We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (3)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star accommodation
About
Description
Welcome to Cambie Hostel Gastown, your Vancouver “home away from home.” Cambie Hostel Gastown aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year More after year. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Granville Island (2.3 km) and Vancouver Aquarium (2.5 km), guests of Cambie Hostel Gastown can easily experience some of Vancouver's most well known attractions. Guests can enjoy free breakfast while staying at Cambie Hostel Gastown. Need a place to park? Parking is available at Cambie Hostel Gastown. While in Vancouver be sure to experience local oyster favorites at Blue Water Cafe, Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub, or Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Harbour Air Seaplanes (1.0 km), Vancouver Downtown (0.8 km), or Gastown (0.4 km), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. Cambie Hostel Gastown puts the best of Vancouver at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
127
Price range
US$26 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver
Location
Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Nearby
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and
stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of
being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many
plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell
the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's
history a more lively presence here than anywhere
else. Having been originally founded around a popular
worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 nearby hotels
Victorian Hotel
947 reviews
.25 km away
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
1,704 reviews
.26 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
1,645 reviews
.29 km away
St. Regis Hotel
2,811 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 4,147 nearby restaurants
Purebread
283 reviews
.10 km away
Meat & Bread
912 reviews
.08 km away
Revolver Coffee
211 reviews
.02 km away
La Taqueria
152 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,033 nearby attractions
Hill's Native Art Gallery
50 reviews
.12 km away
Coastal Peoples Fine Arts Gallery
22 reviews
.11 km away
Inuit Gallery of Vancouver
19 reviews
.09 km away
Victory Square
12 reviews
.11 km away
Reviews & more
186Reviews
62Photos
2Q+A
22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 28
  • 54
  • 35
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
+1
There's good and bad points about this place. Let's get rid of the bad first.

BAD: It is crowded and noisy. The noise from the downstairs pub is prevalent at night. Crowds of people are standing in the streets outside the hotel adding to the noise. The bathroom, showers, and sin
Read more
Dirty and smelly
SO NOISY
Little leaving and kitchen room, plus bathroom.
Most of the reception staff are unfriendly, they don't care about you, so can ask you every night to show your key to come back to the hostel.
You have to accept to don't sleep every night because of the b
Read more
Response from TheCambie-Malones, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there. Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Cambie. Our reception staff ask to see everyone's keys as they walk into the hostel as part of our security. We like to make sure everyone who enters the hostel is a guest here for your safety. We offer our guests free entry to the bar and a pass to skip the line. We have had plenty of good feedback that this is a good deal for our guests. We do like to think of our hostel as a party hostel where people can come and have a good time and have the opportunity to meet lots of people from all over the world. We mention Oreo on our websites and when people check in so that if anyone is allergic we can move them to the second floor (Orea lives on the first floor). Thanks again and safe travels
Read more
Do you ever get nostalgia for run-down college frat houses? If so, this place is for you.

It looks like it's been decades since the floors here have received any serious tlc, and the mish mash of furniture in the tiny common room is eerily reminiscent of the free furniture that
Read more
Response from Mariana B, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Hi Sylvia, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Cambie Hostel. We do understand that the bar is loud and we recognize that The Cambie is a party hostel. Sorry to hear that you did not like our eclectic furniture. We require the hostel guests to enter the bar via the front door so our security team can keep count of people entering and exciting the bar. Thanks again and safe travels
Read more
This is 100% the worst hostel I’ve stayed in... and in the past 5 years I’ve stayed in a lot!

Dirty - Yes
Noisy -Yes
Smelly - Yes (Cat or human piss I couldn’t quite tell)
Overcrowded - Yes
Broken Amenities - Yes
Squeaky beds - Yes
Lockers in Room - No

The only good thing a
Read more
Response from Mariana B, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Cambie. All of rooms have lockers under the bed, you just need to provide your own lock. We do understand that the hostel can be noisy, we understand that it is a party hostel. Our housekeepers work very hard every day to maintain a clean and tidy hostel, I apologize that you didn't find it to be clean. Thanks again and safe travels!
Read more
As hotels go, this is one of the best I have stayed in! The location is brilliant, a few minutes walk to Gastown!
The rooms and facilities are great and are managed very promptly by the staff each day!
The common rooms and bar downstairs, certainly bring this place to life and i
Read more
Response from Mariana B, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 31 Oct 2018
HI Dean, Thank you for leaving us a great review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the location. Gastown is where its at! Thanks recognizing that our staff do a fantastic job! They all love their jobs and work very hard each and every day. We are very happy that you had a great stay and had the chance to meet some amazing travelers. We hope to see you again at The Cambie! Stay awesome
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementCambie Hostel Gastown
Shared room
I get the top bunk!
from kitchen
Room
Seule une chaise dans la chambre, plancher dégradé
Previous
Hi, My wife and I are on our way to Toronto with an overnight in Vancouver. I looking to book a room through Booking but there's a "fine print" saying that Canadian passports aren't accepted? As in, no Canadian citizen can book a overnight stay?
If I am 18 can I book a room from your hotel?
Hello, You have to be 19 years old to book a room with us!
0 votes
"never go back!!"
"Go to another hostel"
"The bar is only quiet on some Sunday/Monday nights"
"To avoid the party-noise, be sure to get a room on the second floor, back side!"
"If you still want to stay here, avoid the second floor by all means."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing