We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barrington Hotel

1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (157)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#27 of 32 hotels in Halifax
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy a seamless travel experience at The Barrington Hotel. Our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada sits in the downtown's Historic Properties area, conveniently close to Halifax's top attractions. Get to the most popular destinations in the city via the pedway system, and delight in our perfect location near Casino Nova Scotia, Scotiabank Centre and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French
798Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 319
  • 161
  • 72
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Daniel c wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Hotel room was full of hair, the sheets were dirty, the room had a musky smell & the staff on the front desk were very rude Will not be returning. They don’t mention that there is a $250 charge to your card when you book and the person on the counter tried to charge me twice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Plenty of better hotels for a similar price
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Bogardus, Owner at The Barrington Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience and I want to apologize for any cleanliness and service issues you experienced. I suspect that the $250 was a temporary security deposit required if you do not have a credit card and in reviewing transactions over the last 2 weeks, I do not see any deposits that were not refunded upon checkout, so this should have been returned to you. I would like to review issues you experienced and make sure they do not occur in the future. I was unable to find your reservation based on your username, but if you could please reach out to me at mbogardus@silverbirchhotels.com, I would be happy to investigate further. Thank you, Michael Bogardus Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kasey F wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER I Booked hotel in advance, money was already taken from my account. Upon arrival I was told I needed a credit card (I personally don’t have one) offered my boyfriends it was denied because the room was in my name not his although he was staying with me. I offered to pay the deposit in cash, I was told no. Offered a company credit card and because it didn’t have a picture or either of us it wasent accepted. Than they told me to pay for the deposit via debit, I only had cash so rushed over to Scotiabank at 4pm on a Friday.. deposited the cash came back to the hotel only to be told they wouldn’t allow me in and told me to leave the hotel and they were not interested in having me as a guest anymore. I demanded my money and the manager literally giggled and said that’s through Expedia and good luck with that. At this point, I have two young kids that are getting upset and just asking me When are they going to be able to get into the pool. I was floored. I explained that I had received no communication from Expedia or this hotel telling me I had to have a credit card never mind in my name or with a picture attached to the credit card. I was told that nowhere in Halifax would except me without a credit card in my name with a picture on it. At this point my kids are literally crying At this point I was furious! They would not take another credit card that we had for a business account because it didn’t have a picture on it and then after telling me that I could go and deposit my cash and pay Visa debit and did that dragging my kids with me, they refused to let me in and then told me that I was not going to be excepted into the hotel no matter what I did and I was asked to leave. it was completely embarrassing Having my two kids with me after travelling over an hour to get to this destination with a whole “exciting” night planned for my kids , never mind the parking I had to walk 10 minutes from the parking garage with a bunch of bags just to get to the place. I was not welcomed at all. They are not friendly at all. It was a completely embarrassing experience. I had literally stayed there seven months ago, used a different credit card that wasn’t in my name and that was fine. I have never been treated with such disrespect and I have stayed in close to 100 hotels in my life. Currently sitting in a holiday inn that didn’t ask me for a credit card at all, nicer room and hotel, extremely friendly and atmosphere is a 180* from “establishment” Highly recommend you do not stay here. Save yourself the headache
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Bogardus, Owner at The Barrington Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello kaseyfields, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and based on a number of concerning statements, I spent time investigating and following up on your review. While I can see we were unable to check you in to the hotel, the version of events outlined is different than the result of my investigation. We are legally required to verify photo identification that matches the name on the reservation and we do require photo identification for any credit card used for a room. This is outlined at during the booking and pre-arrival communication, along with policy information on Expedia where you booked. When we are unable to do this, we could not verify that you were the right occupant or cardholder, and could not check-in the reservation. I want to apologize for the frustration you experienced and I will work with the team to ensure that any customer service meets expectations around empathy and professionalism. Thank you again for your candid feedback and please reach out to me if I can assist with this or anything else related to the hotel. Thank you, Michael Bogardus Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pamdent17 wrote a review Jan 2024
Yarmouth, Canada2 contributions
I’m here now and I can tell you that it isn’t the most comfortable motel! I’ve been to many and this one is the 1 st time I’ve left a bad review, to start with the parking is in a underground parking and then you need to walk a bit with your luggage and whatever you have, the room is freezing and it is really, really it’s good old time to heat up, the grandkids went to the pool and that is also freezing…… the hotel was Delta Barrington, a few years ago, and not anything in the rooms have changed, the desk and table stands are all beat up, not much more I can comment at the moment….for sure, we won’t be returning or even suggesting to stay here!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GreenJT wrote a review Dec 2023
Lunenburg, Canada24 contributions9 helpful votes
Love this hotel. Staff were amazing on check in, lobby is clean and fresh looking. The room was great, a bit dated, but bed was comfortable and clean. Nice big TV and hooked up to hotel functions and information which is always great. A few minor things, one lamp missing a lightbulb, could have used a better vacuum job, must have been a Christmas party guest there from the night before as there were some sequins from a dress or something on the floor. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Toilet seat had a repair on it, was thinking it’s only a small thing, but would be cheap to replace and not have any issue. Super convenient location for downtown and Scotiabank Arena. Casino, walk enclose walkways so weather or traffic not an issue. The hotel itself could use a refresh, the atmosphere comes across as a bit dated, but that said, no complaints and certainly worth the stay. Overall, I give it a 8.5 of 10. And you will certainly see me again. Keep being you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Enter the Scotia Square parking from the Albemarle Street entrance by Scotiabank Centre, its...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
A. Thomas wrote a review Dec 2023
Toronto, Canada41 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Extremely overpriced, but the location is incredible. Perfect spot right downtown within walking distance to everything. This hotel gives “Titanic” vibes, in a sense that it is very dated and in need of a renovation, but I will say it’s also very warm, welcoming and clean. I would stay again, but just wish the price was more reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Donna N wrote a review Dec 2023
6 contributions4 helpful votes
The Barrington Hotel management was 100% irresponsible when they did not honor a reservation for which they held my money for 3 full months - and then, after not providing the service, held it for another month until my credit card company reimbursed me. The link for making reservations makes it seem as though you are making it directly through the hotel, but it actually goes to a 3rd party whose name I was never able to ascertain. My attempts to reach hotel customer service went unanswered for weeks. They never did communicate with me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't trust them.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
margie smith wrote a review Nov 2023
New Germany, Canada28 contributions38 helpful votes
My husband and i and another couple spent November 25th at this hotel to attend a concert. First complaint, they sent me email explaining bout parking. It was very confusing to say the least, power was out that day, so we had to park in the dark, didnt have a clue where we were, or where we were supposed to go. Anyhow we ended up walking from the parkade to the hotel, was quite a walk. My suggestion, get a shuttle bus, to bus people back and forth. Next complaint, we went to go for dinner, so we stopped in the restaurant at the hotel. The server said we needed a reservation, i said we are guests of tge hotel, and there were empty tables, she said sorry, was not impressed. Lastly, the lady at the desk said our parking was taken care of, with power being off, we couldn't get a parking ticket to get it validated. She said when we leave to push help button and we would be taken care of, nope had to pay 12 dollars, had to tell him where we stayed, our room numbers. Other then this, room was clean, and ladies behind desk were friendly. Dont think will stay here again. Sorry
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tour02700690573 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Outside the location, I have nothing good to say about this place. I came back to my room after a long day to discover I had stains over my bed sheets. I had to approach the front desk twice to either get someone to change the bed or give me another room. They eventually sent someone up, who I assumed by the way he was dressed, security, who told me he was new and didn't know what to do, so gave me the sheets. I then had to change the sheets myself. Upon check out, I told them of my experience, the front desk said sorry and then proceeded to hand me my bill in full. I also responded to their review and feedback request with the details of my stay, and again, their response was sorry, hope to see you again soon. The hotel is old and outdated, but that's fine, as long as it's clean. This whole place looks dungy and dirty. My co-worker, had a similar bad experience when she asked the cleaning lady for some glasses and she handed her dirty glasses and told her to wash them. This hotel has since been taken off our company list, as no one needs to go through this experience. I understand why they lost their Delta status.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sandra q wrote a review Oct 2023
6 contributions
SHAME SHAME SHAME - I was told by hotels.com that I could cancel my reservation until 4 pm the day I was to arrive. I starting calling the night before and finally got a live person at 11:00 am the day I was travelling. I was refused a cancellation.........I will never stay here.....I will never book with hotels.com........STAY AWAY PEOPLE - 70 years old and ripped off by a Halifax Hotel....sure hope you are proud of yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: STAY AWAY
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mackenzie Papineau wrote a review Oct 2023
Paris, Canada7 contributions8 helpful votes
The Barrington Hotel is perfectly located, on the main street halfway between the Citadel and the waterfront. Moreover it is on the pedway which offers weather proof access up and down the slope. A serviceable restaurant is on site. Public areas are functional. Check in and out efficient. The room was spacious enough for an urban property. However, the room was not heated and there were no blankets; furniture was shabby; there was no microwave; cleanliness was adequate though not at the detail level; the beds were wholly unsatisfactory. Our room was where mattresses are sent to die on beds noisy and geriatric. Halifax is a great visit; The Barrington Hotel did nothing to add to our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Spend more on a better hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Halifax area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 432 - RM 565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
delta barrington halifax, delta barrington hotel halifax, delta halifax, halifax delta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityHalifaxSouth End / Downtown Halifax
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BARRINGTON HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 203 Photos (Halifax, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Barrington Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Barrington Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maritime Museum of the Atlantic (0.4 km), Art Gallery of Nova Scotia (0.2 km), and St. Paul's Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Barrington Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Barrington Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Barrington Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Barrington Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Barrington Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gio, The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar, and The Old Triangle Irish Ale House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Barrington Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Barrington Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Halifax.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Barrington Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Barrington Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Barrington Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.