We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Global Village Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Global Village Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Village Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

if there hasn't been no light on at least two evenings and only cold water from the showers on two days and unfortunately on a cold water morning there no coffee at all, I'd given one point more. fortunately we had not that much time to complain cause there was so much to see and to do in Toronto. the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MatthiasG1
YouthHostel, Owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your comment. You are correct that the hot water was out for two days due to a major problem with our tanks which had to be replaced. This episode unfortunately happened during a busy time, however the system has been completely repaired. We hope that you will come back again soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I have stayed at this hostel on two separate occasions - in 2003 and 2006, and even though basic, it was buzzing with energy. It is just around the corner from China Town, and also very convenient to downtown Toronto. The bar onsite was also a gem, as is sometimes nice to unwind after a day of sightseeing, and get... More 

Helpful?
Thank SkatingGrrl
Osoyoos, BC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2009

It was the dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed in, but I will say that it had the social atmosphere......but in my books, that doesn't make up for it.......do something about the bathrooms, they are a serious health hazard.

Helpful?
Thank aussie77_08
YouthHostel, owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for writing your review. I want ti apologize for the problems you encountered at our hostel. We had issues this summer with several showers that were out of order for more than two weeks. It was very difficult to keep the washrooms clean during construction. This renovation work has since been completed and the showers and washrooms are clean... More 

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Belmopan
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

There are some good things about this hostel: the staff, the bar. But the building is falling down, it's a really unclean hostel, the bathrooms are small and uncomfortable, lockers are not free (and they're not maintained, so there's like 5 for everyone). The fourth worse hostel I've been in (from, say, around two hundred -in two years-)

Helpful?
Thank huffman
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This place was the filthiest establishment I have ever set foot in. Bathrooms had mould all over the walls, and in the week I stayed I think they were cleaned once, which was a half baked effort. Key cards stopped working every day without fail so had to get them re-programmed every day. Staff were fairly friendly, but many seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank ret26ster
Clerks_Val
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Staff were the best, close to everything and the housekeepers were funny and helpful. All that plus an in-house bar!

Helpful?
Thank Clerks_Val
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My friend and I stayed at this hostel while in the city for a concert. The linens and towels were clean as they arrive daily from a laundry service. The room was okay - clean but not great. No personal lockers in the rooms for belongings. And only one working shower and a few working toilets for our wing or... More 

Helpful?
Thank iheartjapan
LONDON ENGLAND
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2008

If you want to get bedbugs,and use disgusting showers and toilets and have rats running around in your room than global village backpackers is the perfect place for you.The staff there is horrible no help what so ever. The only thing going for them in that they have a bar and you meet some drunk travellers so my sugestion in... More 

Helpful?
Thank TRAVELROCKS_8
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights and found this hostel dreadful. We were told upon arrival that you weren't allowed to eat food in the room, which we didn't. But we had brought chocolate over for friends and didn't think it was safe to leave in the kitchen. So we left it in our suitcase. We moved to a hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catherine1986
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Fun and friendly staff, great location, clean rooms, clean bathrooms. They also host gigs in the bar during music festivals and also have a lot of beds booked by various bands in for North by Northeast and Canadian Music Week, so it's a cool place to meet interesting people.

Helpful?
Thank 063011h

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Templar Hotel
Templar Hotel
#78 of 131 in Toronto
149 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#23 of 131 in Toronto
604 reviews
East York
The Only Backpackers Inn
The Only Backpackers Inn
#12 of 89 in Toronto
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
College Backpackers
College Backpackers
#45 of 89 in Toronto
47 reviews
Downtown West
Toronto Luxury Accommodations - 263 Wellington Street West
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Global Village Backpackers is Toronto's original backpackers hostel. Since 1997 the "Village" has hosted thousands of travellers from around the world. Our facility offers 24 hour operations, large common area, backpackers pub and restaurant, kitchen, laundry and clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Address: 460 King St West | (near Bay Street), Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Global Village Backpackers Hotel Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Village Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on both the second floor which was spacious, comfortable and enjoyable and the first floor which was unfortunately very cool, also so close to the bar that I could feel my bed vibrating from the band playing downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Mike1592, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles gillash, 29 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Don't always just look for the cheapest - sometimes it can be worth it to pay just a little more for a bed to sleep in.”
 of 5 bubbles Morten3001, 15 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Choose another hostel”
 of 5 bubbles larifcardoso, 7 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Ask for shared rooms with no other travelers in it and you basically get a private room for less!”
 of 5 bubbles jennyy04, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5