We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Calgary North Thriftlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Calgary North Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calgary North Thriftlodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Lethbridge, Alberta
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Motel was as expected given apparent age of property. Only major issue was a/c in room rattled, had a loose filter, fixed with some tape.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brak2015145
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

The overall stay was great but in the pictures I seen there was to be a pool and we didn't see one. As well when we got to the room although very clean and tidy there was a hair on my friends pillow that did not belong to either of us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JugBug
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear JugBug, Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you found a hair in your pillow, it is very hard to say whose hair it was and if it was not your I do apologise. As per the pool; yes, we do have one and it is open. I do hope you asked our front desk where...

Steinbach, Canada
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Never will I recommend this one from anyone.Unfriendly staff specially that guy name Tim.Aircondition not working well for most of the rooms and they don't care even if you lost your electricity.Over all it sucks.No proper turnover.When you ask why that happen all they say is I don't know why.I don't know who did it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 846maluisaa
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear 846maluisaa, Please accept our apologies for not having a good experience at our property. We always do our best to please each customers that walks in. I would like to know what my staff member did or said that you felt he was unfriendly to you that way I can look into it internally. As per the AC units,...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 642vernac
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Lone Butte, British Columbia
Reviewed 17 June 2016

My husband and I have been staying at this motel for years and are never disappointed. Very close to the C train and several good restaurants. Very clean and the staff is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret R
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Margaret R, You have no idea how happy you make my staff and myself with your review. Thank you very much for staying with us and for being always pleasant! Have a wonderful day and we will see you soon!

Reviewed 17 June 2016

Highly recommend this hotel. Checked in on the weekend for a conference and the hotel was clean and close to amenities. The internet worked slow but it did work! This place is a great deal with a great breakfast.. can’t go wrong for the price… Additionally, the front desk guy was super kind and generously offered us some juice even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susk321
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 599glenb
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2016

One of the cheaper motels in the area, about a 10 minute walk from the c-train, good continental breakfast, and many restaurants nearby. WiFi wasn't working well as the hotel was full which was inconvenient for the purposes of our business trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y9519IPmeganh
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Y9519IPmeganh, Thank you very much for your review. I do apologise the internet was giving you problems, I am going to see if we can do something about it so it's not an issue anymore. Thanks for the good pointers and I hope we see you next time you are in this beautiful city. Have a wonderful day!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2016

There for VB tournament at Olympic Oval. Hard to complain for $70 night, but always room for improvement. Don't have normal mid level hotel expectations and you will be fine. Service was friendly. Room is dated but fairly clean other than carpet which should be replaced. Continental breakfast is normal for this budget stay, cereal, coffee, Juice, misc fruit &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13Roja
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hola 13Roja, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I like it when customers are fair. I apologise for the little issues, I understand it's an old building and we do our 100% to keep it clean and comfy. I hope you think of us next time you are in town. Have a wonderful day!

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Kinda like a cot for a bed. And instead of this bearded loser telling us about all of the great deals, how about working out the major internet problems that pervade Wyndham properties. Remove "free wifi" from the equation. There is no wi-fi. None, zero, zilch. False advertising. Can't connect even to Google homepage. Was told, "bring your device to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pyebucket
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Pyebucket, I am very apologetic that your stay and experience at the hotel was poor. This is not in keeping with the level of service we aim to deliver nor what our guests have come to expect. This is the first time I hear about an issue with our WiFi, which I understand is very important for all of...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#46 of 109 in Calgary
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: RM161 - RM418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thriftlodge
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calgary North Thriftlodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Calgary North Thriftlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They pretend to have WiFi, they don't.”
 of 5 bubbles Pyebucket, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“If you book a non-smoking room, you may get a smoking one anyways (even if you pre-paid). Just avoid this motel.”
 of 5 bubbles 259jinnyl, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms that are very close to the main office have 1 signal internet whereas the other have none.”
 of 5 bubbles Dabbler1, 17 May 2014 | Read review
“Sleep in your car. Steep discount and fewer smells.”
 of 5 bubbles Squishsandwich, 9 Jan 2014 | Read review
“If you want a room to sit and watch TV ... choose another. All amenities (coffee, fridge, microwave were good) but TV very low quality.”
 of 5 bubbles 699deanc, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay