We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marlborough Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marlborough Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 235: English reviews
Start your review of The Marlborough Hotel
 Click to rate
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We wanted to spend weekend exploiting Winnipeg , this hotel came our package we got at Expedia . The hotel is old and it could be pretty as the architecture is really pretty on the outside but rooms need way more attention . We stayed at the 5th floor with extra secured door , that makes us feel like we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bohemian_me84
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bohemian_me84, Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us, as I appreciate the feedback positive or negative it's valuable information. First, I apologize for not meeting your expectations with respect to your recent stay. It disappoints me to hear comments like this, after the time, efforts and expense that we have invested in our people and...

Ottawa
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Attended a 5 day training session at this location. Dingy, old, smelly. The washrooms smell... bad, it's like they use urine to wash floors, assuming they actually wash floors! We actually moved the training to a new location part way through the week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OttawaBaldini
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning OttawaBaldini, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate the feedback whether positive or negative it is a good measuring tool. I am sorry that you didn't get a chance to stay with us upon your visit. It seems that we didn't fulfill the basic requirements of having a clean and comfortable hotel, and...

Reviewed 20 March 2017

The reviews of this hotel are very varied - We decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. What a mistake!! Upon check-in, Melody was less than friendly. When I asked about parking I was told "It's across the street and is about $20/day maybe." When recommending a place for your guests to park, one would think you would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim W: Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Marlborough Hotel. Our whole team is naturally very concerned about your experiences here. Your difficulties with our guest service agent Melany from the front desk does not meet our standards of service, for which I sincerely apologize. You have...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I've stayed here a few times over the last few years. First time was good, second time was better, this time was pretty fantastic! I paid less than $100.00 for a Downtown hotel walking distance to our Winnipeg office as well as our conference centre a few blocks away. There's also a rent a car office right across the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James M, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate the feedback whether positive or negative it all definitely helps us to improve on any deficiencies. We pride ourselves on having great staff who are focused on 100% guest satisfaction and are always willing to accommodate any need that arises. We currently have a plan...

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2017

This hotel carries the most mixed reviews ever! Take the time to read as many good, as bad. We had two rooms, stayed 3 nights and will stay again. PARKING: Yes, it is extra. There are parkades and parking lots everywhere. The one directly across the street is convenient, secure but not monitored, has standard rates ($12/day, $4 overnight, $2/hour)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie H
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kellie H, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and all that is has to offer. I appreciate the positivity of your review, as we do too often tend to get focused on the negative when it comes to our hotel stays. We work very hard to ensure all guests that stay with us are happy throughout...

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Our stay here is worth it, the accomodation was spectacular, especially the managers which is Brett and Corrie whose really in touch with their staff to do things much better. The receptionist was nice and helpful too. There are some problems within the facility however they take actions immediately. Its just a minor problem anyways.if you are looking for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramon O
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ramon O, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, and I truly appreciate the kind words about our staff and management. We strive to ensure all guests stay with us are a memorable one, and even when there are problems we jump to make them right immediately. I will send your kudos on to both our managers...

Reviewed 20 February 2017

I love historic buildings so I was excited to stay in such a seemingly gorgeous building. As I arrived, I noticed a lot of smokers outside the doors but decided that it was fine - they weren't bothering me at the time. The desk staff was friendly and courteous. I checked in and went to the elevator, which then wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha B
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Samantha B, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate the feedback whether positive or negative it is a good measuring tool. I am sorry that you didn't get a chance to stay with us upon your visit. It seems that we didn't fulfill the basic requirements of having a clean and comfortable hotel,...

Estevan, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We stayed here because of the price, and close to the mts center we didn't look into the reviews before booking. Negatives - no parking you have to park across the street and it is costly cost us 35.00 for the night. - natives hanging around the front entrance and inside the building, that didn't bother me but others it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ltn2252
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Itn2252, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel as I truly appreciate any feedback that is given. The parking price is pretty much a standard across the downtown area, we have tried to work with the owners of the parking lots to obtain a discount for our patrons but as of right now they are firm...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Location was fantastic given it was 2 blocks from car rental, 2 blocks from the hockey and easy to get to via bus and driving back into downtown. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful although the rooms are quite dated. The hot water was out for almost an entire week while I was there which was frustrating given I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Keith T, Thank you for your recent review of or hotel, I appreciate both positive and negative as they help to gauge where we are as a property. I am sorry that you had issues with your hot water during your stay, and we have since rectified the problem and are happy to report no further incidents. I...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2016

With all the negative reviews of this property I feel the need to share our great experience. Front desk staff was super friendly and helpful in getting us in our room a little early. There was a slight problem with the first room and we were immediately upgraded at no charge. The room was clean and spacious with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dbone33
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dbone33, I want to sincerely thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. We do try very hard to look after every guest that visits us, as we pride ourselves on great customer service and a clean and comfortable room. As we are a budget hotel we do have people from all walks of life that...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
469 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Price Range: RM310 - RM490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marlborough Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Marlborough Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th & 5th floors are private floors with extra security”
Q473AWjamesm, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“West side rooms can view vehicle in parkade.”
  • Room with 2 beds.
  • Parkade right across the street. MTS center a 3 minute walk.
KellieA_12, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“506-507 are the rooms we had and they were good”
ltn2252, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you do get the best room available worth the upgrade”
jessed488, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a floor in the middle”
970zacharyi, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5