We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cambie Hostel Gastown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The personal at desk front are so grumpy they kik out us after paid 3 nights we want to xtend and they kik us out Never in my life return ti this ugly and dirty holtel and stincky The instalations washrooms so dirty and smells like the bar downstairs I don't recomend this hostel just because is to closed downtown

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Our hostel always welcomes guest feedback so we know how we can improve our service and facilities. We always want our guests to stay as long as they like at the Cambie but we can often book up many days in advance, especially on popular weekend nights. Of course you would have been... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Has a kitchen but couldn't find much to cook with. It has a small area to eat and a small area to sit and watch tv. Downstairs is a large bar scene. Just make sure you don't arrive to early in the morning as they don't accept people in unless you paid for the night before. Beds are not very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Corey B
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Corey, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We're always keen to listen to our guests suggestions. We will make sure that there is enough cooking gear for all our guests in the future. Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Cambie is located right in the centre of gastown, which is a great place to stay if you want good food, great beer and a lively nightlife. Other shopping areas and Stanley park are also within walking distance. The hostel itself was average, nothing special but a good place to stay for a couple of nights. The bar downstairs was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tkitching
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in July. It's okay. The place was clean but it smells like urine in the corridors! Room was clean and comfortable. The showers aren't great - there were only two in the bathroom on our floor and they're not very private- the screens are almost see through and there's no area to get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleOfBrummies
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you for your review, we have given this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in our repairs. I'm glad you enjoyed the bar downstairs, most of our guests enjoy having a bar downstairs with... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Cambie is a good place to stay for a few nights, it is nothing special but was great for me staying there a few nights on my own. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfy. It is a good place to meet people as there is a great bar downstairs with decent prices and a lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clarice W
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Clarice, We're glad to hear you enjoyed our venue and low prices, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again! Regards, Cambie Hostel Management More 

Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I was travelling for 3 months around Canada, and the Cambie Hostel in Vancouver was one of the worst Hostel I've ever been. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs which is actually very nice. But the staff was quite unfriendly. They put my luggage in a room, where everyone could go in and take it! The room was very big, which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry for the bad experience you had while staying at our hostel. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate all guest feedback. I apologize if our staff didn't explain our luggage storage service to you, but this room is only accessible by hostel staff and all guests brought to this room are supervised. Guests... More 

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Absolutely disgustion shower/toilet room (4 stalls) shared by an entire floor. Cheap rickety bunk beds, curtains that don't close and an extremely loud bar with people yelling, music pumping and people singing in the street ALL night long, rude/incompetent reception/front desk agents. The whole experience felt every 3rd world. Absolutely no resemblance to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ehjut
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback so that we can improve our facilities. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel and we apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort this caused you. We are currently working on updating our hostel facilities and we will be installing new... More 

Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The Cambie has pretty much everything you'd expect out of a hostel, good company, fellow travelers, impossibly ancient plumbing and cramped showers. That said, it's also super cheap, in a killer part of town (everything in Vancouver can be walked to from Gastown), and has a great and somewhat bizarre bar/club attached to it. About that bar, music goes 'til... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DC2SF2SC
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you got to experience the hostel life and we hope to see you again. Thank you for staying with us! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Not sure why so many negative reviews as you get what you pay for. I booked this place spur of the moment as my last reservation elsewhere fell through. I was hesitant to book based off the reviews but did so anyways as I needed a place that was central but also cheap. It definitely did not disappoint. The guy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hawadjie
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello, We're glad to hear you gave us a chance in spite of the bad reviews. We're happy to hear you had a good time during your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our hostel location. Thank you for your review, we are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This place stank, really disgusting, and the room was not good at all, the ceiling and floor was coming off and there were no furniture apart from the bed and one chair. The smell was the worst part, it smelled like pee and rotten things(?). The staff was nice though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stina L
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Stina, Thank you for your review, we will pass this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We want our guests to feel comfortable and happy in our hostel so we're always open to suggestions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time you are... More 

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#39 of 90 in Vancouver
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,220 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#72 of 90 in Vancouver
601 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#25 of 47 in Vancouver
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gastown

Neighbourhood Profile
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Price Range: RM98 - RM258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Não se acomodem neste hotel”
 of 5 bubbles marcostulios, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the third floor to avoid noise from the bar”
 of 5 bubbles Scarlettkatt, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have good views and may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles oliviab397, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stay at a different hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles 782cq, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Choose a room with a window to the road”
 of 5 bubbles csrao57, 17 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay