We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

HI-Calgary City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
HI-Calgary City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived and checked in with not a problem. Stayed in a dorm room with 6 beds but only 2 others in my dorm. The bed was comfortable but the doona could be a little better especially in the colder months. The facility is clean, bright and nicely laid out, the kitchen area is awesome. As for location, for me it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 28 September 2016

First time hostel experience, fell in love with it! The housing was very dorm like. bunk beds, closets with lock holes (bring your own locks!) and communal bathroom (that were very well kept!) We stayed there for three nights I believe and each night the hostel had activities in their common area for us to make friends. Everyone there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morganyyang
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hey there, Thank you so much for your great review of HI-Calgary! We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff try their hardest to accommodate everyone and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. Happy to hear you were able to enjoy Banff as well, hope you made it...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Close to the Calgary Saddledome. Great location. Great dorm style beds. But try to get a bottom bunk. The ones up top can get very hot. Excellent prices. It is close to downtown. It is within walking distance of the Bow River. There is a wonderful Phil & Sebastian Tea close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfred K
County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Fantastic hostel, at a great price. The breakfast in the morning is great with various breads etc. The rooms are all kept clean, and the common areas are very well appointed with various activities going on each evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishWanderlust96
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast. I will let the seasonal activities coordinator know that you enjoyed the daily events as well. We hope you can stay with us again soon! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

Reviewed 1 September 2016

Such a great hostel. Clean, quiet and perfect location. Right beside the C train - free train into town. Also can walk almost anywhere anyway! The free breakfast is great - pancakes, juice, bread, cereals. The staff are very kind and informative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyumel381
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in hundreds of hostels, and this one really impressed me. Great location in a new facility. Clean bathrooms, good rooms, nice big kitchen, reading room. I like that people can donate leftover bath products of clothes to leave behind. Didn't socialise much as I was visiting old friends and colleagues, but there is a great lounge where lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hey Katherine, Thank you so much for choosing HI-Calgary and for leaving us a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will let the staff here know how much you appreciated everything. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

Pelham, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My organization has booked our stay at this hostel for the past few years and we are always so happy with service! Hostel staff are very supportive coordinating group logistics. Over the past few years there have been some really great improvements to the hostel facilities including a new kitchen, common area, room furniture, etc. Tea, coffee, and fruit water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina_Imrich
HI-Calgary Host... G, General Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Christina. Looking forward to hosting your group again next year. Regards, Jason Wong General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed for two nights in a 6-bed dorm. Dorm room was very spacious and comfortable for everyone and included a locker. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James94_13
HI-Calgary Host... G, General Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you had an excellent visit, and appreciate your compliments of our breakfast and team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Jason Wong General Manager

Reviewed 24 July 2016

It's my first time to visit Calgary. Asked lots of questions to the staffs, and get answers quickly and patiently. I was trying to find 1-day-tour to Drumheller, but failed (fully-booked). Staffs there recommended that I can take Greyhound to Drumheller, and even helped me to check the timetable of Greyhound and discussed the trip with me. I would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Monica, Thanks for leaving us a review! It was a pleasure to have you here. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well and hope you had a good time in Drumheller. We hope you can stay with us again soon. Thanks! Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Not only is this the best HI hostel we've ever stayed in, but it's also one of the best places overall we have stayed in during over half a year of travelling. We had a private room on the basement level which was brand new and huge with a great flat screen and satellite TV. The bed was so comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewis111
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Lewis, It's always great to hear about how our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We strive our hardest to make all our guests stay enjoyable and happy to hear we have succeeded! We look forward to you staying with us again very soon! Safe travels! Thanks! Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.8 km away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.9 km away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
1,946 reviews
0.6 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#18 of 109 in Calgary
1,244 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#9 of 109 in Calgary
781 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#24 of 109 in Calgary
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated HI – Calgary City Centre! Start your day off right with our FREE all you can eat breakfast from 7:30am – 9:30am every morning (including buttermilk pancakes, milk, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bread, jam, peanut butter, muffins, fruit and juice)! Enjoy our newly upgraded FREE high speed WiFi anywhere in the building! Other hostel amenities include: - Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours - Free parking - Free Computers - Free storage facilities, even after check out - Free local phone calls - Free faxing, photocopying, printing and scanning - Free pool table - Free BBQ usage - Free towels and linen - Brand new TV room with a 60” flat screen TV HI – Calgary City Centre offers 6 bed dorm rooms (female, male and mixed) featuring individual lockers, bed lights, as well as private/family rooms with en-suite and a new 40” flat screen TV; make sure you book ahead as these sell fast! We have upgraded security, including cameras and state of the art door locks throughout the building as we continue to ensure the safety of all our staff and backpackers traveling to Calgary. Our friendly front desk staff are here for you 24 hours a day, available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. We are experts when it comes to getting you around the area, and we always have recommendations for local sightseeing, so don’t be shy! Check our activity boards for daily listings of local events and information. Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a 5 minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you will find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a 2 minute walk from the hostel) that is FREE within the downtown core. Our central location is a great starting point for the next leg of your journey. The airport bus #300 stops two blocks away from the hostel, and the Greyhound bus depot is a short 15 minute train ride away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7 Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: RM107 - RM364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Calgary City Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rockingham, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from HI-Calgary City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth looking into city walk tours.”
 of 5 bubbles Kristine1950, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared to be woken up pretty early by the C-Train if you have a room on the station side.”
 of 5 bubbles joy_mendez, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Took the private room which was pretty good, though no view (basement)”
 of 5 bubbles Travel4Shelley, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“get a room on the side far from the train”
 of 5 bubbles sebastic54, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs seem to be favorable.”
 of 5 bubbles 341charlie, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay