We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westin Nova Scotian

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westin Nova Scotian
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,582: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located just beside the harbour, I was surprised at how soundproof the rooms were. ROOMS are great, but nothing that ''wow''ed us. Very comfortable beds. Coffee machine has starbucks coffee, AMAZING! POOL & JACUZZI are hard to find but worth going to. The hotel also offers a robe so you can just use that in order to get there. RESTAURANT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anouk S
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stay for the first time at this Westin Halifax. Location is great ... walking distance from all the actions and nice restaurants around the water front. Services was great. Regular rooms are small and nice but a bit old. Pictures of the room on the website are nicer than the room you get (I know it is often like that)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing the Westin for your business trip and I do hope you come back the next time you are in Halifax. I appreciate the comments on our historic property, we pride ourselves on great service and a comfortable stay! Be well, John

Ontario
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We started our stay by taking our parents to the "Kiss of Chocolate" Valentines brunch and we had our socks knocked off. We are brunch people and I can not rave enough about all of the staff that were involved with this beautiful meal. You can tell they staff are all very proud and it shows in their presentation and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vera8413
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay and experience. I'm glad our associates had a positive impression on your stay, especially Tori, Danielle, and David as mentioned above! I'm very proud of the team and especially during difficult times like the large storm we just experienced. Hope you had a great Valentines Day! Be well and come...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Expensive room. Good location but we were put in a tiny tiny room above the comedy club so we did t get any sleep due to noise. Tried to have a relaxing bath but the tub was covered in soap scum. Uncomfortable beds and not that clean. Not like most Weston's I have stayed in. We switched to the Prince...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdieno
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the feedback on your stay and I am deeply sorry you did not have a great experience. We pride ourselves on our service and ensuring all guests leave happy and have a wonderful stay. We feel short on this occasion and I would like to hear more about your stay and I can be reached at...

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The westin is in South end Halifax and is close to everything you would want to do. It is on the waterfront and the view is fantastic. It is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant, a bar and best of all a comedy club inside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole J
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, Thank you for the great comments on our Hotel, its amenities and our associates, we really appreciate the feedback and your loyalty! Be well and hope to see you again soon. John

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had high hopes for my stay at this hotel, as it is a reputable hotel chain and I paid a good price for the room. After opening the door to my room, my hopes crashed hard and fast. -the floor was dirty and had crumbs all over it -the room smelled quite musty and paint was chipping off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floralwall
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for letting me know about your experience and I do apologize, this is certainly not a typical guest stay! I would love to connect and hear more about your stay, please email me at john.wilson@thewestinnovascotian.com. Be well, John

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Like a lot of old railway hotels, The Westin Nova Scotian is a nice old grand hotel, updated, clean and modernized, but it's not brand new. I enjoy this type of hotel and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I also ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times and the food was really good, especially the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Popadave
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for staying with us at the historic Westin Nova Scotian and letting us know about your experience. I am happy to hear you had a good stay and hope that we can host you again soon! Be well, John

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay here coincided with the Conservative Leadership convention so our room was not ready on time. The Front Desk staff compensated with a Free Breakfast which was much appreciated. Our room was quite small but very comfortable with all the amenities. We moved into the class of room we booked the next day. Unfortunately, the heat was not controllable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Murray, Thank you for the fantastic feedback on your stay and I do apologize for missing the mark on a few items. Operating a historic property sometimes comes with its challenges. I will let you know that we are scheduled to start a full room renovation this year. Hope to see you again soon! Be well, John

Cape Breton Nova Scotia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My son and fiancé stayed at this hotel Saturday evening and my husband and I visited them. Their room was small and very crammy! The closet was roomier than the bathroom! We were there to babysit for a few hours while they attended their graduation ceremony. When they returned, we decide to go down stairs to the bar for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia_10
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Sylvia, Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your experience. I do apologize for the poor service and assure you this is not typical service for us. I would love to hear more from you and I can be reached at john.wilson@thewestinnovascotian.com. Be well, John

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 2 weeks at the Westin Nova Scotian in Halifax and had a great experience, the staff was amazing and catered to my requests. I was upgraded to a much nicer Harbour view Guest Room on the 8th Floor. The front office manager Jason was great and definitely went above and beyond. Rohid offer great service and recommendations for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Rich, Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on your experience. I am glad you had a great experience and we are looking forward to having you return again. I will pass on your comments to the team and especially Jason and Rohid. Glad they added to your positive experience. Be well, John

331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,591 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: RM477 - RM789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Nova Scotian staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Nova Scotian staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“one side has water views”
 of 5 bubbles Popadave, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floors on Harbour side for the view or on the opposite side for a quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Murray_1066, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner view overlooking Seaport Market.....Great view!!!”
 of 5 bubbles martindI4956JS, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pay the extra for a harbour view room....it is beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles amazingrace, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms ending in '02”
 of 5 bubbles EastCoastTraveler016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5