & front desk manager behavior was really inflexible and very rude towards guest . I gave birth to baby and my baby was only 4 days old hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank huneza a
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please allow us to clarify as there seems to be some confusion as to why you did not enjoy your 2 month stay with us. We strive to give the best service possible and when requests are made by guests we do our best to fulfill them while adhering to our Brand Standards, Alberta Health...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had to go to Calgary suddenly as my Dad was having health issues. We booked in for a 2 - 3 day stay. As usual in health care there were many delays in our Dad's surgery. The front staff at the EconoLodge Inn and Suites University went over and above to accommodate us on a daily basis. Our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments we take pride in our hotel and the great service our staff gives. We're so glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and showed you the best stay possible under the circumstances. We hope your next visit is more pleasant than the last!

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Check in fast and smooth.. they made a call to the room to see if we were satisfied with it.. very clean..the only thing I could complain about was the pool was closed for renovation but they said we could access and use the Hampton Inn next door but it was so cold outside we opted to use the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope to have the chance to serve your accommodation needs the next time you are in town!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Management needs serious counseling on public relations. Most unpleasant experience. Need to rate it less than one star. physically, the property compares well,,, with a Baja Mexico property far from civilization. Many better choices for the same money all around town. Poor management and lacking property make a one-two punch that can't be beat.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank truedick7777
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you did not like your experience with us. Please be advised that the reason you found us unsafe and that we had poor management is because we asked you to leave the premises due to illegal activities that the hotel does not tolerate. Our attentive staff noticed this and for...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I booked a room in night of Jan 22, 2017 through expedia. After it was summit, within 2 mins I realized I chose the wrong month Jul accidentally, it should have been Jun 28 but not Jul 28. I called expedia right away to correct it. They called the hotel for me and the feedback from hotel is if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The hotel understands your frustration, allow us to clarify. The booking was made through Expedia and as such it is up to the booking channel, (in this case Expedia) to make any changes, if possible, as pertaining to the terms and conditions of that booking process. The hotel is able...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#41 of 109 in Calgary
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: RM251 - RM397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If room is between lobby and road, choose second floor to avoid heavy foot-noise from the balcony walkway.”
Traveller99ab, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose an east facing room (unless you like it hot!), east view is pleasant.”
thengling, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors in the corners”
DarrylL833, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room in the main building”
Celia63, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“So close to the Tom Baker Cancer Hospital. We stayed in the tower. very quiet.”
loisp825, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$58* /night
View Deal
Econo LodgeUS$58
Hotwire.comUS$58
AMOMAUS$129
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates