We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strathcona Hotel

Save
Traveller (305)
Room & Suite (626)
Dining (62)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good42%
  • Average24%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“union station”(268 reviews)
“york street”(33 reviews)
“great location”(289 reviews)
AMENITIES
Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from The Strathcona Hotel
Hotel packages
Offers from The Strathcona Hotel
Hotel packages
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,738)
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,525 results
Traveller rating
339
598
359
138
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
339
598
359
138
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion stationyork streetgreat locationcn towerrooms are smalltim hortons across the streetair canada centrerogers centreroyal yorkexecutive roomwithin walking distanceshort staywi fihockey hall of fameheart of downtownbed was comfortablefront desk staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,525 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were incompetent in an unfriendly manner. The room was small but OK. There is a lot of noise, both from the air conditioner, from other rooms and from the lifts. There are many better alternatives in Toronto.More

2  Thank Kjell T
Response from John A, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona HotelResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Kjell T, Thank you so much for staying with us at The Strathcona Hotel while in Toronto. I'm so sorry to hear you encountered a lot of noise disturbance during your stay. The worst part is hearing the staff were incompetent and unfriendly....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location great. Front desk a bit confused. We were given breakfast passes and told it was just to the right of the desk. Turns out nooooo staff there got a bit upset to see the yellow tickets. Breakfast was in lower level in the pub....More

Thank hjcptso
Response from Gabriella N, Community Coordinator at The Strathcona HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi hjcptso, Thank you for your review. Our team is very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your full experience with us. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future. You matter to us. Best regards, Gabriella

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel iwas very clean in both the lobby and my room. The temperature control worked fine, and the bed was comfortable. There are plenty of electrical outlets, but you still need to pay for internet. That said, it is not much. The location is...More

Thank unitedfarmers
Response from Gabriella N, Community Coordinator at The Strathcona HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Unitedfarmers, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your city stay with us. Our team takes pride in providing all of our guests with an exceptional service experience. We can’t wait to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we walked into the hotel we were greeted so nicely by a young man named Michael. After we checked in Michael offered to help us with our luggage to the room. Once I started to settle in I did feel the room was a...More

1  Thank lookdevineanddine
Response from John A, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning lookdevinanddine, Thank you so much for staying with us at The Strathcona Hotel while in Toronto. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in giving the best service possible with every guest, and i'm thrilled...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a comfortable, relaxing stay with this hotel. It is close to many amenities. Staff were courteous and very helpful. Timmies right across the road. Close access to Union Station and attractions. Would suggest to buy a city pass for those taking in the...More

Thank lindarossignol027
Response from Gabriella N, Community Coordinator at The Strathcona HotelResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi lindarossignol027, Thank you for your review. Our team is so happy to hear you enjoyed your city stay with us. We can't wait to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Gabriella

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Toronto
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$181 - US$387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$181 - US$387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (305)
Room & Suite (626)
Dining (62)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (14)
Nearby
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner
Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the
outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is
celebrated by a number of monuments and museums,
giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier
destination for modern art, people here stroll through
the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy
the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marilyn A
4 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Sam I | Reviewed this property |
Hi marilyn, wasn't in the restaurant as it wasn't part of the package I got,however numerous eateries around and very close by. Right in front of the hotel is Tim Horton's ( for avid lovers of timmies ).
1
Vote
lobs2017
16 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from mafaz m | Reviewed this property |
Hi, single bed is perfect for one person. Therefore, if you are planing to accommodate more than one in each bed, go for the double!
0
Votes
Ryan H
4 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Arnaldo A | Reviewed this property |
The answer is yes, most hotels will provide storage for early arrivals.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The room was small but met my needs."
Read review
"Avoid this hotel by all means"
Read review
"Small hotel with 3 of the side facing concrete buildings so if wanting a view ask for front of hotel."
Read review
"Higher rooms probably quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing