We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 430: English reviews
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I come to Niagara on the Lake two or three times per year on wine buying expeditions. This time we were only stopping for one night on our way home from Toronto. We usually stay in the middle of town, but this time we decided to try the Colonel Butler because it is a short walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hyfly1
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And thank you for giving the Colonel Butler Inn a try for your visits to Niagara on the Lake. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Willowcakes is a great stop when visiting Niagara on the Lake. Besides our breakfast, we also feature wi-fi access and use of our fitness...

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The tour was wonderful, the hotel staff were excellent. I booked this hotel for my friends & myself, & I was embarrassed when I saw how dirty & scuffed up all the doors to rooms were, & the carpet was filthy & in poor shape. The rest of the room was good. I went to the vending machine to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfriel2016
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations but I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall. We are actually painting the guest room doors and throughout the property right now. The vending machine does work so I apologize that there weren't many items...

Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When visiting Niagara on the Lake, I highly recommend the Colonel Butler Inn. It is clean, close to the shops and entertainment and they treat us like old family friends! From their first welcoming smile and the special cookies they have waiting for you to the sincere" thanks for staying with us, please come again". It is a home away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chap H
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you much for your kind words! One of the benefits of having a small hotel is being able to connect with guests more. And we are very fortunate here to have a team that loves what they do and making our place feel like a home away from home. We hope you'll be able to stay with us again!...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here a few times and it is okay. Definitely dated and could use some modernizing. For the price you pay might be nice if it looked the part. Staff is friendly and breakfast is good. Has a timmies across the street which is nice and not too far from town and wineries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that you choose to stay with us when visiting Niagara on the Lake so I'm sorry that your return visit didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we will be doing a number of updates over the winter months so we hope that you'll come stay...

Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are awesome. So friendly and helpful. Made us feel right at home. Room was spotless and offered all necessary amenities. Beds were very comfortable and there were no noise issues. We could actually open the window. It was fresh and completely enjoyable. Breakfast was usual hotel fare but the kitchen staff made the difference. Apples picked that morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Toronto
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Colonel Butler for 2 nights this weekend and other than a minor issue with the room rate (which was resolved quickly), everything was great. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the room was comfortable and breakfast was good. We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzeyq
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suzey, thank you for staying with us again, we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit and if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please don't hesitate to let us know. Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our Niagara on the Lake one night getaway was fabulous. The BW Colonel Butler was perfect. We had a nice cozy King Suite including fireplace, jetted tub on the main floor. Quiet, cozy, clean rooms with very comfortable bed. All Staff were extremely nice and welcoming with special thanks to Penny at the front desk. Free ample parking & good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veets63
Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for one night while doing a wine country tour. We took the fireplace suite which was clean and comfortable. Check in and out was quick and easy. Breakfast was pretty basic but okay. A little pricey for the overall experience, but, nothing to complain about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillQ496
Davidsonville, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way from DC to Sudbury with our dog. Upon checkin, we received a thoughtful gift bag for Niya with a toy, doggie doodoo bags, and milk bone treats. In the room was a dog bed and food and water bowls. Beware: there is only ONE room set aside for guests with pets. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sactosunny
Southern Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We decided to do a last minute weekend away in Niagara on the Lake. Beautiful fall weekend. We are Best Western Rewards members so the rate was a little more reasonable in a town where the weekend prices go way up. Very pleasant welcome at the front desk. No elevator but a quick offer to help with our luggage. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OptiBill2002

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
12.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,160 reviews
0.7 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,777 reviews
1.1 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,326 reviews
0.9 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
416 reviews
1.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: RM395 - RM867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Canandaigua

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a lot of stuff, ask for a main floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles S533CHlindam, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are bigger and nicer but standard rooms are good too”
 of 5 bubbles OptiBill2002, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevators, so if disabled request ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles JanSim2014, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor. I don't think there is an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles JudyB528, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Inn doesn't have an elevator keep that in mind while booking room. We stayed on the first floor it was quiet and close to parking lot..”
 of 5 bubbles LisaC743, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay