We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Calgary North Thriftlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Calgary North Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calgary North Thriftlodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I booked this hotel for the price as I was going to check-in very late night and depart early morning. However realized that you get for what you pay. Starting with check-in - it took 15 minutes just to check-in! I had booked non-smoking room however was given smoking room and was told that this is the only room available....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim68256
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

When we arrived the man behind the counter at reception was extremely unfriendly and rude. He demanded that I use my travel card for a "$200 deposit" even though he explained that I would possibly not get the money back. My friend had a credit card AND the booking was under her name but he insisted on using mine. Furthermore,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 15kho01a
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this place for one night after a long drive in from Winnipeg. Don't know if it was because we were tired or if the bed really was that comfortable but the mattress felt great after a 14 hour drive. The air conditioning was very old and loud but that served as white noise for our 9 month...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nida G
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Window screwed shut and we all lost sleep due to stuffy/no fresh air.Our check out time was for noon and I got a call from the front desk around 11 while my kids were in the pool stating we are overstaying our welcome. and no juice and crimbs left for breakfast both mornings...had to go to McDonalds to eat.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeffrO3035TF
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Checked in late to a non-smoking room with two double beds and were sent to a smoking room with one double and a pull out sofa. Not acceptable so the front desk person said they were full, then went on the computer and saw that there was a room showing as empty but not cleaned. He said that it should...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylviam548
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It was a party hotel. People were partying until four in the morning. There was a large group of people standing in the parking lot drinking and partying obnoxiously all night as well. The people above me had kids and they kids jumping and running and screaming kept me up until 1am. After that it was parties down the hall...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duskfall
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 438harunk
Lethbridge, Alberta
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Motel was as expected given apparent age of property. Only major issue was a/c in room rattled, had a loose filter, fixed with some tape.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brak2015145
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

The overall stay was great but in the pictures I seen there was to be a pool and we didn't see one. As well when we got to the room although very clean and tidy there was a hair on my friends pillow that did not belong to either of us.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JugBug
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear JugBug, Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you found a hair in your pillow, it is very hard to say whose hair it was and if it was not your I do apologise. As per the pool; yes, we do have one and it is open. I do hope you asked our front desk where...

Steinbach, Canada
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Never will I recommend this one from anyone.Unfriendly staff specially that guy name Tim.Aircondition not working well for most of the rooms and they don't care even if you lost your electricity.Over all it sucks.No proper turnover.When you ask why that happen all they say is I don't know why.I don't know who did it.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 846maluisaa
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear 846maluisaa, Please accept our apologies for not having a good experience at our property. We always do our best to please each customers that walks in. I would like to know what my staff member did or said that you felt he was unfriendly to you that way I can look into it internally. As per the AC units,...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#39 of 109 in Calgary
633 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#48 of 109 in Calgary
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: RM167 - RM425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Calgary Thriftlodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calgary North Thriftlodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Calgary North Thriftlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They pretend to have WiFi, they don't.”
 of 5 bubbles Pyebucket, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“If you book a non-smoking room, you may get a smoking one anyways (even if you pre-paid). Just avoid this motel.”
 of 5 bubbles 259jinnyl, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms that are very close to the main office have 1 signal internet whereas the other have none.”
 of 5 bubbles Dabbler1, 17 May 2014 | Read review
“If you want a room to sit and watch TV ... choose another. All amenities (coffee, fridge, microwave were good) but TV very low quality.”
 of 5 bubbles 699deanc, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Do not drive here and stay here......”
 of 5 bubbles 296arthurp, 10 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay