We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tonquin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Tonquin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tonquin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 826: English reviews
Florissant, Missouri
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This was the most expensive motel we stayed in on our trip and our least favorite! I realize Jasper is an expensive area, but this is really overpriced for what you get. We were supposed to have a room with a sitting area. That turned out to be a small wood chair in a dark corner next to the TV....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marguerite7452
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We are glad you found our beds comfortable, however, we are disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the layout of the room. We have various room types and sizes and we always try to accommodate the needs of our guests. We hope you enjoyed your visit to...

Newcastle
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This motel styled, renovated property is on the edge of town, requiring a 15-20 minute walk to the other end of the shops, which don't start until the supermarket, a 10 minute walk away. Rooms were small but comfortable and clean, and not sound proofed. There was a double bed, reasonable lighting, TV, draws, a small hanging space, a desk,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glynis031
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and the amenities provided. On a foot note - we do provide complimentary transportation to the various shops for guests who do not wish to walk which can be requested through the front desk. We hope you enjoyed your visit...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

We had booked there for 2 nights...unfortunately. Small room, poor quality beds, outdated furnishing, inefficient bath and sink drains. Carpets were not vacuum cleaned after first night. Looking for something positive, we could mention the outdoors jacuzzi, although we would have appreciated some space where we could remove the swim suits rather that having to proceed to the room with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank René J
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We generally receive very positive comments about how comfortable our beds are. We have passed on your comments regarding the carpet to our Head Housekeeper. We are happy, however, to hear that you enjoyed our...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was incredibly small and cramped. My boyfriend is a bigger gentleman and this room was far too tiny. The prices for these awful rooms are way too high! I would rather have stayed at a Super 8 then pay $300 for one night in this dingy, dark, small hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristin C
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We apologize for failing to provide you with a comfortable stay and for not meeting your expectations for value. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our management team and will be taken under consideration as we plan our...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I must preface my comments by the fact that we booked a two bedroom suite which seemed to be one of the nicest rooms in the Inn. The reviews that we had read made us nervous about what to expect but the shortage of accommodation in Jasper meant we did not have much choice. We enjoyed our stay here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Runninguy1011
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad to her that you enjoyed your time with us a the Tonquin Inn. It is our top priority to provide our guests with a positive experience while visiting us. We thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.

Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We struggled to find accommodation in Jasper and ended up here. Room was in an old style motel block and was dark with paper thin walls - you could hear the guest next door coughing - and the wash basin is in the room. Walkway is very tatty - apparently they are replacing the flooring. The price of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather G
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies in failing to provide you with a comfortable stay and for not meeting your expectations for value. The flooring is being replaced and the work has started as part of our annual improvement plans. We hope you had an enjoyable trip through the Rockies and a safe return home.

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The reception staff were abrupt and rushed us , not at all friendly, The rooms are small and cramped with the sink unit in the room to save space. We requested a quiet room and the room we where allocated on arrival albeit late #169 was very noisy as it was next to the pool and the noisy pump was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonydgreen
Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a family suite from a double queen room. The hotel itself is quite nice, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean. The room we were in had a kitchenette with beautiful granite countertops and a new, full sized stove!! The staff isn't the friendliest but they weren't outright...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mittpixie
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and that you enjoyed your upgrade. We have duly noted your comment about the front desk team which has been passed on to our front desk supervisor. We are glad that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Dark and depressing rooms that could do with upgrading - evidence of leaks under sink. Visit from 4 legged animal of the squeak kind one night who enjoyed half a digestive biscuit. Money off and offer of another room but we decided that if there was one in our room then his family and friends would be nearby! There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Please be assured that "extra guests" are a rare occurrence and we have effective procedures in place to immediately address the situation as being located in National Park presents many challenges that one does not experience in urban centres. Thank you again for your feedback.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We opened the door to our room and couldn't believe how dark, dingy, cluttered and smelly it was. The thought of sleeping here was not great but it was only for one night so we had to put up with it. We certainly wouldn't want to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne G
TONQUIN, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for failing to provide you with an enjoyable stay. The issues that you had with your room will be addressed by our management team. Thank you for your comments and letting us know. We hope you had a safe journey home.

523 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Kitchen Two Twins One Queen (51)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite with Dry Sauna (72)
Viewed
Two Queen (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
291 reviews
0.2 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
801 reviews
2.0 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 16 in Jasper
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 km away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: RM338 - RM1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tonquin Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tonquin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the top floor may be quieter, as the hotel is close to the road”
 of 5 bubbles waisikmau, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms look over car park - check when booking if you can have room with mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles ctimes2, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request the top floor so as not to hear the footsteps of guest above.”
 of 5 bubbles kellyndave13, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a family one even if there are only the 2 of you.”
 of 5 bubbles wave2wave, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor. Ask for mountain view.”
  • View from the outside door room 205
  • Very hot water :)
  • View from balcony off room 205
  • Closet in separate bedroom room 205
  • TV at the end of the bed in the common area
  • View from balcony off room 205
  • View from the separate bedroom room 205
  • View of the Tonquin Inn behind their garden statue
 of 5 bubbles mgI6736PC, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay