We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westin Ottawa

Show Prices
#5 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin Ottawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,800: English reviews
Delta,British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Westin from January 4-8 th. Our room was on the 21st floor with a beautiful view of the city. The bedding was comfortable and warm. The bathroom had a huge shower but the lighting was poor. The room was clean except for the leftover confetti on the floor from a prior party! I enjoyed how it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raingirl4
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I cannot say enough about the way my sisters and I were treated this weekend at the Westin- Ottawa. Right from the get-go, we were greeted with a smile and a friendly early check in. Everyone that we dealt with, from the valet parking attendants to the reception to the caretaking staff were welcoming, friendly and ready to assist. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoFord
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear LoFord, Thank you for reviewing our hotel! It's very special that you chose our hotel for such an important weekend with your sisters. I am delighted that you had an excellent stay and that our team provided you with welcoming and friendly service. You can be sure that Jonathan, Barbara, and Phil will be recognized for their assistance. The...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed at this Westin a number of times and usually love it. However, not this time. My only requests when I check in (I travel a lot) are to be away from the elevator and as high as possible. This time I was given a room on the lowest floor, next to the elevator with a window staring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caseycatkids
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear caseycatkids, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. It's our goal to accommodate all guest requests as best we can, and we are very sorry that your request was not met. Unfortunately during high occupancy times, room preference requests/room change requests cannot always be made. I have sent...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First time i stayed in a Westin. What a nice hotel. This hotel is close to everything by walk. We parked the car and we walked all around. From our arrival to our last day, all people working there are very helpful. Now the room we had was large, nice and we had a nice view. It was quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mad2013
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Mad2013, Thank you for your feedback! I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and that our team provided you with helpful service. We hope you had time to explore our beautiful capital city. There are so many great restaurants, shops, and sites to see! I've passed your comments along to our team for review, thank...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What more can you ask for than a great location and nice rooms? This hotel recently underwent a major renovation and it paid-off! The only criticism is that he new elevator system is strange - very strange, and while i figured it out, unfortunately during the stay I had to help 3 different people to use the elevators. Also, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle I
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Kyle I, Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing along your comments to our team. We are sorry for any inconvenience our elevator system may have caused. To give you some history on our elevators, we modernized them with intentions of exceeding all industry standards....

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This modern clean hotel is centrally located in the city. You can easily park your car and walk to the surrounding market place and museums and the hotel is attached to the Rideau Centre a large shopping mall. There is skating on the canal in winter so don't forget to bring a pair or rent them from one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 39Cocoa
Reviewed 1 week ago

John in service express never fails to exceed my expectation. His friendly demeanor, and his desire to exceed expectations truly makes a difference. Very impressed! I try to stay here every time I am in the city!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajay S
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Ajay S, Thank you for your feedback regarding John in service express. You can be sure that he will be recognized for his service and your kind words. We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've stayed at the property years ago a few times and stayed this time around for a weekend in January 2017. The hotel is centrally located connected to the Rideau Centre Shopping Mall and about 25 minutes by bus 97 from airport to the door. The front desk agent Frederique was very friendly and professional. It was a seemless check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanJAD
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear CanJAD, Thank you for your feedback! We'd like to congratulate you once again on your new nephew/niece, what a great reason for travel! I am delighted that you had an excellent stay with us and that our team made you feel welcomed and at home! You can be sure that they will be recognized for their service. I'd also...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay over New Year's Eve at the Westin. They are simply in a. Lass of their own. From check-in to check-out and all in between the experience was outstanding. We love spending New Year's Eve downtown and there is no better option than the Westin. A New tradition has been born

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DekkersTravels
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear DekkersTravels, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your New Year's Eve downtown. We look forward to seeing you again, what a great new tradition! Be well, Ross M General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel when soccer player aguero from argentina was staying here to play soccer U20! it was amazing ad ever since then i always stay at the westin because the service is always great and the rooms are always top noch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithMeTV
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Carla M, Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that our service has brought you back time and again. We are grateful for your patronage and hope to see you soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager

714 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (489)
Viewed
View from Room (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (188)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 66 in Ottawa
894 reviews
Lord Elgin
#18 of 66 in Ottawa
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Daly's
Daly's
Cuisines: Canadian, American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Price Range: RM652 - RM1,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Ottawa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Ann Arbor, Michigan
10 months ago
Saint Albans, Vermont
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Ottawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view of the Parliament Buildings and canal is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles LoFord, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hill View for sure”
 of 5 bubbles 67ajays, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“parliament view is the best”
 of 5 bubbles 888sherryw, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for Canal/ Parliament view on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Highvoltagewife, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room with a west facing view”
 of 5 bubbles desjard, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay