We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI-Jasper

Hostelworld.comUS$49*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$61*
US$49*
Great Deal
US$61*
US$61*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
HI-Jasper
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI-Jasper
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This place is absolutely fabulous and I can't believe they haven't got better reviews on here? What is wrong with the young adventurous people in the world today? I am a little lazy and so I am going to copy and paste the email that I sent the manager. "Sent: September-18-15 11:58 PM To: HI-Jasper Subject: Re: Email from Hostelling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AquariumRescueUnit
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

How can you sleep with 40 people in one room? Who is the man who thought this is his way to make money. Cone on..this was a mistake, did not sleep all night. With snoring/ringing you name it. The concept doesn't work for 12 people not to mention 40

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aces99
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to read that you had a bad experience. To answer you question, thousands of travelers sleep in our dorm every year and very few of them complain about the size of the dorm in the morning and think HI-Jasper is one of the best places they've stayed...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group. We stayed in lots of hostels on the trip and this one was the most disappointing. The large female dorm was not well equipped with sockets or lights near beds. The toilets and shower room were not clean and there were only 3 of each. The hostel is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank docs_26
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We took good note of you comments and will try to upgrade what we can to assure a more comfortable stay for future guests.

Jannali, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We only had a short stay because our train from Edmonton left 12 hours late so we lost half a day. The front desk stayed up to check us in at midnight and did not show any sign of impatience. We had a private room that had a double and two bunks though we only needed the double. The morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GreyNomad2014
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're happy to read you had a good experience.

Parkersburg, WV
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I've stayed in hostels before but only in the UK not in Canada. The staff couldn't have been nicer but the facility was more rustic than other hostels where I've stayed. However, the other hostels I've stayed in were all located in more urban areas so the rusticity of the facility is not surprising. I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevanrijn
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are working on putting more outlets in the female dorm.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The service was informal but friendly and helpful. The private room was noisy being next to the main corridor to the female dorm, and hot, and somehow the noise of the trains carries up the mountain in to the window all night. On the other hand the mixed dorm the next night was quiet and cool! The toilet and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwiandrew2015
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I booked a private room here for 1 night, which although lacked ventilation it was clean and the bed was comfortable. There probably isn't enough showers (3) for the volume of women staying at the hostel (sorry don't know how many showers were in the men's washrooms), but they were clean and I personally didn't have to wait to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALG1979
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper.

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

We've travelled across Canada and wanted something a bit out of the ordinary to the big city life. Jasper and this hostel hit a home run! It's in the middle of the woods and the big dorm didn't feel weird at all! We stayed for a week and left with the sensation of relaxation and calmity. This place isn't for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vkiilune
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at HI-Jasper. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed one night here in the hugeeeee female dorm. I was shocked at how many beds it has but that's also quite nice. I think many people throw comments around on trip advisor that don't have much experience of hostels or traveling. I've been traveling for 7years and I've lost count of how many hostels I've stayed in! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed one night here in the hugeeeee female dorm. I was shocked at how many beds it has but that's also quite nice. Definitely meet people! The kitchen and lounge area was very nice, staff were great. It's not even a five minute drive from jasper town but its a little too long to walk. I hired a car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
3.9 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
330 reviews
4.6 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
838 reviews
3.7 km away
Filia Inn
Filia Inn
#12 of 17 in Jasper
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,411 reviews
4.8 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
4.4 km away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: RM125 - RM350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Jasper staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from HI-Jasper staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lower bed. I prefer close to windows, if you do not ask for one further away.”
sigehaizi, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“These are dorm rooms; for families specify that you are a family so that they can co-locate you.”
475sindyj, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suggest booking a double/twin room as not much more expensive.”
737sallyb, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that this hostel is 5k from Jasper town.”
CharlieChaplain, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The female dorm is quieter because it's upstairs, no creaky floors”
846baileya, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$61
PricelineUS$61
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates