We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Show Prices
#46 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,983: English reviews
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 26 January 2015

This is my second stay at the QE...though my first was 35 years ago!. Because of its popularity, the hotel serves both travelers and business. I must agree that a bit of the joy for travelers is sucked out by the conventioneers in the lobby. The only other complaint would be the temperature control in the rooms. Those statements made,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wakanwalk
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear wakanwalk - Thank you for your return visit earlier this month. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay once again... a few years later. We appreciate your comments and suggestion as we're working on a renovation plan and the temperature control in the guest rooms will be revisited. Thank you again and hoping to welcome you back in the...

Winnipeg
Reviewed 24 January 2015

The rooms are average but very noisy. You can hear people next door. The lobby is convention hall large with nothing in it. Not easy to find underground. Seems tired. The onsite restaurant should be avoided unless large buffet is your thing. No atmosphere for couples striclty business.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 922jamiek
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear 922jamiek - We're very sorry to hear we didn't provide you with the experience you anticipated. We appreciate your candid feedback and we apologize for not meeting your expections from the guest room to the different offerings at our restaurants. Having said that, we still hope you will visit us again at one of our properties. Best regards.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Stayed here for one night on business - rooms were very comfortable if a bit on the small side. Excellent gym onsite, but the downstairs common area was a bit of a zoo in the morning as they appear to have a load of conference facilities. Was slightly bemused by the special offer on arrival - take a smoking room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lodges_9
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear Lodges_9 - We're so glad you visited us all the way from Australia. Thank you for your great comments about our gym facilities. Despite being an overnight visit, we're happy to hear you a had comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Thanks and regards.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2015

I've stayed at the Queen Elizabeth several times and have always been pleased with my experience. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool and fitness center is rather small but is nice. There is also direct access to and from the VIA train station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan M
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear Dan M - We're happy to learn you're always pleased with your stays at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Thank you very much for your loyalty. We appreciate your kind note about the service as well as your suggestions. We hope to see you and your family again in 2015! Best regards.

Toronto
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Really great top quality hotel. Friendly staff, helpful and very clean rooms. I would recommend to anyone. The location is in a good spot, close to and connected to the underground. Staff is always there to help

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 743teresat
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear 743teresat - Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our staff members and the service provided. We're also glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its convenience being connected to the underground city, especially in the winter months! Until next time, warmest regards from the entire team.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Great location, on top of underground city, close to train station, and convenient to most of downtown. Renovated rooms are well done; I suspect most complaints arise from old rooms. Front desk is friendly and helpful. Big plus: For runners, a guided run is offered every morning. It's a great way to see Montreal. I had the chance to run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChefDilettante
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear ChefDilettante - Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us last fall. We're sorry however to learn the breakfast buffet was a disappointment. Please know several changes have been made to the breakfast offerings since last September and we do hope you will visit us again. Thanks and regards.

Uxbridge, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

This was our second stay at the Queen Elizabeth, and would stay again. Ideally situated, within walking distance to old Montreal, and above train station, so easy access to transit. The whole city is open to explore! Elevators tend to be noisy, so request a room away from them.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jillandtim2014
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear jillandtim2014 - thank you for sharing some feedback further to your return visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're glad you once again enjoyed your stay and most definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in a not-too-distant future. Best regards.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Stayed here a couple times including very recently. Hotel is old and worn and needs an update. That includes the room. Overall very dark and gloomy place. Biggest disappointment for me was the room cleanliness on my last stay. Was fairly clear to me that the room wasn't cleaned with any diligence (dirty sink, stained toilet, dirty floors...) I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dparcanada
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear dparcanada – We appreciate your comments and suggestions further to your recent stay. We were very sorry however to hear how we failed to provide you with the experience you expected. We completely understand your disappointment with regards to the cleanliness issues you encountered. Please know we have comprehensive housekeeping standards in place and our hotels are focused on...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

For the Outstanding: (1) the concierge who made our dinner reservations at a restaurant I couldn't get into myself, checked us in for our flights when she saw us waiting for the computer and was just generally so pleasant; (2) Dominic in the main restaurant who heard me raving about the almond croissant and brought extra in a box to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmberK
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear AmberK - Thank you for your comments regarding the outstanding service provided by our concierge team as well as Dominic at Le Montrealais restaurant. We're thrilled to learn how pleased with you with our staff members and please know your lovely note has already been shared with the team. That being said, we're sorry for not being able to...

Saint-laurent
Reviewed 17 January 2015

The Beaver Club in my opinion always needs to be open on New years Day! Valentines day, Our wedding anniversary in March, My wife's birthday in April, My birthday in October, and any other special day of the year. The Beaver club is the best restaurant in Montreal. It just needs to let everyone know that they are the standard...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keni474
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear keni474 - Thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the special celebration on New Years day at the Beaver Club restaurant. Rest assured your lovely note will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards.

1,070 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (682)
Viewed
Room/Suite (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Fairmont Gold Room - Wheelchair Accessible (30)
Viewed
Fairmont Room - King Bed (43)
Viewed
Fairmont Room - Two Double Beds (36)
Viewed
Jerome Le Royer Executive Suite (82)
Viewed
John Lennon and Yoko Ono Suite (56)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 162 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 162 in Montreal
1,240 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 162 in Montreal
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Le Montrealais Bistro
Le Montrealais Bistro
Cuisines: French, Bar, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: RM945 - RM1,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if any renovation of hotel and rooms since summer 2015!”
 of 5 bubbles Robert8888Lee, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother asking for an upgrade at reception as you will not receive unless you're willing to pay more.”
 of 5 bubbles obkelly, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is Canada ask for a no smoking floor”
 of 5 bubbles Zapatero421, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A Fairmont President's Club card may very well get you an upgrade and quick check-in”
 of 5 bubbles alexpus, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want a non smoking room you will have to go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DrGreg1963, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5