We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buccaneer Inn

Save
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (188)
Dining (2)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ferry terminal”(32 reviews)
“corner studio”(5 reviews)
“separate bedroom”(10 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness centre
Concierge
2 Star Hotel
CLOSEST TO DEPARTURE BAY FERRY. BOOK DIRECT WITH US. SAVE $$$. BETTER RATES & CANCELLATION POLICIES. Dave, Marlene and Christopher welcome you to your home away from home. Featuring ocean view, nautically themed, spotlessly clean, comfortable, quiet, one bedroom suites with separate...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
1577 Stewart Ave, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4E3, Canada
16.2 km to Nanaimo Airport
51 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
207
100
27
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
207
100
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalcorner studioseparate bedroomsmall kitchenno air conditioningvancouver islandfull kitchenroom was spotlesshorseshoe baybc ferriesstay there againstayed one nightwater viewfriendly hostseasy accessdowntown nanaimomarlene
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed one night and it was superb. Only a small room, but thy made the most out of the space. Tea and coffee making facilities. Ironing board and iron. Electric fan, plus one with central light. Everything and more you could want in...More

Thank Wendy G
Response from BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer InnResponded 6 days ago

Thanks Wendy G and glad you liked our Patio Studio! We think this is one of our little hidden gems. Nice cozy room, comfy bed, full bathroom and a bonus patio with picnic table, umbrella and couple of chairs. A nice little spot to hide...More

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way back to Horseshoe Bay from Cormorant Island but my husband and I both agreed we’d have liked to have stayed longer once we saw the accommodation. A lot of thought has gone into the rooms and...More

Thank Rachel S
Response from BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer InnResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you Rachel for your kind sentiments. We have indeed put a lot of thought into our rooms. We have tried to ensure that all the things we like to have when we are travelling are in our rooms. We do look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We’ve stayed for two nights and we found it very clean and comfy. The kitchen is well equipped for travelers like us. The Buccaneer is perfectly located close to the ferry terminal and the marina. Marlene and Dave are great and friendly hosts.

1  Thank Josef and Birgit
Response from BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer InnResponded 6 June 2018

Glad you enjoyed diving the wrecks in Nanaimo Josef and Birgit! I was great to have met you both and we very happy your enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back for more scuba diving in Nanaimo! Your hosts, Dave and Marlene

Reviewed 18 May 2018

I stayed one night in the King corner water view room. It was like being in a one bedroom apartment. I was very comfortable and definitely would have been happy staying longer. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It's also super close to the...More

Thank chargergirl66
Response from BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer InnResponded 22 May 2018

Thanks chargergirl66 for your kind words. Both of our King Suites are spacious suites with seperate bedrooms, comfy furniture. Our Fireplace Suite is the largest of the two and has 180 degree views of Departure Bay, Newcastle Channel and towards the Harbour in addition to...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We had 2 nights in Downtown Vancouver after a 15 day Cruise from Japan to Vancouver The Going Hotel Rate Was Very Expensive over $400 a night for a Modern Hotel . We stayed in a old run hotel at $200 a night , then...More

Thank Phil J
Response from BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer InnResponded 22 May 2018

We are excellent value especially compared to similar properties in Vancouver PhilJ and thanks for noting that! We try to have all that one needs for a comfy stay. Our convenient location near the ferry is also convenient to Beefeaters Steak and Seafood restaurant and...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$120 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$120 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (188)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mik W
3 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BuccaneerDave | Property representative |
Thanks for the question Mik W and for the answer thunderingfox. Most of our accommodation are suites with seperate bedrooms. Some suites have 2 double beds in the bedroom and the others either a king or queen. All suites... More
0
Votes
chan p
9 August 2017|
Answer
Response from BuccaneerDave | Property representative |
Hi Chan P. The short answer is no. There are really any crabbing near The Buccaneer Inn. You can go down to the Crabbing Pier at Maffeo Sutton Park and may have some luck there. If you are considering staying with us and... More
1
Vote
twinklemelody
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BuccaneerDave | Property representative |
Hi twinkleme ... There is a shopping centre, called Terminal Park, that is 3 blocks, uphill, from The Buccaneer Inn. The centre has a Starbucks, McDonalds, Burger King, Asian restaurant, Liquor Store, Deli (with ready made... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"107 in the corner with patio area ."
Read review
"Can be some car noise during the ferry times."
Read review
"Suite with water View is best ."
Read review
"Try the charthouse, it’s really worth it"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing