We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Save
Share
48 John St P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0 Canada
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Sip & Savour in the Gardens
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$306
FindHotelUS$306
eDreamsUS$306
Agoda.comUS$306
EtripUS$306
TripadvisorUS$306
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1559)
Room & Suite (211)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Updated 09/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 16 hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, ranked one of the top 25 spas in Canada by the Spa Association of Canada 2016. The Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Temptations
3171Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,091
  • 636
  • 250
  • 132
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Claudia D wrote a review 28 Sep
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Paid a visit to pillar & post with family for one night, and had a wonderful experience. Right from the beginning, the staff were very kind and helpful. The hot springs/spa service were amazing, and same to the pool and sauna. Room was clean, comfortable, and stylish as well. Plus our view didn’t hurt our experience at all. The grounds themselves are stunning as well. All in all - can’t wait to be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded yesterday
Dear Claudia D, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. The 'Perfect Reset' - that is a great description and exactly what we want you to feel about your time with us! We love to hear that our staff set the stage for such an enjoyable stay and then all the amenities followed suit. Our team works very hard keeping the gardens on property looking so beautiful, we appreciate you highlighting this special feature. We look forward to welcoming you back for another reset soon! Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs. Austin wrote a review Aug 2021
Alliston, Canada10 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We celebrated our 3rd anniversary at Pillar and Post and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the ambiance was amazing! Not only were we and our anniversary acknowledged at check in but we received a beautiful card and surprise when we entered our room. Thank you Pillar and Post for making our 3rd anniversary one to remember.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Roxanne wrote a review 22 Sep
Niagara Falls, Canada1 contribution
My husband surprised me with a stay at the Pillar and Post for our 40th anniversary. Everything was fabulous. I had a massage and pedicure. The staff in every area of the hotel were friendly and helpful. We had the 3 course dinner, the best steak I've ever tasted, then the breakfast in the morning made our stay that much better. Can't wait to return. Would recommend this to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear FellowTraveler568320, I love that we were part of your 40th anniversary surprise, what a wonderful gift from your husband! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you were able to take part in all the special aspects we have to offer. So fabulous! I share your sentiment regarding the steak at the Cannery, it truly is the very best. We can't wait for you to return as well, I do hope you'll make this your destination for every anniversary! Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew G wrote a review 20 Sep
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Pleasant check in experience. Room ready a bit early. Nice large room with jetted tub and fireplace. Comfy bed and robes. Great sunset swim complete with pina coladas from Vintages Lounge. Staff was able to accommodate our request for a late check out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AGibsonGuitarGuy, Thank you for mentioning your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. From check-in to check-out it sounds as though we delivered a great getaway for you, which is so wonderful to hear. The sunset swim with pina coladas is the perfect way to bring in the night - we're happy you were able to enjoy all the relaxing amenities available. We do hope you will make the Pillar and Post your special retreat again! Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joan J wrote a review 20 Sep
1 contribution
Loved our room . Nice and cool. Very clean and very quiet. Looking forward to breakfast. Very peaceful stay, which is what I needed. Looking forward to the gardens . The massage was very relaxing . Hot springs spa was wonderful. So nice to have such a beautiful place to close to home. Shuttle service was great. Our driver Tony was so personable. Staff were so pleasant and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Mobility issues should ask for ground level room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded yesterday
Dear joanjV9384NV, Thank you for all of your lovely remarks regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased to know that we were able to provide you with the peace and quiet you were needing, that is the best compliment! It's great that you were able to make use of the convenience of our shuttle service, and thank you for your special mention of Tony, he is a wonderful asset to our team. I will make sure he sees your kind shoutout to him. Since you are near to us, we hope you'll make the trip back very soon! Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue S wrote a review 19 Sep
Kingston, Canada290 contributions206 helpful votes
Our room (133) which was at the back of the hotel, was substandard and not worth the price. The room had numerous problems; 1) musty, 2) dirty (the desk chair had copious amounts of dust), 3) the furniture was chipped,4) the walls had popcorn ceilings and walls, 5) there was no fan in the bathroom,5) TV - poor quality picture,6) trim was chipped. The room looked like it hadn't been renovated in years. To top it off, housekeeping didn't come on our second day. When we checked out, it was explained that housekeeping was only available "upon request". Wow! Given the price of this hotel, we expected housekeeping would have been included. If that is how P & P run their business, then that should have been explained at check-in. The gorgeous gardens and complimentary shuttle didn't make up for the disappointing room and lack of housekeeping. We won't return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 133
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sue S, We appreciate hearing from you regarding your recent stay at the Pillar and Post. All feedback is valuable to us and please be assured, we will address your concerns regarding room 133. I sincerely apologize that you had such a negative experience, including that we did not communicate our current housekeeping procedures to you upon arrival. In regards to that, we are doing our best to accommodate all comfort levels of our guests by not automatically entering rooms, however that should have been made known to you. If you haven't spoken to a member of our Management team directly about your stay, I welcome you to do so. I do hope you will reconsider and join us again that we may provide you with a room that won't disappoint. Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelLover712 wrote a review 17 Sep
Oakville, Canada8 contributions7 helpful votes
We could not get into either of the other two Vintage hotels, so we opted for Pillar and Post. Unfortunately they were also quite full, so we were assigned room 136 which is in a separate building from the main. The room was dark, musty, and even walking across the carpeted floor felt damp. The finishings (tile, trim, carpet, lighting etc) were all in bad shape and in bad need of updating. The mattress was the worst we have ever seen in a hotel. Overall, the price was high, but the quality was low. We were quite disappointed with the condition of the entire place, and having been there before (20+ years ago), it is obvious that no updating has taken place and they are badly needed! On a positive note, the staff were great, the restaurant was good. We will not be returning to P&P.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not accept rooms in the adjunct building where room 136 is.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear TravelLover712, Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pillar and Post, your comments are very important to us. I sincerely apologize that your room was not to the high standards that we endeavor to deliver to all of our guests. We assign rooms based on what type was booked by the guest and if we are full, switching to a different type may not be possible. However, we do always hope you will inform us of any problems while you're here and we will do all we can to find solutions. Please be assured, all of your observations of room 136 are noted and we will work to make improvements. Thank you for highlighting our great staff and your dining experience, that is greatly appreciated. If you would like to contact me directly regarding your experience, I would be happy to hear from you. Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reg W wrote a review 16 Sep
Ottawa, Canada159 contributions216 helpful votes
You all have read about just how classy a resort this is. Definitely one of the very best in Canada. So, I will add only a few details, and yea, a few admonishments, which in no way reduce my rating.. First, a great trip begins BEFORE you arrive. Alicia went that extra mile. She booked us three nights in the same room. It took months because they were booked to capacity. But, Alicia did not just promise. She followed the file and made it happen. I am disabled and asked for a room near the pool, ad Guess what, Alicia made it so, If that is not enough, we asked for an early checkin. Almost impossible in a fully booked hotel with a pool. And, you guessed it . Alicia mad it happen. What could be done better: Duh ? Almost nothing... Small details. 1. There should be a shuttle to the Shaw festival.. even in collaboration with others. Almost all guests want to go there. 2. Their restaurant main course is roast beef. Among the best I ever have had, PLEASE, PLEASE, on the menu suggest wonderful Niagara wines... NOT AMERICAN. Show Off our wonderful wines; thats why many of us come. 3. Dear Chef: At this rime of year, how DARE you not include fresh Niagara peaches in your fruit salad ?! (Note the Sheraton Fallsview down the road uses *** Canned ?! peaches. If that is the worst I van say, my best compliment is COMING BACK NEXT YEAR !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for Alicia. The consummate reservations manager
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Reg W, Your kind words are truly appreciated, thank you for taking the time to share some details with us here. There is certainly a lot of behind the scenes work that goes into ensuring our guests have an exceptional stay, and it's wonderful that Alicia was able to line everything up for you just as you hoped for. She will love to read your warm commendation and I will make sure it reaches her! Thank you for your constructive feedback as well, it's always important to know ways we can improve. We do have a complimentary, on-demand shuttle that can most definitely take guests to the various theatres in town. When you visit us again, please come to the front desk and tell us when you're ready to head to a show, we will get you there! We try to offer a variety of wines that will appeal to many tastes and do have a wonderful selection of Niagara wines on the menu. Perhaps we could put more of a spotlight on them as, of course, they are our favorites as well, thanks for the suggestion! And, you're right, fresh peaches should be a main feature at this time of the year. Another detail we can focus on, much appreciated. It's wonderful to know you are making plans to visit us again next year, we look forward to seeing you then! Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BJanes wrote a review 13 Sep
Ontario, Canada5 contributions
Husband and I went for a night, and had the best time the hotel is beautiful, very clean and service was great! We loved all the amenities, the hot spring and the indoor and outdoor pools. Great you can stay there the entire stay if you wish and is so relaxing. If you wish to go out they have a great shuttle that will take you downtown and back! We would highly recommended! 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear brittanyburke1991, Thank you for posting your wonderful comments and rating following your stay with us! It's great that you were able to have such a relaxing time at the pools and hot springs, that is always what we want our guests to experience. Our shuttle is an excellent option as finding parking in busy downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake can be a challenge. We are so happy we could add to your stay by making that easier for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future getaway! Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anjali M wrote a review 12 Sep
4 contributions
+1
Amazing place to stay with clean and sanitized room. The staff was helpful throughout our stay. Best getaway for couples. Hot spring and spa are the must to visit. The 100 Fountain Spa has great services to offer and they were so professional. Special shoutout to Marta Campbell as she made our aromatherapy experience so smooth and hassle free. Would surely visit all places by Vintage Hotels
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mandi Blair, Guest Services / Front Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Anjali M, We are so happy to hear your birthday visit was amazing! You are right, the hotel does have many great features that make it the perfect getaway for couples, especially the couples massages and hot springs. It sounds like you were celebrating in many wonderful ways. Martha has been with us for many years and is truly an expert at what she does. I have already spoken to her about your special mention and she was delighted to hear of your kind words. Thank you! We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Pillar and Post and to all our other properties as well. Kindest Regards, Mandi Blair Guest Service Manager Pillar and Post Inn & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$248 - US$382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pillar and post niagara, pillar and post hotel, the pillar and post hotel, inn pillar post, pillar & post hotel, pillar post inn, pillar & post niagara lake
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNiagara-on-the-Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include BeauChapeau Hat Shop (0.8 km), Niagara River Recreation Trail (0.8 km), and Niagara on the Lake Heritage District (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Masaki Sushi, Il Gelato di Carlotta, and Ginger Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Niagara-on-the-Lake.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.