We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duckworth Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duckworth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Duckworth Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Wicked location, fairly modern rooms, comfy bed and clean. My only complaint would be the noise. It's not very sound proof. I don't know if we would stay again due to that. If I could get it at a good price I'd probably try for a top floor room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan T
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I booked a room at the Duckworth Hotel on Expedia for this coming weekend because there was a really great deal online. I paid with Debit as the website allows me to do. Everything was fine until Expeida sent me an email about 10 minutes later saying that they would have to cancel my reservation if I did not provide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisp709
alabama
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

I am 3 days into my 6 day stay at the Duckworth I have read all of the reviews, many of them negative. I booked this stay suddenly, due to a family emergency. My son, who lives here in St Johns is very ill. My room is 201 on the main floor. I've read many reviews about this room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cinwar
Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I was expecting a half decent boutique hotel. Unfortunately the carpet in the room was filthy, the curtains were safety pinned together, they were dark and damaged. There was a water leak on the ceiling and wall which was not repaired. The location is great. This place needs a facelift and some TLC. The staff was great. This place has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hania1955
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Extraordinarily comfortable bed. Hotel is very central. Everythingl visitors to St.John's want to see within a very short walking distance. Great place for breakfast just a block away (Bagel Cafe) and one of St. John's oldest and most popular bars six feet away (Duke of Duckworth). The hotel has an arrangement with a parking garage across the street which proved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgar G
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review!

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel the past weekend for our anniversary of our relationship and boy what a mistake we made booking two nights at the Duckworth Inn. Having read previous reviews on this hotel before arrival we were very sketchy about what the hotel would be like, yes the hotel has very noisy neighbors which prevented...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LukeAidanH97
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.

Thornbury, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed three days. Good central location. First room on 2nd floor smaller than a MicroHotel room. After bumping, bruising, lacerating shins on corners of bed, requested upgrade. Upgraded room much larger with room for suitcases, toiletries, chairs for sitting, etc. Rooms very clean, comfortable with great linens. TV not working either room though. Ate dinner in restaurant on first floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nursenorah
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy with the room you originally booked, I'm glad we were able to offer you an upgrade. And thank you for noting our rooms are clean and comfortable. Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal.

Toronto
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Staid last night in #301. Room faces main street with single pane windows. Street noise wasn't nearly as bad as the party next door in 302 from about 11 till 5am!! Tried to call non existent front desk attendant at around 4am with no luck.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mirof
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Duncan
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Old hotel tastefully renovated. A little nervous about using the self-entry code . . . especially at 5:30 am (our flight was late getting in) . . . but it worked perfectly. Room had more than enough space for us and our belongings and even included a decent-sized fridge. The coffee was freshly ground (not packaged), lots of tea bags,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slyfoxx24
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your room and we appreciate the feedback on the bed sheets.

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Room was small but all anyone needs. I didn't see one person that works here during my stay. It was an in and out operation in a great location. If you want a quick no fuss check in - this is the place for you. Rooms were clean. There is a great restaurant on the lower level, if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Logan K
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, many people like the no hassle check in and check out. Hope to see you again.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
537 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
367 reviews
Downtown
The Franklin Hotel LTD
The Franklin Hotel LTD
#20 of 23 in St. John's
46 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 room boutique hotel located on one of the two main downtown city streets. Fully renovated in 2012, this property boasts the onsite award winning restaurant & bar, Magnum & Steins. Besides the convenience of this location and the onsite restaurant and bar each room amenities include mini fridge, free wireless Internet, in room coffee maker, HDTV televisions, telephones with voice mail & wake up calls, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Late check ins welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duckworth Hotel

Address: 331 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: RM235 - RM705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duckworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Duckworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duckworth Hotel Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duckworth Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Senneville, Canada
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Duckworth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think all rooms come with private bathroom which for me is a must. We had a good sized room with modern spotless bathroom.”
  • Sorry about the unmade bed, but you get the idea.
edgarg841, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for upgraded Queen room on south side.”
nursenorah, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is parking right across the street. Restaurant is good, and there is a well known pub around the corner.”
LoganK330, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room was on the 1st floor (no stairs to climb) but I understand things might be noisy in that room if there were many people upstairs.”
ewyatt2016, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“very top floor away from the street, restaurant and kitchen noise.”
QueenVera, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5