We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Suites Yellowknife

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Suites Yellowknife
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of Capital Suites Yellowknife
 Click to rate
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A good basic hotel is sometimes all you need. But this fell short of mark for me. The room was fine, though the walls are paper thin... so you have to hope for quiet neighbours. I could even hear them having a normal conversation! The room was hot. And the heating wasn't even on. I had to pry the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimVictoria
Cambridge Bay, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I just recently stayed there and there was dry blood on the floor and counter in the bathroom and all week the cleaning ladies never wiped any furniture tops including the bathroom counter. I also never got clean drinking glasses or they didn't even sweep the floors and possibly didn't even mop too. I had to clean the blood with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruthnw2017
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Affordable, clean & comfortable the complimentary shuttle from the airport was very convenient when arriving in the early hours of the morning. If you are looking for a full service hotel - this is not for you but if you just want a basic room with a microwave and fridge it is OK

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandJ_FunTimes
Newton G, General Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.

Northwest Territories
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most of the rooms are renovated ...very impressive. But the only problem in this place is that the walls are paper thin. You can hear people walking above you, people talking beside you. The rooms need to be sound proofed to enjoy the stay there especially with new furnishings, nice beddings, bathrooms and even the kitchen... The other problem is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripplanner001
NewtonCap, General Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do pay attention

Nedlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we checked into our suite we found that it was right next to the lift. We had had this problem at another hotel and asked to be moved as you can hear the lift going up and down all the time. We had a 3 night booking and were unhappy about the position of our suite. The girl in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissaj652016
Gananoque, Ontario
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed here for a night in January 2017. It is very comfortable room with the layout of a 1 bedroom apartment ,fridge, stove, coffee machine,wifi. This is one place that is worth the money. There is a small commissary in the lobby. This hotel is a 5 minute walk from downtown. There is a shuttle service to/from the airport. Come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YKHusky
Newton G, General Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Newton

Reviewed 2 February 2017

This is a nice little suites hotel located about 3 blocks from downtown Yellowknife. Nice and clean; everything is new. The rooms are a bit smaller than the pictures show and this was a bit of a downside. Also, no kitchen sink which one would think a suite hotel would have. Price was reasonable, given the newness of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill R
Newton G, General Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed our Standard room and hope you will try one of our Suites on your next visit. I am sure you would enjoy our fully equipped kitchen. Newton

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was booked by my employer. Seemed like a nice place to spend a couple nights, room was clean & spacious. Wifi was very slow. There was a lot of noise in the hallways from intoxicated people around 1am, because of this I wouldn't want to bring my family to this place. The free airport shuttle was good. Walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
Newton G, General Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have not had a comment about noise from Intoxicated clients for Years and I will certainly be looking into this as the Quality rest our Guest gets is important to us. Newton

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed in Capital Suites for one night, and I am quite glad we did not stay longer than that. Upon arrival, we checked-in with a lady at the reception desk who did not seem to be in high spirits (did not get her name). She was not rude but not the friendliest. The other staff we met later in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeni_hk
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The hotel was clean, so was the room. Room was clean and nice. Room was too hot during my stay and you can't control the setting, so I had to open the window. There is a closet to hang your clothes, microwave and a Keurig coffee machine. Outdoor energized (for block heater) covered parking to park your car, so no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Newton G, General Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. I am sending a team to check the controls for the heat in that room immediately. We look forward to serving you again soon. Newton

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.9 km away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
398 reviews
1.5 km away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
218 reviews
0.7 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
172 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
0.8 km away
The Discovery Inn
The Discovery Inn
#14 of 23 in Yellowknife
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Capital Suites Yellowknife

Address: 100 5603 | 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Price Range: RM545 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Suites Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capital Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Yellowknife
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Suites Yellowknife staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Suites Yellowknife staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms from 2nd floor and up”
 of 5 bubbles tripplanner001, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You want a refurbished room on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles melissaj652016, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a full kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles 782BillR782, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suites were nice, but I am not sure about what a regular room was like.”
 of 5 bubbles Midhaste, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in room 313 and it was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles maryanneg2013, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5