We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monastery Spa & Suites

Booking.comUS$113*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$146*
US$113*
Great Deal
US$146*
US$146*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Monastery Spa & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Start your review of Monastery Spa & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here last night for some quality relaxation which we both needed so much! We had a jacuzzi suite, with 2 beds, not sure if they were doubles or queens but they were so comfy! Lovely and clean sheets and towels, room was spotless when we checked in. The front desk helped us with a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Britt C
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

The jacuzzi and built in electric fireplace added to a nice and relaxing time in downtown St. John's. The jacuzzi also has a built in lighting system which was a nice bonus. My fiancée and I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon M
LeasideGroup, Owner at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Monastery Spa & Suites. It sounds like you enjoyed your getaway! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at one of your suites in December and we absolutely had the best experience. Jeff on the front desk catered to every request we had and more, he's the best hotel guy I've ever dealt with. Thanks to him we will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stanford_butters
LeasideGroup, Owner at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Monastery Spa & Suites, and that our staff went above and beyond for you. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year!

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I have never written a bad review or complained of anything but I can honestly say the New Years Getaway we booked at the monastery suites was nothing short of a disaster. I have stayed at every hotel in the city and I have never had more horrible customer service at any other hotel. The front staff on that night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickihunny
LeasideGroup, General Manager at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Nicole and thank you for reaching out. It was a pleasure speaking with you and we are happy that you enjoyed your king jacuzzi fireplace suite with your New Year's Eve package ! We are sorry that we didn't get your royal romance package on that night. However we certainly look forward in greeting you as a guest in...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed here in Dec. 2106, it was dirty, we moved rooms and it was still dirty. The staff was less then helpful. We stayed at this place many times in the past with great experiences and the changes went so downhill. No room service, no free breakfast, spa area no is $25 per person. There are way better places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rainnie2015
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I just wanted to say our office had our Christmas Party at the Monastery Spa and Suites Dec 16th, 2016 and it was fantastic!!! The food was top notch and the service above that. Elisha, our main hostess was so accommodating in every possible way. There was nothing to big or small for her team to do and the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cowanheightsdental
LeasideGroup, Owner at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to hear that your staff Christmas Party was a success! All the best in this new year!

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The first room had no remote or towels . The reception then moved us to a different room and the TV was not working. I think they may be short on staff as every time the receptionist was the one doing all the running around. The room 206 was oddly planned out . Both beds were facing each other, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelAngelika
LeasideGroup, Owner at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

Please note for future reference that we have different options and layouts of rooms that you can choose from. Feel free to have a look around the next time you are near, to find whichever pleases you most. We would love to have you back again soon.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We had a king room, which came complete with electric fireplace and jacuzzi bath. The room was large and private and very quiet. There was a fridge in the room. The internet connection was very good. The window looked onto the spa building but bushes obscured the view, which added to privacy. There is a large parking lot, and parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgette M
LeasideGroup, Owner at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your king suite. It sounds like you had a lovely time. We hope to see you again soon!

Lindsay, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Rooms are spacious with top-notch mattresses. It's so nice to stay somewhere that's truly quiet--it was a surprise when we heard other guests at all! Some of the furnishings are getting marked up, which seems to happen quickly with dark brown finishes, but everything is very clean, and staff are genuinely friendly. The hotel is close to downtown, but easy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SeeCanada
LeasideGroup, Owner at Monastery Spa & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves in the serenity of both the suites & the spa, and it is wonderful when our valued guests recognize it.

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Visited the spa today to finally use my Christmas gift certificate. I had an amazing experience. I was greeted by a friendly hostess who led me to the changing area where I was given a robe and a cover, there was a locked locker there for me to put my belongings in. The change area had a beautiful bathroom area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveling byrnes

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
254 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
544 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 22 in St. John's
370 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spa at the Monastery and Suites honors the trinity of body, mind and spirit. Awaken your essence with deluxe treatments in a peaceful, tastefully renovated heritage monastery just moments from downtown St. John's. Come for the day or extend your visit in one of our luxurious suites featuring a two person air-massage tub, relaxing fireplace and all natural Aveda amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monastery Spa & Suites

Address: 63 Patrick St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 2S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: RM544 - RM771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monastery Spa & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Monastery Spa & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastery Spa & Suites Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monastery Spa & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Monastery Spa & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT stay in the rooms detached from the main building!”
acskate, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I've only stayed in one king size room and a tree blocked the entire view.”
shelleyb272, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stay away unless you want your vehicle broken into and damaged!”
2bwed, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I would recommend go if you like to have your car broken into.”
709lm, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Book a Couple's Massage with your hotel stay for a romantic night”
Cole_Bill, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$113* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$146
TravelocityUS$146
TripAdvisorUS$113
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates