We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Expedia.comUS$141*
View Deal
#55 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$176*
US$141*
US$146*
US$176*
US$141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,034 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,741: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

You will get a good nights rest here wonderful beds and feather pillows very quiet in the rooms! No noisy A/C or circulation vents like so many hotels seem to have! Windows open for fresh air too! Central location, well appointed rooms good amenities nearby. Concierge was gone by 6pm (rather early IMO) so book early. Not all rooms have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
MaudeVien, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you found our location good and convenient. We hope to see you again soon!

Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

First came in and found the cup dirty. After calling front desk to change the cup, this is what I ended up getting... and they threw my own half bottle of water away. Super convenient location though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielleisme
MaudeVien, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about our location. We truly apologize for the unfortunately incident. This is an isolated occurrence and does not reflect the high level of service we enforce. Please keep my name for your future visit, I will be glad to welcome you back and ensure you have a pleasant stay among us.

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located and has access to the underground path in Montreal. The pool iis its main attraction, we were there during winter and the pool was hot enough to swim confortable. You can access the pool from inside the hotel so you never have to walk in the cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo T
MaudeVien, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 circles rating! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is on the 11th floor of a building across the street from the train station. It's decorated in the "brutalist" style. Basically, you feel like you're staying in a subbasement or subway. The walls are designed to look unfinished, and the carpet is designed to look worn and dirty. You feel like a rat will run across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. I'm sorry to read that you found your stay rather average. It seems to be mainly caused by the ambiance and by the décor of our hotel which you expected to be different. Our 'brutalist' architectural style is quite unique and it was built in 1967 by an architect named Raymond T Affleck. We were...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is serviceable, but dated. However, the service is mediocre - the valet was unfriendly and the concierge lacked basic Montreal knowledge. I will say the bar/restaurant staff were comparatively much better. Was here a part of a conference and it is a constant frustration to me when food is not labelled. I couldn't imagine attending a conference here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelFunKes
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team. We took good note of your comments regarding the accessibility to the guestroom corridors. Should you be planning a future trip to Montreal, do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can attend to your requirements...

Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to valet to park my car. No one was there waiting. Waited 15 minutes until the valet attendant showed. He completely ignored us. We waited another 10 minutes. I had to call him over to get my car parked. I told him that I was waiting for a bit. I complained that he did not even acknowledge me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougkwon26
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you had some difficulty with the parking during your visit and that one of our doormen was not giving you the level of service you deserve. Please accept my sincerest apologies and be assured that this will be looked into. We hope to see you again soon!

Caledonia, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second visit to Hotel Bonaventure and we were not disappointed with our stay. We were visiting family in the Montreal for the Easter holiday and we find the location to be convenient to dining venues and travel to visit family. The renovations that were done last year make the lobby/reception area very warm and welcoming. Sorry, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redlady62
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your top score review and especially for your loyalty. We truly appreciate having great guests like you! See you soon!

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Hotel Bonaventure Monteal for our anniversary. It was recommended to us by a family member. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Our room was very clean, bed comfy & free wi-fi worked like a charm. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but love the concept that it is heated year round. Would love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handlebar7
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your description of our hotel was excellent and we are glad you were able to get a taste of all we have to offer. We hope to see you soon!

Swansea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really really wanted to give a 4.5 rating, but there's no option for that here. So I'll explain why this wasn't a 5 (to me). You'll read this and think it's nitpicking, and I agree, but that's why I'd like a half rating. The room was certainly big enough - being that this is an older property, I expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USCanadianAtHeart
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive review, we value your opinion and we are grateful that you choose us for your stay in Montreal. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a quick trip up to Montreal this past weekend and stayed at the Hotel Bonaventure. It was just okay. Pros: it was in a decent enough location, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go without getting lost Cons: the walls were incredibly thin so we could hear every single thing going on in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arielle K
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you found our location good and convenient. We hope to see you again soon!

971 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (617)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (305)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Executive Room with King Bed (38)
Viewed
Executive Room with Two Double Beds (36)
Viewed
Outdoor Heated Pool (8)
Viewed
Regular King Bedroom (41)
Viewed
Regular Two Double Bedroom (42)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
1,411 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: RM726 - RM1,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bonaventure Montreal staff and other travellers.
52 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Toronto, Canada
9 months ago
Miami, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (52)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bonaventure Montreal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden rooms are best.”
winst0n4, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the housekeeping storage room”
VJH95, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Looking into the Quad was good in winter”
barryw338, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i think they are mostly all great rooms ,”
62daniellek, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Might have some accessibility problems for less mobile travelers.”
hclause, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$141* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$146
TravelocityUS$141
TripAdvisorUS$141
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates