We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

HI-Jasper

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
HI-Jasper
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI-Jasper
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We were checked in by Nico who welcomed us warmly and cracked a few jokes! I was hesitant about the 40 bed dorm room but it wasn't bad, it was midweek and fairly quiet though, so it may be a different experience when full. The dorm, common areas and bathroom were clean, but the water pressure in the female showers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gracew423
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

I was in a room of about 20 and we had to share a common bathroom that had only 3 showers and 2 working toilets. The bathroom was not very clean at all. The location was pretty far from the town of Jasper...especially if you don't have a car. The receptionists were great though. Shuttles were offered throughout the day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dxrae
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We are sorry to read that your experience was clouded by the state of the washrooms. We will keep an close eye on the cleaning in the future. Sincerely, Michel Tremblay

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I booked this hotel in October and stayed in the female only dorm. It was completely full and aside from the fact it was a little noisy I can't complain too much. It is a hostel and you are booking a dorm, so if you complain about the noise, well it's your own fault for not bringing ear plugs. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bittenbytravelbug96
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Not a bad little hostel, a little out of the way (we went off-season) and it was good we had a car because otherwise it would have been quite a hike from the town. We stayed in the large dorm room which probably sleeps about 40 but there were only around 10 people in the room. The bathrooms were okay,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gera_312
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you in the summer someday. Sincerely, Michel Tremblay.

Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Loved our stay here, we stayed in a dorm- which was a huge room of around 40 beds. It was all sectioned off nicely though which didn't make me feel like it was a huge room with lots of people. The lights went out automatically at either 10/11pm and back on again at 8am. I liked this idea and people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lydia r
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels, Michel Tremblay

Denmark
Reviewed 6 October 2015

You should only choose to stay here if you do not have any other options in Jasper. I stayed here for 1 night in September 2015 in a private room. The room was located next to the reception and entrance, so there was a lot of noise in the room during the day. Most of the night it was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This place is absolutely fabulous and I can't believe they haven't got better reviews on here? What is wrong with the young adventurous people in the world today? I am a little lazy and so I am going to copy and paste the email that I sent the manager. "Sent: September-18-15 11:58 PM To: HI-Jasper Subject: Re: Email from Hostelling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AquariumRescueUnit
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

How can you sleep with 40 people in one room? Who is the man who thought this is his way to make money. Cone on..this was a mistake, did not sleep all night. With snoring/ringing you name it. The concept doesn't work for 12 people not to mention 40

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aces99
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to read that you had a bad experience. To answer you question, thousands of travelers sleep in our dorm every year and very few of them complain about the size of the dorm in the morning and think HI-Jasper is one of the best places they've stayed...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group. We stayed in lots of hostels on the trip and this one was the most disappointing. The large female dorm was not well equipped with sockets or lights near beds. The toilets and shower room were not clean and there were only 3 of each. The hostel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank docs_26
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We took good note of you comments and will try to upgrade what we can to assure a more comfortable stay for future guests.

Jannali, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We only had a short stay because our train from Edmonton left 12 hours late so we lost half a day. The front desk stayed up to check us in at midnight and did not show any sign of impatience. We had a private room that had a double and two bunks though we only needed the double. The morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GreyNomad2014
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're happy to read you had a good experience.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
4.6 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
801 reviews
4.0 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
292 reviews
4.8 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Athabasca Hotel
Athabasca Hotel
#13 of 16 in Jasper
281 reviews
2.6 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
1,318 reviews
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: RM84 - RM321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Jasper staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from HI-Jasper staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest booking a double/twin room as not much more expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles 737sallyb, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that this hostel is 5k from Jasper town.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieChaplain, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The female dorm is quieter because it's upstairs, no creaky floors”
 of 5 bubbles 846baileya, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“When staying in the mixed dorm take a window bed for light and air as this dorm is huge.”
 of 5 bubbles Zaytajett, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs !!!”
 of 5 bubbles KimA928, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay