We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scotsman Inn

Share
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (17)
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (15)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The hotel was built in 1865 as a family home and business. It is a historic listed 4 story brick and stone building located in the heart of Pictou; yet only 2 minutes walk to the water front, museums, the ship Hector and the marina. Shops and restaurants are right outside the front door. The rooms are furnished with period furniture, artwork, and hand made quilts. All rooms have full bathrooms en suite, free WiFi, and flat screen cable TV. Our rates include a continental breakfast, Free WiFi, and free private off street parking. We are happy to help with anything to make your stay more enjoyable. From dinner reservations to route planning. Just ask! Check in is between 5pm and 8pm
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Wheelchair Access
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
30
19
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
19
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator chain hotels the room was extremely clean continental breakfast historic building street noise a great stay nova scotia great hosts next morning other guests cathy sandy sportsman history suitcases charm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night and enjoyed the easy going hospitality of the owner. The property is a heritage building that has been completely modernized inside. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Excellent teas served...More

Thank ingon399
Response from ScotsmanCanada, Owner at The Scotsman InnResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for such a great review. We are glad you appreciate all the artwork. We really enjoy interacting with our guests and telling them about the history of the paintings, the building and Pictou Thank you for staying with us Sandy

Reviewed 8 October 2018

After an easy hour and forty-five minute drive up from Halifax and a long day in the local historical archives it was a pleasure to finally meet Sandy Best of the Scotsman Inn. He had been very accommodating throughout the reservation process early last spring....More

Thank Roger M
Response from ScotsmanCanada, Owner at The Scotsman InnResponded 10 October 2018

Hi Roger Thank you so much for such a great review! Cathy and I believe customer service is everything and if we can help our guests have a more enjoyable and easy time we do our best to do so. Or job is to take...More

Reviewed 24 September 2018

I wish I could tell you about the rooms or the view. I didn't get the opportunity. What I did get was yelled at, attempted humiliation, self-congratulatory "graciousness" on behalf of a rude, egotistical keeper of the keys who denied myself and my friends entry...More

Thank soapgal
Response from ScotsmanCanada, Owner at The Scotsman InnResponded 25 September 2018

When 3 rude ladies show up at 10:30 pm at a B&B, not a full service hotel, demanding to be let in while we are in bed you are correct I was angry. When I asked why didn't they have the courtesy to call us...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Thank you Sandy & Cathy, we had an amazing visit at the Scotsman. Beautiful space and outstanding service. Sandy had some great recommendations for restaurants and activities to do. Cathy makes a superb breakfast. Thank you again for a great stay - we will definitely...More

Thank Lizbabiz
Response from ScotsmanCanada, Owner at The Scotsman InnResponded 28 August 2018

Thank You I am glad we made your stay a good one. Cathy and I believe customer service is everything. Plus a clean room, a comfortable bed, and a nice breakfast. We want our guests to really enjoy Pictou and everything around this great little...More

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We had been driving through PEI on our way to N.S. And had originally decided to take the ferry to N.S. But decided to drive along the shore instead. We were looking for small Mom and Pop B&Bs as we had just stayed in a...More

Thank anvilentertainment
Response from ScotsmanCanada, Owner at The Scotsman InnResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you so much for this awesome review! Cathy and I believe customer service is everything and we wont our guests to experience all the great things in and around Pictou . Thank you for staying with us and I hope we see you again...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Scotsman Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Not all rooms are air conditioned."
caroly505
4 Aug 2018
Read review
"From what we saw any room is good."
davidlmitchell22
3 Aug 2018
Read review
"Just talk with or ask Sandy and Cathy; very accommodating!"
danrS1666UY
7 Jul 2018
Read review
"Rooms at the back are likely to be quieter."
0IanM
24 Sep 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaPictou
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing