We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wishing Well Historic Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Wishing Well Historic Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A great place to stay! It beats a lot of the big chain hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Coordination was seamless for check-in and check-out. The moment we got there our host Chris had a thorough introduction to the place, told us where to get our refreshments, where the keys are, where to go around Niagara-on-the-lake etc. The location is less than... More 

Helpful?
Thank meredith d
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

First the good part. This small cottage was clean, and had many small extras in their decoration that made it attractive. Unfortunately, there were many short comings. The back door is permanently locked shut, making the unit a potential fire trap. The cottage was described as having a barbecue, and yes, there was one. Unfortunately, it was not functional. Our... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Murray M

Travellers are raving about these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Very private and comfortable heritage cottage rental close to downtown Niagara on the Lake. It's a very unique cottage and the cottage is filled with hand crafted furniture, in fact 2 of the fireplace mantle pieces are from Shaw Festival Plays. I love the original pine floors, windows and doors from Circa 1871 that greet you as you first enter... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyroma2
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Arrived in the dark, got in, light switch just ahead on the wall in the hall beside bedroom door opposite lounge door, nope that's the lounge light switch, ah hall light behind door. Bed looks great, king size, nearly 12 hours traveling, hit the sack, end posts of bed leaning in quite dramatically. Will the bed collapse, nope lumps of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank afd888
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2016

My husband and I wanted to stay somewhere beautiful for our 30th wedding anniversary and we found it at "wishing Well" Even in the middle of winter the garden was stunning-imagine a walk in a natural reserve and you understand.The cottage itself was a dream-I felt completely at home as soon as I walked in the door.Everything was there for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose M
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

We visited in between the winter holidays. Is situated approximate to the historical village. This B&B is rented as whole house. Feeling very cozy comfortable and warm. Cute vintage decor, fluffy pillows, full kitchen. Will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank princessMilena
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We had a great stay at this lovely cottage. The beds were so comfortable and we appreciated having a full kitchen to cook our meals. We used the BBQ in the back yard which was handy plus the (Gennair) BBQ in the kitchen. I loved the garden, so unusual I thought I was up in North Ontario and there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank jtgsystems
shropshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We stayed for two nights and for the price, $200 each night for two bedrooms, two bathrooms was fair value. The bedlinen and beds were very comfortable and the towels good quality. The house appeared clean and there was plenty of hot water and hot air. I would suggest the owners do a declutter. A dining table that seats 10... More 

Helpful?
Thank shropshire
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I rented this cottage as it was one of the few available with two bathrooms for my husband & me to host our two friends from Ontario for our trip to Niagara On The Lake. Although it was nice to have fresh coffee, tea, cream and fruit supplied upon arrival, we were disappointed in most of the cottage's other features.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peach-Woman59
Kingsgrove
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We had a memorable time in this house, but not for the right reasons. The house is very poorly kept, even the fake flowers are dying. The futon bed was old and uncomfortable. The house was furnished in a particularly eclectic style. If I had checked these reviews before booking, we would not have stayed here.

Helpful?
3 Thank AmyGibson1234
MariaR1234, Owner at Wishing Well Historic Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs Gibson for spending the time to review my property. I'm just a little confused by your review because when you entered the cottage and you were on the phone with my manager, Chris, you expressed that you found the cottage to be "charming" and that you found the cottage comfortable. Also we advised you to let us... More 

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
441 reviews
1.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,132 reviews
1.1 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,773 reviews
1.1 km away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
518 reviews
0.9 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Historic Cottage Rental has all the comforts of a bed and breakfast and hotel accomodation with the both the privacy and perfect location. Situated on a quiet tree-lined street just three blocks to shopping, restaurants, and pubs. Our cottage rental is centrally located in the theatre district "a stone's throw" from the Royal George and Courthouse theatres and a short stroll from the Shaw Festival Theatre. Park in your private driveway lange enough for three cars and walk to the main area of town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wishing Well Historic Cottage

Address: 156 Mary St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: RM353 - RM1,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wishing Well Historic Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wishing Well Historic Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wishing Well Historic Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all lovely and face the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyroma2, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Maria will set you up!”
 of 5 bubbles jtgsystems, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The photos do not tell the true picture.”
 of 5 bubbles wlbarnard, 30 Aug 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay