We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
 Click to rate
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is showing its age. It is adequate for a short stay, however, conveniently located off the TransCanada Highway. We had a room with two queen (limited king beds available) beds and a jacuzzi in the middle of the room. The pillows are as big as glacier erratics, and only a little softer. The blanket barely makes it up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Professional-Pilgrim
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are sorry for the issues you experienced and will see what changes can be made to the pillows and why the bathtub stopper was lacking a plug (Please note if it was the Jacuzzi it is built in to the tub and controlled by a...

Alberta, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on the review of my colleague who stays here regularly on his travels in Southern AB. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and went out of their way. I would / will definitely stay here on my travels through the Hat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avroarrow25
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was! We are pleased that you find your stay met all of your needs and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not sure how this hotel warrants a BW plus rating.it is very old with the oddest layout we have ever seen. It was very nosey with wooden corridors set in a maze like settings and kids running round. One of the pools was empty and the other was very dirty. The rooms were tired and dated with very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denise V
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was. We apologize about the layout and many additions that previous owners added through the years and we also wish it was a bit more refined. For these reasons we provide guests a map and directions to navigate the hotel during the check in process. We are...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon checking in I was impressed with the modern lobby. The person at the desk was friendly and efficient. Unfortunately my room was pretty eh. It was clean but as it was close to the pool it smelled strongly of chlorine. The room decor is dated and the mattress was way too hard for my comfort. The workout room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard E
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was! We will forward the concern regarding the decor and need for renovations to our ownership group for followup! We apologize the sauna was not available as has been closed for the last 2 years due to security issues and very little use.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needs an update. Some rooms should not be used at all -insects and very dirty. Some of the kitchenettes don't even supply utensils. It is close to the hospital so if that is your reason for being in town it is convenient. The staff does try hard though.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKM666
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was. We will see what improvements can be made to increase selection of utensils in the kitchenettes! In regards to the pests, we will bring in a third party pest controller to investigate the issues you described and treat the problematic areas!

A TripAdvisor Member
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was so incredibly dirty, food still left in the fridge. There was dust on the table the tv was on. Not sure when the maids dusted last in there. The room is not sound proof at all. Kids were running around the hotel unmonitored & were playing hockey in the halls. I could hear all the traffic on the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was. We are very sorry we let you down during your stay with us and that the children with the sports team were noisy. We did not receive any complaints during the night of noise so it is hard for the front desk to monitor and address...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was conveniently located to my place of business and the buildings have a charming feel from the outside however the furnishing and decor need renovation. The reception has a tired look to it and the reception staff are not engaging and at best could be described as indifferent.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 622yvettec
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was. We appreciate the comments and will work on implementing some changes as staff engagement is the easiest thing to fix! Additionally we will forward the concern noted about the furnishing and decor to our ownership group for review!

Brandon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were travelling west on #1 Hwy. As you drive thru Medicine Hat the Best Western sign can be seen far ahead. A easy left turn and you are in the parking lot. Very close to the highway however we never heard it in our room. At check in we received a complimentary upgrade , we are platinum with best...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was! We are pleased that everything offered met your needs and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Very hospitable and friendly staff! We felt welcomed and informed. The breakfast bar manager did a really good job running it. Staff were all friendly, helpful and very hospitable. The location is right near HWY 1.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 257colleenn
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was! We are pleased that we could offer you friendly and knowledgeable service! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed in this hotel. It's a dump and needs to be updated big time. Front desk staff very unfriendly. Carpeting dirty, pool disgusting, room was boiling hot but bathroom was freezing because that's where the air conditioner unit was located. Had 2 "queen" beds.....(more like over sized single beds.) Tiles falling off the wall and wall paper peeling off...mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wsjen
Chris B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time and letting us know how your stay was! We are sorry that you were not impressed with our hotel and will be forwarding these concerns and issues to our ownership group so they understand the need for renovations! We are not sure what was wrong with the bed sizes. All bed sizes are standard...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.1 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
843 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
5.7 km away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
122 rooms including 25 Jacuzzi Suites. Free deluxe continental breakfast, two indoor pools and whirlpools, fitness room, 24hr business centre, free airport shuttle, guest laundry, free parking, in room movie & Nintendo system, fridges in all rooms, microwaves in most, in room coffee, free morning newspaper and free local calls. Close to Shopping, Dinning, Museum, Bowling, Parks, Golfing, Hospital, CFB Suffield and Cypress Hills Provincial Park. Visit us at the intersection of TransCanada Highway & 7th St SW. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country

Address: 722 Redcliff Drive SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Price Range: RM370 - RM444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sun Country Hotel Medicine Hat
Best Western Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay elsewhere”
aliciamys, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you do decide to stay here, check out the rooms BEFORE you book or pay!”
GwenRandy, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Many of the rooms are ground floor which is a plus if you have mobility problems.”
BobbieM804, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My only concern is if you want to sleep in on the weekend don't take a room by the pool.”
cindylF1986KC, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
247cherylz, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5