We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Business Inn & Suites

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Business Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,090: English reviews
Start your review of The Business Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Caledon, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff were amazing. Hotel itself was different from what I am accustomed to . My room was different. Seemed like a basement apartment . It was large though. "Breakfast" in the morning was strange in setup and also food set up. Boxed cereals, etc..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMShep
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I went to Ottawa for a 2-night/3 day stay. This hotel was at the top of our list because of the rave reviews from other guests. From check-in to check-out, this hotel does not disappoint. The front desk was polite, professional and courteous, answering all my questions. Surprisingly, we even got upgraded to the Executive Suite which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie Q
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel fairly often and have stayed at a wide range of hotel styles, and this hotel was something new for me. Apparently, all the rooms are suites and loaded with amenities. Mine included a sofa, kitchen, desktop computer with printer, iPod station, TV with all kinds of gadgets attached to it (sorry, but not sure what they were, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannno777
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the best hotel to stay in Ottawa. It's handicapped friendly for people with mobility limitations. The location is central to mall, museums, university, and walking distance to live comedy (Yuk-Yuks), pharmacy, restaurants, pubs, dollar stores, cafés, candy store, book store and others. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large, clean, had all amenities (refrigerator, stove, microwave,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieSasseville
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best place to stay in Ottawa. The rooms are apartment style. Convenient to have a full kitchen. I traveled with my 13 year old daughter. The hotel is extremely quiet. Never any noise in the halls. Breakfast was very good and they even have snacks packed for the day to take with you. Very friendly service. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erinn W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my go to hotel in Ottawa. Nothing compares to the value you get from this place. The bed is super comfy, the room is clean and there are so many extras. The breakfast and snack bags are may favourite part. Rooms all have a full kitchen, giant TV and desktop PCs with printers. Not the most modern, upscale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RailBandit
TBIGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments on the Trip Advisor site. It is encouraging to know that we are providing guests with services and amenities they value.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Strange place, but not horrible. It seemed like an apartment building converted to a hotel. Our room was massive. It was about 3 times larger than any other hotel room we've stayed in with two beds. That (along with the stark fluorescent lighting) made for a very uncomfortable feeling in the room. The pull out couch was a bit difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank b l
TBIGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We never ruin an apology with an excuse. We thank you for your constructive comments, which we are in the process of addressing.

Montreal
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had meetings to attend at the University of Ottawa, and the Gilmour Inn was not available, so after looking at TripAdvisor (as always!), I chose this hotel. I was staggered to find that I could have a "studio room" for $101 plus tax (mid-week), or about $114 plus a $15 parking fee. I expected a tiny room, but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgqc
TBIGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback, on the Trip Advisor site. We value your business and hope that we can continue to earn your loyalty.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you prefer a home away from home this is the spot. Huge, incredibly well appointed rooms. Our mini suite had a 60" and a 42" TV and every convenience of home. Super clean, excellent beds. Breakfast was a real treat and the guy making breakfast sandwiches offers a friendly, happy start to your day. Won't stay anywhere else from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
TBIGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Our entire team is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was booked into an executive suite: big, bright, and airy. Lots of light into the comfortable sitting area. Kitchen was well stocked, but lacked oven mitts! Location was good, I found it easy to walk everywhere. They made a mistake on my booking and they made it right. Very impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayna G
TBIGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review

It is encouraging to know that we are providing guests with services that they value.

617 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Executive (43)
Viewed
Mini (39)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Signature Suite (58)
Viewed
Standard Suite (51)
Viewed
Studio (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: RM369 - RM551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Business Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Business Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed on a higher floor and there was limited to no outside noise.”
850natalieq, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper rooms get less street noise.”
RailBandit, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with curtains that actually block out the outside light.”
bl634, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms above 4th floor will have balconies”
beachkat2, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cabs are readily available out the door during the week - weekends call to schedule.”
, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5