We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The place itself has seen its best days. However it's centrally located budget hotel so no reason to complain really. The staff was superb, both reception and housekeeping. Check in and out were smooth. Bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The room also had coffee and tea making facilities plus fridge and microwave. Big plus for that! Overall had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fintopapu
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Fintopapu; Fantastic to hear the staff were so very helpful for check in and check out, and the housekeeping was excellent. The staff really do care at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. Yes the hotel is dated, and I have passed on your comments to the owner about the facilities. Thank you very much for your review...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was checked in by 10:30 am and was given a room upgrade for no extra charge.They are all so kind and helpful. The area has so mat any things to see and with a fitness center on the property, I was able to go and enjoy the tanning bed for less than $5.00. Lots of walking paths available and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCitizen66
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day: Fantastic to hear that we were able to make your stay so great. So happy we were able to accommodate your early check-in The Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo's location can not be beat for seeing lots of downtown and the seawall walk. The full fitness facility located at the hotel is a great place. Thank you again...

BC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good for sports teams as is well located centrally. Place is showing its age as likely will be re-developed due to its location. Across the street from a Tim Horton's and has link to waterfront walkway. Fair price but do expect 4 stars. Free parking .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank overlookBc
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day overlookBC Thank you very much for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff take great pride in providing, clean and comfortable rooms, at a great value and downtown location. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi. With regards to the overall impression of the property I have forwarded your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Close to the inner city and walking distance to the downtown core with reasonable prices and clean rooms. Not very modern but comfortable and affordable. Friendly and informative front desk staff. Great parking for oversized vehicles. I will definitely use again when in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Ron, Terrific news about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. I am so very happy the staff were friendly and helpful. We do have great parking for all types of vehicles, and I glad we were able to help with your oversized vehicle. Thank you again Ron Sincerely Erik Brook Manager of Operations

Surrey, British Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I was on a tight budget, it was fantastic value for the price. This is an aged property but clean none the less.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanWKelly
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Alan W Kelly So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. We are a budget friendly hotel with great staff and clean comfortable rooms Thank you Sincerely Erik Brook Manager of Operations

Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My truck broke down and I needed a room right now. I also needed a dog friendly place as I had a dog with me. The HOJO couldn't have been better. Dog friendly room and great location in Nanaimo with great walking trails from the hotel parking lot. Excellent restaurants near. Basic rooms. I would stay here again anytime!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave_B8438GI
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Dave, We are so happy that you and your dog had a place to stay in Nanaimo when your truck broke down. The Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo is a pet friendly hotel. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the area. Thank you Erik Brook Manager of Operations

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room looked clean at first but Our brown blankets smelled like feet. The front desk agent was rude. Blood on our towels. Tv didn't work. No elevator. Surcharge of $10/person on top of room price Not worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie H
Erik B, Mfanager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Cassie, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. I am so very sorry that we did not meet your expectations of cleanliness and functiton of room amenities. This is certainly unusual as our housekeeping team in known for providing excellent cleanliness and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For an older facility we were quite comfortable. Nice beds, not too soft not too hard. Pillows gave nice support but not mushy or hard. Clean room, well equipped with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Staff were accomodating and friendly, recommended a nearby restaraunt that turned out to be a real treat. Even the complimentary shampoo had a flip top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Terry, Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff really do try to make our guests happy, with friendly service, great guest room amenities down to the shampoo. We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sincerely Erik Brook Manager of Operations

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Staff are mostly good. Convenient area and the rooms acceptable. Web in the lobby for quarters if I remember. Beer and wine in the same parking lots, tim's across the street. Walking distance to park and the sea walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NutsoLonsdale
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Nutsonlonsdale Thank you very much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. We now have free wi-fi through out the hotel, and it is quite robust. Guests have access to wi-fi outside in the pool area and in the fitness facitlity. We do offer great free...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

.This worked out very well for us as an economical stop over. after some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised. No kettle etc in room but free coffee/ tea in foyer meant you could grab a hot drink in the morning. ( with free fruit if you wanted!) previous guest mentioned smell. We did not experience this at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bow021
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good day Bow021, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff really do care and take pride in providing great service, clean and comfortable rooms. Our downtown location cannot be beat for access to many different shops, restaurants and the inner harbour walkway. The front desk staff are on duty...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.6 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,242 reviews
2.7 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
460 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
303 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
287 reviews
7.7 km away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: RM298 - RM407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Smile nice.”
 of 5 bubbles CanadianCitizen66, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Reasonable value and well located”
 of 5 bubbles overlookBc, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room beside lobby a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Their pool is really nice to look at...but it is an outdoor pool and there is no hot tub so we did not go in.”
 of 5 bubbles DarceeO, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You can get pet rooms which are cheaper, but fine (not much different to the non pet ones)”
 of 5 bubbles signupcelo, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5