We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
300 Cambie St @ Cordova St Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3 Canada
Getting there
Vancouver Intl Airport11 km
Nanaimo Airport61 km
Waterfront5 min
Stadium–Chinatown6 min
Neighbourhood
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
187Reviews
63Photos
2Q+A
22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 28
  • 54
  • 35
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hostel was so over priced for rooms that are tiny, you can’t sleep due to the bar downstairs. And the staff are extremely rude. Every time you do anything they would question you and ask for your ID and keys. All in all they were extremely rude and would not recommend
Read more
+1
There's good and bad points about this place. Let's get rid of the bad first. BAD: It is crowded and noisy. The noise from the downstairs pub is prevalent at night. Crowds of people are standing in the streets outside the hotel adding to the noise. The bathroom, showers, and
Read more
Dirty and smelly SO NOISY Little leaving and kitchen room, plus bathroom. Most of the reception staff are unfriendly, they don't care about you, so can ask you every night to show your key to come back to the hostel. You have to accept to don't sleep every night because of the
Read more
Response from TheCambie-Malones, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 14 Nov 2018
Hi there. Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Cambie. Our reception staff ask to see everyone's keys as they walk into the hostel as part of our security. We like to make sure everyone who enters the hostel is a guest here for your safety. We offer our guests free entry to the bar and a pass to skip the line. We have had plenty of good feedback that this is a good deal for our guests. We do like to think of our hostel as a party hostel where people can come and have a good time and have the opportunity to meet lots of people from all over the world. We mention Oreo on our websites and when people check in so that if anyone is allergic we can move them to the second floor (Orea lives on the first floor). Thanks again and safe travels
Read more
Do you ever get nostalgia for run-down college frat houses? If so, this place is for you. It looks like it's been decades since the floors here have received any serious tlc, and the mish mash of furniture in the tiny common room is eerily reminiscent of the free furniture
Read more
Response from Mariana B, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Hi Sylvia, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Cambie Hostel. We do understand that the bar is loud and we recognize that The Cambie is a party hostel. Sorry to hear that you did not like our eclectic furniture. We require the hostel guests to enter the bar via the front door so our security team can keep count of people entering and exciting the bar. Thanks again and safe travels
Read more
This is 100% the worst hostel I’ve stayed in... and in the past 5 years I’ve stayed in a lot! Dirty - Yes Noisy -Yes Smelly - Yes (Cat or human piss I couldn’t quite tell) Overcrowded - Yes Broken Amenities - Yes Squeaky beds - Yes Lockers in Room - No The only good thing
Read more
Response from Mariana B, Front Office Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Cambie. All of rooms have lockers under the bed, you just need to provide your own lock. We do understand that the hostel can be noisy, we understand that it is a party hostel. Our housekeepers work very hard every day to maintain a clean and tidy hostel, I apologize that you didn't find it to be clean. Thanks again and safe travels!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementCambie Hostel Gastown
Shared room
I get the top bunk!
from kitchen
Room
Seule une chaise dans la chambre, plancher dégradé
PreviousNext
1234567
"never go back!!"
"Go to another hostel"
"The bar is only quiet on some Sunday/Monday nights"
"To avoid the party-noise, be sure to get a room on the second floor, back side!"
"If you still want to stay here, avoid the second floor by all means."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$27 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cambie hostel gastown hotel vancouver
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouverGastownCentralDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
127
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing