We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 580: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Loved this Sheraton, the waterfall in the lobby makes it easier to calm down when you arrive. Rooms are well cleaned, good beds and great location. Uphill from Downtown st-john's but it's not too much of a hike.. 15-20 mins walking distance from George Street (lots of pubs and restaurants there) 15 mins from the airport by taxi. Great staff!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mixedman
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Mixedman, Thank-you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are pleased to see that we were able to meet your expectations in so many ways. It is as you say our great staff that keep many of our guests coming back time after time. Our...

Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 16 November 2014

This is a vintage hotel, opened by the CN Railroad years back, but still has elements of that glory. Unfortunately, current management has not invested the wherewithal to maintain that condition. Furniture is worn and has finish missing from tops and edges. Baseboards in the public areas show distress. Food is good, but nothing spectacular. The Concierge Lounge has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geezer45
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Geezer45, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We currently have an on-going renovation program in place at the hotel to ensure that we are continuing to provide a level of comfort & service that all of our guests are coming to expect from a Sheraton property.. We do receive...

Channel-Port aux Basques
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Great hotel with a nice view of the harbour. Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. A 20 minute walk to George Street and the many other attractions downtown St. John's has to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 846dans
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello 846Dans, We would like to thank-you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with us. We are happy to know that your experience with us was enjoyable. As well, happy to know that you found our associates to be friendly and accommodating. Our close proximity to downtown St. John's and George Street is certainly a benefit...

Celtic
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Guest-facing staff (front desk, concierge, housekeeping, Club lounge): generally excellent; smiling, being responsive to inquiries, being pro-active e.g. weather, cleaning, hotel events. Where are the managers? The fitness centre has not had television on the exercise machines for at least nine weeks since September 1st. This problem has been reported to the staff repeatedly but there are no signs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank discerning_visitor55
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us and your fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but are disappointed to read it was not a flawless one. The challenges we encountered with the television and cable offerings on some of our fitness equipment occurred as...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2014

As far as a large hotel chain goes this is a nice place to stay. Not in the downtown core of St. John's but close enough this is a friendly, clean and comfortable place to stay. My only issue is that I stayed in a suite and had no view of the harbour (as described by the staff - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garebear
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Garebear, Thank-you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent visit to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We will certainly pass on your kind comments concerning the staff. Our housekeeping department works very hard to ensure that all of our guests rooms are clean & comfortable....

Reviewed 27 October 2014

The hotel is in a good within easy walking distance of Signal Hill and the harbor. It is about a 20 minute walk to George Street. As Sheratons go, this one is on the more modest side. It is well maintained, but doesn't have as elegant of feel as Shertons do in other capital cities. The rooms are good sized....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Lindsay W, Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you had a pleasant visit. We are sorry to hear that our fitness center did not to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewed 25 October 2014 via mobile

This was a nice choice, with great views of the bay, close to tourists areas, downtown, and other attractions. The rates are a bit overpriced for what you get, but things can be a bit more costly in this part of Canada. That being said, this might still be the best choice in town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dangerpre
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Dangerpre, We really appreciate you taking the time to pass along your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to the downtown area. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in the future.

Reviewed 15 October 2014

I went there for a night away with my boyfriend and we were impressed but the customer service was horrible, I was paying for the room out of my own pocket but they treated me like I was nothing. The girl at the desk was full of attitude and just treated me like I was nothing. She was very rude,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samm W
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Samm W, We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your visit with us due to a couple of different issues. We apologize that we did not provide you with an experience that exceeded your expectations. It is feedback such as this which allows us to identify areas that require more attention. We hope we get the...

Hampton, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I was in town for work meetings and seminars. First night there they forgot our meet and greet even though it was on their schedule and we showed them. It was eventually made right, but not before excuse after excuse. Not a great way to start the experience. Nice hotel, somewhat outdated. No fridges in the hotel rooms. Irons don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug N
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Doug N, Thank-You for the detailed feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. We do also apologize for the issue you encountered with your meet & greet event and...

Burlington, ON
Reviewed 11 October 2014

A very nice hotel in friendly St Johns. It's located a short walk from downtown and George St. Staff are very friendly. I had a beautiful King room at the end of the hallway, this hotel has been updated. I deducted one star as my wifi was not working I had to go down to the lobby. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDNtraveller66
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello CDN traveller66, Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our close proximity to downtown St. John's & famous George street is definitely a plus. I am happy to hear that our staff made a memorable impression on you. I apologize for the issue with your wifi not working and will have our IT department look...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#3 of 24 in St. John's
215 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#2 of 24 in St. John's
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Sq, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: RM544 - RM1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Spring Green, Wisconsin
2 months ago
Ottawa, Canada
8 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles mtslobodian, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles soleil_0402, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask questions to clarify view and the room amenities”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleMHawco, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a porthole room or one with a harbour view - do it”
 of 5 bubbles SUSKNO, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 246 was a great view of the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles Daveee00, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay