We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Booking.comUS$66*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
 Click to rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very poor sound proofing. Smelly room yet clean. Free parking and close to everything including the ferry. Friendly staff. Free coffee and fruits in the morning. Outdoor pool open during summer months.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Takeacab
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good day Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. I am so very sorry that you experience a smelly room. I have spoken with housekeeping to make sure we air out the guest rooms property before checking in room guests. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - thank...

Nanaimo, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I was checked in by 10:30 am and was given a room upgrade for no extra charge.They are all so kind and helpful. The area has so mat any things to see and with a fitness center on the property, I was able to go and enjoy the tanning bed for less than $5.00. Lots of walking paths available and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCitizen66
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day: Fantastic to hear that we were able to make your stay so great. So happy we were able to accommodate your early check-in The Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo's location can not be beat for seeing lots of downtown and the seawall walk. The full fitness facility located at the hotel is a great place. Thank you again...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonnisueh
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Howard Johnson in Nanaimo and after the first night, my husband woke up covered in bed bug bites. We brought to the attention of the desk clerk, Logan, who was embarrassed and moved us to another room with a bit of a discount. The next day the number of bites on my husband increased and we talked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachelle N
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good day Rachelle We again are so very sorry about the bed bug incident that you encountered during your stay. I wish to apologize for the other staff members off handed comments that "it does happen". I would not be very happy if I had to experience this treatment with regards to a serious situation. Nothing is more unsettling then...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60jacquelinel
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Chilliwack
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This hotel is greatly outdated and very poorly kept. Our room had a TV from the 90s, and furniture and decor corresponding to that same era. We were horrified when we initially came into the room, but had no other option but to stay. We would not recommend this hotel to any family or friend.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Dave Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. The staff are know to provide great service, value and location. The housekeeping staff really do care in providing a clean room. Yes the hotel is...

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The place itself has seen its best days. However it's centrally located budget hotel so no reason to complain really. The staff was superb, both reception and housekeeping. Check in and out were smooth. Bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The room also had coffee and tea making facilities plus fridge and microwave. Big plus for that! Overall had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fintopapu
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Fintopapu; Fantastic to hear the staff were so very helpful for check in and check out, and the housekeeping was excellent. The staff really do care at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. Yes the hotel is dated, and I have passed on your comments to the owner about the facilities. Thank you very much for your review...

BC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Good for sports teams as is well located centrally. Place is showing its age as likely will be re-developed due to its location. Across the street from a Tim Horton's and has link to waterfront walkway. Fair price but do expect 4 stars. Free parking .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank overlookBc
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day overlookBC Thank you very much for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff take great pride in providing, clean and comfortable rooms, at a great value and downtown location. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi. With regards to the overall impression of the property I have forwarded your...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Close to the inner city and walking distance to the downtown core with reasonable prices and clean rooms. Not very modern but comfortable and affordable. Friendly and informative front desk staff. Great parking for oversized vehicles. I will definitely use again when in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Ron, Terrific news about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. I am so very happy the staff were friendly and helpful. We do have great parking for all types of vehicles, and I glad we were able to help with your oversized vehicle. Thank you again Ron Sincerely Erik Brook Manager of Operations

Surrey, British Columbia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

As I was on a tight budget, it was fantastic value for the price. This is an aged property but clean none the less.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanWKelly
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review

Good Day Alan W Kelly So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. We are a budget friendly hotel with great staff and clean comfortable rooms Thank you Sincerely Erik Brook Manager of Operations

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.6 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,312 reviews
2.7 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
475 reviews
7.6 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.7 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
291 reviews
7.7 km away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: RM276 - RM387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book here.”
776rachellen, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Smile nice.”
CanadianCitizen66, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Reasonable value and well located”
overlookBc, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room beside lobby a bit noisy.”
, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Their pool is really nice to look at...but it is an outdoor pool and there is no hot tub so we did not go in.”
DarceeO, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$66
Expedia.com
Orbitz.comUS$66
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates