We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Sylvan Lake
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel! We met up with my husband coming back from work. The rooms are very modern and spacious and our balcony was ground floor that opened up to a beautiful courtyard with a pool. The ambiance gave me a feeling we weren't in the middle of a big busy city and felt relaxed! In the morning we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauraleiandchrism
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I appreciated your kind words regarding the new Executive Tower rooms and it was great to hear you enjoyed the many other amenities on offer. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back...

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We were staying in Edmonton for the weekend with our family to have some fun before back to school. The building had an old feel to it. The air conditioning unit seemed a bit small for the room. The pool area was fairly nice. It seemed there weren't many shallow areas for the kids - especially in the hot tub....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alelovestravel
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review regarding your most recent stay at the Sandman Edmonton West hotel. I appreciate all feedback I receive and will use your comments to help me make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce the new Tower expansion is now opened offering brand new rooms with...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2016

nice lobby, unfriendly check in guy, no elevator (stairs to all rooms), average room with double beds (very clean, and modern updated). Pluses: clean, modern, lots of pillows, comfortable beds, good TV, proximity to West Edmonton Mall, safe neighbourhood (didn't mind leaving the car outside), lots of parking, small pool indoors. Minuses: no elevator, half of the rooms are pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CfromV
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sandman Edmonton West hotel. I was delighted to read you took advantage of the great location and you enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Thank you for taking the time to leave me valuable feedback...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for work for 4 days. (The company booked hotel) The only thing you want after long and exausting day at work is a comfy bed and and soak your a.s in a hot tub. After third night of sleeping on that bed I got back aches. Not talking about amount of kids and noise in swimming pool and hallways...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aleksei K
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at the Sandman Edmonton West Hotel. I promise to personally look into your feedback and use it to make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce that the new Tower expansion will open soon...

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Edmonton for business. The company has a direct bill account, so I basically have no choice. My expectations aren't very highs and usually they are met. This trip, however was different. Not that Edmonton gets very hot but my air conditioning didn't work do the temperature of my room for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobCurrie
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I apologise you did not fully enjoy your stay. It was disappointing to read the issues you had with your air conditioning during your stay and I promise to use your feedback to make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce that the Sandman Edmonton...

Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Rooms were tidy, location great, but hotel is need of repairs and updates. Bed was ok, but the noise level was loud at times. Location was great, within 10 minutes of the west Edmonton mall of which we visited for 2 days. Plenty of locations to eat as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimeiteneier
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I hope you had a great vacation. I have taken note of your comments regarding the noise level and I promise to look into this further. It was great to hear you took advantage of the Sandman Edmonton West great location. I hope you had a great...

Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel needs some work. I'm assuming they're not putting much effort into upkeep as they appear to be building a new hotel adjacent to the original. Our room was dirty, smelled musty, and the beds were uncomfortable. The only good part of our stay was the receptionist at the front desk. She was excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay. I appreciate all feedback I receive and I will use your comments to make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce that the Sandman Edmonton West will be going through a full renovation...

Fort Erie, Ontario
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I have stayed at this hotel every time that I visited Edmonton while living in British Columbia. I have often come in rather late in the evening from an 8 hour drive and they have always received me with a smile. I usually drive with my dog and they greet her with so much friendliness that it is hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iwannano
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I take great pleasure in reading positive reviews and I appreciate all of the feedback you have left me. I appreciate your very kind words regarding my team and it is great they left a memorable impression on you. Thank...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed for only 2 nights, the hotel is showing its age, the pictures make it seem wonderful, but its not. We could not get to the pool or hot tub because it was overrun by kids at all hours. More control over this needs to be addressed, maybe even a curfew for the kids so that adults can enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tylerdanielle2016
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay. I definitely appreciate all feedback I receive and I will use your comments to make improvements for the future. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I do hope you return the Sandman...

Edson, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I booked this hotel on line because it was close to a hospital where I was having surgery. I chose a king suite and when we arrived I explained that I would like a quiet room because of the surgery. The room was great and very quiet with everything that we needed. When I checked out, I complimented the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lornrand

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
181 reviews
Ramada Edmonton West
#55 of 93 in Edmonton
233 reviews
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#41 of 93 in Edmonton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westwood Inn
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A comfortably furnished hotel with easy access to all major highways, Sandman Hotel Edmonton West is perfectly situated near all major attractions such as West Edmonton Mall and the West Edmonton business district, making it the ideal place for your next stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Address: 17635 Stony Plain Road, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Price Range: RM402 - RM589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Edmonton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Edmonton West staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Edmonton West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay away from the rooms on the 178th St side (east side of hotel) because of traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles 859valm, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the "atrium" rooms - the pool is LOUD and echo-y and stuffy! No air!”
 of 5 bubbles CfromV, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wait until rents are done.”
 of 5 bubbles Kimeiteneier, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms I have stayed in were equally quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles iwannano, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The front lobby is nice too bad the rooms were not as thought out or the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles tylerdanielle2016, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5