We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is an old hotel that does not have an elevator. The rooms are average at best and the internet was decent. I think the TA rating of bottom third in Kamloops is about where this hotel should be. I would not stay here again, you can stay in the same quality of hotel for $20 less along gasoline alley

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keadyn
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, they are appreciated and used to help us to do a better job. It sounds like you were in the hotel portion of our hotel which does not have an elevator but the rooms are still very popular with many of our guests that just want a basic room. We...

Palling, Germany
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed there only for one night on our way to Sun Peaks. The room was clean and had everything we wanted: a bed. it's just a very simple and Basic hotel nothing fancy. Maybe they should do some renovations this year it would be a good thing. But nothing bad to say about this Hotel. Perfect for a one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lotte86
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to Tripadvisor, we appreciate all comments as we try to do a better job of looking after our guests. We are a basic hotel but we are constantly trying to improve and renovations will be started soon. Next time you are in Kamloops, request one of our Junior Suites which...

calgary
Reviewed 15 October 2013

this was the most tired, ran down place I have ever stayed at in a long time. If your looking for a place that offers the following, book here right away: 3 story walk up no elevator, stained carpet through out the property, holes in walls in hall way, missing tiles in the bathroom. Not to mention there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shadowcalgary
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to TripAdvisor, we cannot change the fact that part of our property does not have an elevator but all other items have been corrected. We have also improved the hot water issue. Next time you are in Kamloops, please stop by and I hope you will like what you see....

Margate, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Only one night here on train stop over. Friendly staff big rooms bed hard not so good, kitchen doors needed a clean. Nice but just. Part of booked tour so, maybe not next time. Nice and close to town easy to walk around. nice easy walk to park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemaree N
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they help us to try to make things better for our guests. Many of our guests compliment us on the sleep they had so will try to see why yours did not live up to our standards. The cleanliness has been corrected and I hope that should you return to Kamloops that you will give...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Difficult to locate but once we had found the Sandman, everything ran smoothly. Very friendly reception staff. No lift, but not too difficult to make it to the first floor. Spacious room with tea/coffee facilities, T.V., plenty of storage. Nice bathroom although the vanity unit was in the room, rather than in the bathroom. Not a major issue. Reasonably priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have added new flat screen tv's since you were last here and are now replacing the bedspreads in an effort to continue to improve. Next time you are in Kamloops, introduce yourself and we will show you one of our Junior Suites for...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Sandman in Kamloops, like the Sandman in Edmonton, is old and tired. The rooms may be clean but they are so much in need of an update. Get rid of the patterned comforters, paint the doors, new carpet would be a bonus. etc. Sorry can not stay here anymore ... the decor just gives me the willies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuoTravelling
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are an older property but we are listening to you and the changes are coming. The flat screen TV's are in and the bed spreads are being updated and the rooms are being freshened up. Next time you are in Kamloops, stop by and I hope you will see...

Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We did a one night stopover here and were very pleased with it. The staff were friendly and welcoming. They also had good quality toiletries. We were well rested and ready for the road again after our visit. Thanks :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairebuck83
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we try to offer grest service & comfortable rooms and we look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Bob Silverson, Manager

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Sorry to say this is the worst hotel i have stayed at in a long time, no positives here. The room was filthy and worn out, you couldn't take your shoes off because the carpet didn't look trustworthy and the bedding is probably 20 years old and the hardest mattress you will ever find. The bathroom is crammed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloabl
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and I appologize if we did not meet a better standard. We are an older building but all our beds and bedding is very new. The beds are double pillow top to try to make sure that our guests get a good night sleep. Some of our bathrooms are small...

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for one night as a stop off. There were no further rooms available in the suites so we had to carry our heavy bags up 2 flights of stairs! The room was clean although the bathroom was quite small and there was a stale smell of smoke in the room. There was a fridge though which was handy. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spinny4
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond and thank you for returning to the Sandman Inn. We regret that we do not have an elevator in this building and which is why when the suites were built they did include the elevators. Now adays our smokers request the nonsmoking rooms which does offer us a challenge as they carry...

derbyshire
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The suite was very clean and cool when we arrived which when considering the temperature was 35 degrees it was most welcome. We were only using the hotel as a brief stop so didn't explore any facilities other than the wifi which was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guest2302
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, a cool room in this weather is a joy. I appreciate your tip to other travelers and my staff take this into account when offering rooms to guests. I hope that the rest of your trip was fantastic and that we will see you back in Kamloops sometime. Sincerely Bob Silverson, Manager

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
City Center
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Accent Inn Kamloops
#11 of 55 in Kamloops
329 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With one of the most gorgeous landscapes in BC, Kamloops offers a host of year-round visitor activities. This hotel features 65 air-conditioned rooms including some with kitchenette's, a business centre with Internet access, and on-site dining. Conveniently located blocks away from the downtown core, Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops is the ideal place to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops

Address: 550 Columbia Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1V1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Price Range: RM329 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Sandman Hotel Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for park facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles jayh474, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try not to get a room near the check in area.”
 of 5 bubbles 750barbarar, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Check whether you are in the main building or the newer building.”
  • Bathroom by door
 of 5 bubbles kevina853, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“high level floor for privacy”
 of 5 bubbles PETERPAMEN75AG, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The suites are very good”
 of 5 bubbles passengerinthenight, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay