We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Charles Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Charles Inn for our 12th Wedding Anniversary. We were greeted promptly by Kim Lin and shown our room. Room 4. Absolutely beautiful. Romantic. Private veranda. We had a wonderful bottle of Ontario sparkling wine compliments of the hotel along with a hand written note. We felt very special. We freshened up and went downstairs for dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mezzopiano62
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm thrilled that you had such a memorable anniversary with us! With its private verandah the Richardson room is definitely a guest favourite in the summer months. It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy your special dinner with us as well; I will be sure to pass along your kind comments...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My husband and I stayed for the night while attending a concert. The room was nice but a bit weathered in some areas, which I guess is to be expected given that the building is over 200 years old. Since we were visiting during a peak weekend in summer, the rate was quite high given the quality of the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Julia D, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. One of the great things about the Charles is that with only 12 beautiful rooms each of our guests can receive superb and personalized attention. I'm thrilled to know that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your night by arranging shuttle service...

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We were a group of 8 and had a reservation in the front dining room. Very lovely. Tables are well spaced so even at such a large table you could hear everyone speaking. Servers are terrific as is food. We arrived at 5:30pm so we would have plenty of time to get to the Festival Theatre for an 8pm show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you doug100worth for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Charles Hotel & HobNob Restaurant. We are a popular spot before theatre and I'm happy that we were able to provide you the memorable start to your evening that we are known for. Coming in at 5:30 is the perfect time to avoid rushing...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 August 2016

When my husband and I decided to go to Niagara Falls for a few days, we had never heard of Niagara on the Lake. Fortunately a friend suggested going there and we were so happy we did! We stayed at the Charles Hotel, which is so unique and lovely with a first class staff. Our room was so comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahChatt
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so happy that your friend suggested Niagara-on-the-Lake and that you were able to stay with us. Our staff pride themselves on being able to offer consistent "first class" service to every guest we have the opportunity to take care of and I'm glad your experience was no exception. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy a wonderful meal...

Reviewed 10 August 2016

This property is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. We were greeted by Kyle at the front desk, who showed us our room, which was amazing. We ate dinner in the little pub as we wanted to watch the Toronto Blue Jays game, food was great. Wished we could have stayed longer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Jennifer O, thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I'm happy to know that your enjoyed your guest room as much as you did your dinner while watching the game! We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles soon - and hopefully for...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Wonderful room and hotel! We stayed in The Richardson room and cannot wait to return. Kyle at the front desk really makes you feel welcome and is a huge asset to the hotel. Wine on the patio in the evening and breakfast on the veranda....delightful! Perfect stay Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJA67
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello HJA67, thank you for the glowing review of your experience with us. It is a great feeling to know that we were able to make you feel at home here. We genuinely enjoy assisting our guests plan out their stay and suggesting activities, winery tours and recommending dining experiences; I'm very happy to know that we were able to...

East China, Michigan
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My wife and I recently spent five days for our 50th Anniversary at the Charles Inn and could not have been more pleased. Service by the staff was excellent and the food at the Hob Nob restaurant was superb. It is a small, historic property updated with every convenience, on the main street just two blocks beyond the hubbub of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frogytg41
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello frogytg41 & thank you for your lovely review of the Charles Hotel. I'm thrilled to know that we were able to help you celebrate your 50th Anniversary in such a memorable way. All of our staff here take great pride in being able to provide the best service possible both in the hotel and our HobNob Restaurant. We wish...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The Charles is a block from the busy shopping strip: perfect for access with serenity. The highlight was the beautiful second floor porches overlooking garden parterres. Peaceful!! Good for reading and thought.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgiddle
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the succinct review of your stay with us. You are very correct that our location and the beautiful gardens make Charles and ideal spot for the those looking for rest and relaxation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Niagara-on-the-lake and wish you all the best until then.

Vancouver
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

From the moment of check in we knew this was going to be a great experience. The Charles Inn is an exceptional property. A historic home rich in history, but completely updated to meet the needs of today's customers. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Garret checked us in and his customer service was 5 star. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VancouverElizabeth
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello VancouverElizabeth, thank you for the lovely review of your visit with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about Gareth; he will be very pleased to know that you appreciated his warm welcoming and professional care upon your arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Charles Hotel and wish you all the...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2016

From a far The Charles Hotel or is it The Charles Inn looks like a grand lady properly ensconced on a street named “Queen”. Up close there are a few cracks in the veneer. The staff is superb from check in to departure-Gareth, Kyle, Oliver, Stephanie to name a few, forgive me dear lady who graciously helped me with my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Commonsense8
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Commonsense8, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they genuinely work the hardest to ensure that each guest has a positive and memorable experience at the Charles. I appreciate your comments about the decor of the room, I have passed...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Petite Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Premier Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
416 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,133 reviews
0.9 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,476 reviews
1.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,326 reviews
1.0 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: RM572 - RM1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Charles Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again if staying during a hot summer day may want to get a room with limited exposure to road noise”
 of 5 bubbles 13garys, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room # 4, the Richardson room was outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles 582colemanr, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher priced rooms include breakfast, well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 636MikeD, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“upper level room with a non-screened in room gives unobstructed views of the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles barbaraayoub, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Safari room is accessed by stairs and shares a large patio on the second floor with another room.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnB40, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay