We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Booking.comUS$126*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$126*
US$126*
US$126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Start your review of Long Lake Waterfront B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Helen was a kind and welcoming host, they served very generous breakfast portions and the room was quite comfortable. We stayed in the Medrona suite which has a lovely jet tub and fireplace. One thing to note is that the toilet in the room is a bit odd (is in a small corner enclosure with an accordion door, doesn't offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara G
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Kara for such a lovely review! We are so glad whenever we hear our guests have a good stay! We wish you all the best for everything. You are warmly welcome any time!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Very comfortable spacious, immaculate accommodation. Excellent breakfast. Charming hosts who were very welcoming and helpful and provided for all our needs. The location is a steep hillside overlooking a lovely lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomscot17
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Tom. Thank you for being so nice and considerate. We really enjoyed the time with you. Now summer comes, the lovely lake becomes even prettier...Best wishes for you and your family!

Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Helen & Richard are delightful hosts providing any assistance we required. Our suite was warm and spotless, bed very comfortable, and the breakfasts superb! Watching the snow fall on the lake framed by the large window was magical. Very easy access to main roads north or south. We would stay again should we return to Nanaimo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0ssum52
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Dear you, we are so grateful for your kind review. Let us know before you come back! Great trip to other parts in Canada and safe trip home!

Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed in Madrona Suite for just two nights, and we glad we made the absolute right choice! Helen and Richard are such nice hosts, and Madrona is beautiful and romantic, with the perfect lake view. The suite was spotless, everything was well keeping, and they are there no matter what you need. The breakfasts were amazing! We had different...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raphael Artosis A
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much Raphael! Please let us know or pay a short visit if you come in town again!

Victoria B.C
Reviewed 6 December 2016

My husband and I had visited the property previously before the new ownership. We are very disappointed and sad to say that we will never return again. The poor conditions of the suite and the property is very undesirable for a romantic time! From the moment we arrived to the property, we are challenge to get to the front door...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ToSassy
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Dear Sassy, we are so sorry that you didn't have a nice stay here, and thanks for all the criticisms you mentioned. Some of them are true and we are doing our best to improve everything. Your blame suggests that we could do better and we will. Although you said you won't be back, we wish all the best with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

From beginning to end we enjoyed our stay here. Helen and Richard welcomed us and made us feel completely at home. Our Madrona Suite delivered all expectations. (highly recommend!) The views from our room were peaceful and soothing. Thanks so much for your hospitality, I will highly recommend your B & B to all my family and friends. Thanks again👏

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlin D
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you and welcome back! We wish we could see you again!

Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Helen & Richard have a beautiful spot with their B & B. Parking and turning around is tough. You need to squeeze between the garage and a rock face to get to the steps to get down to the multi level access to rooms. The suite is beautiful. More steps to the dock and equipment. Lake traffic, jet ski's, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yankeclipper
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for your kindness. For the mold problem on the ceiling of the bathroom, we are closing the business and making all the renovation we could right now.

canberra
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed in the Lakeside suite for 2 nights in mid August. This suite is on the lower deck and has great views of the lake. The weather was quite warm so we appreciated the extensive shading provided by the trees outside our balcony. Richard and Helen were attentive hosts attending to some minor issues quickly and without fuss. Richard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graemdaw
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Dear friends, thank you so much and welcome back anytime!

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Excellent place to stay , large room, floor with no carpet, large washroom, well located, 5 minutes from all the good restaurants, quiet, nice view of the lake, nice hosts , my only negative point is the breakfast, Richard does all his best but I would have prefered natural eggs vs eggs with onions and all kind of othr stuff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardMtlQc
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a great stay! We will try our best to do better.

Taunton
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Helen and Richard run this wonderful B & B - on the banks of Long Lake. You are made to feel special from the moment you arrive and nothing is too much trouble for them. The views from the rooms are outstanding and you feel 'at peace with the world' nere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJDTaunton
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much as well! It's our pleasure to meet and serve you. Welcome to be back!

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.6 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
312 reviews
7.8 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,306 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
290 reviews
2.9 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.8 km away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tripadvisor travellers awarded us the 2012 Travellers Award for being in the top 25 B&B's in Canada. We are Nanaimo's highest rated waterfront resort. Use us as a day trip center for your visit to Vancouver Island and then return to relax in a luxurious private suite beside the warm and inviting lake. Your king size bed invites you after a day of golfing, fishing or enjoying the Lake in our watercraft. Free parking and WIFI available. Come and share this beautiful waterfront view with us and leave you with great memories of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Address: 240 Ferntree Pl | Nanaimo BC, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 5M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: RM490 - RM718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Long Lake Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Long Lake Waterfront B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Long Lake Waterfront B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms overlook the lake”
Tomscot17, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The best room is the suite facing the lake”
RichardMtlQc, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Madrona Suite - which was fantastic, as were the views of the Lake from our toom.”
AJDTaunton, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Love the "Lakeside Suite". Very private and has it's own deck.”
850pennyz, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“The lakeside room is very private and large which we loved but if others are staying there you may hear foot traffic from above.”
iavb, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$126* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$126
TripAdvisorUS$126
Agoda.comUS$126
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates