We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westin Nova Scotian

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westin Nova Scotian
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,631: English reviews
Start your review of The Westin Nova Scotian
 Click to rate
Saint John SJ
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The Westin has friendly staff and a lovely restaurant for dinner. Location is convenient to go to the amazing Farmer's Market behind it, and a grocery store and liquor store are next to the hotel. If you enjoy walking, it's a great location. The room was old, tired, and much too warm. It smelled funny when we arrived so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDSJ2016
Halifax, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We held a meeting for 130 members at the Westin in the Atlantic Ballroom on February 28, 2017. Everything was set up for the meeting, even though I arrived about 20 minutes early. Our schedule changed slightly through the day and the staff had no issue with setting up the morning coffee break a bit early for us. Lunch was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsAmandaG
About Hotel's Favourite Review
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing the Westin to host your conference and glad you had a great experience! I will be sure and pass on your comments to the team and especially to Brad, Jackie and Jeff who had a lasting impression. Be well and hope to see you again soon! John

Ontario
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Once again we had an excellent stay at the Westin. Thank you again Jesse Garden for making our trip stress free. Also, thank you to Lee at the door who made sure we were welcomed to the Westin, very friendly and helpful. The food at Roys was the usual high standard food and the breakfast buffet at Elements was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel2plus1
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I was a little skeptical about this property after reading some of the other reviews, but decided to give it a try. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! I had a fantastic view from my 10th floor harbour side room, and loved being able to trot across the road to the farmers market and easily access the boardwalk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crazeefrog
Sydney, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Service was excellent. We chose valet parking and Lee and Michael were the best. Their interpersonal skills were second to none - very helpful and accommodating. Great location. Breakfast was fantastic and Roy's was great! Our room, on the other hand, had issues. The heat was unbearable and the seemingly outdated air conditioning did not work. We opened the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelmar66
Victoria
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Westin is our first choice and that was our rationale but this property is past its best before date. It appears some upgrades have been made but it seems piecemeal and doesn't transform the aged feeling. Perhaps the age also affects cleaning staff as there were indicators in our room of poor attention to detail and similar items were apparent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottC
Prince Edward Island
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our stay was very enjoyable, the room was quiet and comfortable. The restaurant was second to none. The food was excellent and well presented. The sever was very friendly and the chef came by the table to explain the meal options. We chose the seafood option. It all tasted very fresh. Overall experience was one of the best I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barnyard4
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for staying with us and for also for choosing to dine in our restaurant. I am glad you had a great stay and that we took care of you while dining. I will be sure and share the comments with the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well, John

Saint John, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I have been traveling to Halifax for years now and the Westin is always my hotel of choice. Went down in March and had a wonderful stay yet again! We tried the breakfast buffet this trip and it was awesome! Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacie Y
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Stacie, Thank you for your continued support and loyalty! We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit when in Halifax! Be well, John

Reviewed 1 week ago

The buffet meal was spectacular. Many, many choices to pick from. Something for everyone. Staff and waitress/waiter were there for every need. Chef Bryan Corkery outdid himself. Will certainly do another Sunday buffet. Won't wait for a special occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginny D
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Ginny, Thank you for choosing the Westin Nova Scotian for your Easter Brunch and I'm glad you had a great experience. I will let Bryan know about your comments and we will be looking forward to serving you again soon! Be well, John

Utila, Honduras
Reviewed 1 week ago

check in was pleasant. my room was decent, lovely bedding and good furnishings. the hallways seemed like they were in the process of being repaired (lots of cracked ceiling, some that had been mudded over) and multiple stains on the carpeting. the hotel was busy the weekend i stayed, with weddings and a nearby trade show; the bar staff seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divenuts
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the feedback. We did have a leak and are repairing the ceiling in the hallway on the 7th floor. I apologize for this and for the poor service received in the bar, this is certainly not how it should be and I will be following up with the team....

337 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: RM519 - RM990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Nova Scotian staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Nova Scotian staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My favorite rooms have a harbour view.”
Travel2plus1, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask to be on the water side to avoid construction noise”
ScottC, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best views are at the rear overlooking the Harbour”
EddieE50, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The odd rooms are better with a view of the harbour”
312jasg, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5