We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2014

The hotel is in a good within easy walking distance of Signal Hill and the harbor. It is about a 20 minute walk to George Street. As Sheratons go, this one is on the more modest side. It is well maintained, but doesn't have as elegant of feel as Shertons do in other capital cities. The rooms are good sized.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Lindsay W, Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you had a pleasant visit. We are sorry to hear that our fitness center did not to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day. More 

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2014 via mobile

This was a nice choice, with great views of the bay, close to tourists areas, downtown, and other attractions. The rates are a bit overpriced for what you get, but things can be a bit more costly in this part of Canada. That being said, this might still be the best choice in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank dangerpre
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Dangerpre, We really appreciate you taking the time to pass along your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to the downtown area. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in the future. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2014

I went there for a night away with my boyfriend and we were impressed but the customer service was horrible, I was paying for the room out of my own pocket but they treated me like I was nothing. The girl at the desk was full of attitude and just treated me like I was nothing. She was very rude,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samm W
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Samm W, We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your visit with us due to a couple of different issues. We apologize that we did not provide you with an experience that exceeded your expectations. It is feedback such as this which allows us to identify areas that require more attention. We hope we get the... More 

Hampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I was in town for work meetings and seminars. First night there they forgot our meet and greet even though it was on their schedule and we showed them. It was eventually made right, but not before excuse after excuse. Not a great way to start the experience. Nice hotel, somewhat outdated. No fridges in the hotel rooms. Irons don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug N
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Doug N, Thank-You for the detailed feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. We do also apologize for the issue you encountered with your meet & greet event and... More 

Burlington, ON
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel in friendly St Johns. It's located a short walk from downtown and George St. Staff are very friendly. I had a beautiful King room at the end of the hallway, this hotel has been updated. I deducted one star as my wifi was not working I had to go down to the lobby. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank CDNtraveller66
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello CDN traveller66, Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our close proximity to downtown St. John's & famous George street is definitely a plus. I am happy to hear that our staff made a memorable impression on you. I apologize for the issue with your wifi not working and will have our IT department look... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Classy, quiet, elegant, well appointed, all the services one would expect with a 4 Star Hotel. The pool was quite small, then I appeared to be the only person who ever used it. Food was excellent. This is not a place for people not on an expense account : ((

Helpful?
Thank Beaton B
North Creek, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Fist time in St.John's and decided to stay here. The hotel itself is so classy, clean and beautiful & the hotel staff incredible! I have to add the food in the higher end restaurant was amazing and the daily buffet was delicious! The rooms were very very cozy & comfortable. Excellent all around and I highly recommend this hotel to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina W
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello PGIT, Thank-you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Newfoundland Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great day. More 

New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Hotel is in an excellent location and an easy walk to many restaurants. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff are excellent and responsive to all requests. Rooms with a view of the harbor are particularly scenic.

Helpful?
1 Thank PGIT
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Loved the location close to the harbor, spacious rooms and the restaurant/bar was just amazing. The staff is super friendly :). The hotel rates are a bit pricey but if you book ahead of time you will get better rates. Overall I loved that hotel and would book again on a future visit.

Helpful?
Thank Linda_BR433DB
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Linda_BR433DB, Thank-you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback form your most recent stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. I couldn't agree more it is our friendly and knowledgeable staff that keep our Guests coming back time after time. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in the near future. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Just an average hotel for a Sheraton. Needs a bit of a facelift in some parts. Probably the best hotel in St. John's though. Well located, free internet, free parking. Gym, swimming pool. The food was a bit pricey, but food is pricey in St. John's (they import everything). Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Service was good (early).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roy M

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
211 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Sq, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: RM582 - RM965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Spring Green, Wisconsin
28 days ago
Ottawa, Canada
6 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask questions to clarify view and the room amenities”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleMHawco, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a porthole room or one with a harbour view - do it”
 of 5 bubbles SUSKNO, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 246 was a great view of the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles Daveee00, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to club”
 of 5 bubbles A1556ENandrews, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Harbour view is nice”
 of 5 bubbles sarahlD9084LX, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay