We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Auberge du Carre St-Louis

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Auberge du Carre St-Louis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Carre St-Louis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
London, Canada
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The Auberge Du Carre St-Louis was situated in a really great neighborhood to explore. 1/2 hour walk to the waterfront. Staff was great to us. The fixed the hot tub when told it was not working. The indian restaurant within Carre Du St-Louis had lovely currys, cold and friendly wait staff. The room was simple, clean, and the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tour2016
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay in our auberge. Unfortunately, like many small hotels in Montreal, we do not have an elevator in the hotel; this aspect is well indicated in the listing. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. Merci

Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We booked this hotel in Spring 2016 and on the day of our trip they emailed me saying "Unfortunately the system in our extranet had failed when your reservation was made and upon availabilities of rooms at the hotel we are already booked for the request of reservation (no rooms available)." We were absolutely disappointed when we arrived and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0ve_t0_travel03
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

Once a reservation is canceled, it can not be activated again. When the reservation is canceled by the customer there is little that we can do, in particular in time of high demand. We are very sorry for this inconvenience.

Craftsbury, Vermont
Reviewed 30 October 2016

we choose that hotel specially for the hot tub that they advertise. When we were ready to use it, almost no water and cold. The receptionist didnt even know that it was not working because I specially ask about it once we arrived at the reception and She had explained us the opening hours, etc. My husband came here in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ecoelo
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the misunderstanding. The way the hot tub works is as follows: You have to turn on the system so that the hot tup will be filled with water and then you must light the jets, then open them and adjust it according to the intensity of your preference. Thanks

Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I reserved the suite with sofa and whirlpool tub the middle of July on the hotels website for a stay Sept 30-3nd Oct. On arrival late Friday afternoon they checked us in and when I got into the room notice it was just the standard room with a balcony. I went immediately down and informed the front desk that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mistie S
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

We felt very much the situation but you received the correct room as indicated in your reservation. Your confusion comes from the first reservation made and canceled by you. Thanks

Nova Scotia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We travelled to Montreal from Nova Scotia for pleasure. We arrived late evening at the Auberge du Carre St. Louis and check in was a bit confusing as it was at a desk at the back of a section in a restaurant. I had a migraine headache and found the strong smells of food very difficult. As there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viveyatpomp51
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

We are very sorry that due to your state of health you could not enjoy our hotel, but the reservation conditions are very clear, a cancellation made the same day of arrival generates a penalty of 100% of the total amount of the reservation. Thanks

Oost-vlaanderen
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

The room was nice, I didn't like the matras but my gf did. The location is perfect . It's across the metro and you can easily explore the city. You also can have breakfast... we were disappointed with the breakfast. It looked like an early bird breakfast . There was not much to choose from , so we went every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan_HXC
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay in our auberge. The continental breakfast is served buffet style, self-service, all you can eat. Breakfast is very rich: croissants baked each morning, 3 types of cereals, 4 types of bread (white, brown and multi grain), bagels, English muffins, cheddar and Monterrey cheese, orange juice, apple juice, milk , A wide selection of tea, coffee, oats,...

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This was our 1st time in Montreal and staying in this Inn was perfect. We wanted to avoid a large hotel and have a more intimate experience. The location is amazing - right by a metro station, a vibrant neighbourhood with shops, restaurants, and parks. We had an issue with the bathroom door not closing, and it was promptly fixed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christy P
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay in our auberge. Thank you for pointing out this inconvenience in time and have left us to find a quick solution.

Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 31 August 2016

If you expect an hotel like one of the big chains, than this shouldn't be your choice! But if you want a pleasant stay in a lovely room, than you're right! Some criticized the service, i personally like their approach you only get room service when you request it, means you can come back when you want or sleep as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuel496
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

We are very happy to have met all your expectations. Thank you.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I stayed here one year ago for 4 nights and was very impressed, which is why I made a return visit last week for one night. I stayed in the "Nelligan" room on the second floor, a simple but clean and bright room with a comfortable Queen bed and kitchenette and good sized private bath. The room was very quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salsajo
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

We are very happy to have met all your expectations. Thank you.

Dundee, Illinois
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The room was good (double queen), and it had a nice balcony to sit on, and it was close to the subway line across the street. It was also just a couple blocks from a quaint little pedestrian area with stores and restaurants (Rue Prince Arthur). One major downside is that this place is a converted 'walk up' apartment building...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redman822
AubergeCSL, Gérant at Auberge du Carre St-Louis, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay in our auberge. Unfortunately, like many small hotels in Montreal, we do not have an elevator in the hotel and unfortunately, we only have 5 parking spaces; the guests have to call directly to the hotel to book it. Only, we accept vehicles of small and medium size. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. Thanks

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#42 of 162 in Montreal
311 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 162 in Montreal
204 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#29 of 162 in Montreal
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#90 of 162 in Montreal
113 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#39 of 162 in Montreal
385 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
leQube Apartments
leQube Apartments
#7 of 91 in Montreal
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Le Plateau Mont-Royal

Neighbourhood Profile
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Go native in Plateau Mont-Royal, where bespoke shopping, hip eateries, and wacky paint jobs attract locals and transplants alike, making it one of the city's most diverse and distinctly authentic experiences. A creative hub, Montreal's artistic elite pack the cafes along Rue Saint-Denis, where young painters and fashion designers draw inspiration from the playful murals and stately Victorian homes that dot the Plateau's side streets. Not a major sightseeing destination, a visit to Plateau Mont-Royal allows you to enjoy a local perspective, soaking in indie films, latte art, contemporary galleries, and the city's best bagels. A center of polyglot culture, Québécois accents mingle with shades of Portuguese, Greek, and Hebrew in the area's iconic Mile End district, where restaurants straddle chic designer boutiques, serving up chorizo and caldo verde. Friendliest to those on foot, it's a jungle of colourful awnings and sidewalk umbrellas, pedestrian walks and luxury shopping.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Auberge du Carré St-Louis. This is how we’ll greet you when you arrive. We like to keep things simple, and our services were designed with your comfort and pleasure in mind.Located in the very heart of Montreal, in the Latin Quarter, the Auberge puts shows, festivals and boutiques within easy walking distance.Located directly across the street from the Sherbrooke métro station, the Auberge gives out onto a unique cityscape: Carré St-Louis, which has witnessed Montreal’s cultural history and has over the decades been home to writers, poets, musicians and visual artists, who collectively have given the square its special charm and personality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge du Carre St-Louis

Address: 3466 rue St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Price Range: RM267 - RM1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Carre St-Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Carre St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Carre St-Louis Hotel Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auberge du Carre St-Louis staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Auberge du Carre St-Louis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a chance, go across the road to La Fabrique and experience some of the best food ever tasted anywhere, and we have travelled.”
 of 5 bubbles Tour2016, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Loft to the backside was mostly quiet, and has a nice view to the parc”
 of 5 bubbles Manuel496, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we were on second floor not on the restaurant side safe with key card”
 of 5 bubbles allspace, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher up for less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Greg_and_Claude, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a kitchen and whirlpool.”
 of 5 bubbles 462StevenH, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5