We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Auberge Casa de Mateo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Auberge Casa de Mateo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Auberge Casa de Mateo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked a room at the hotel for a weekend with my wife in Montreal. It was the long weekend so our options were limited, most places were fully booked. The room I received was nowhere near what was advertised, and dirty, especially the bed skirts. I booked what I thought was a nice suite, with a four post king... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAttila83
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had read reviews here and knew that the auberge was not going to be anything to write home about but it was actually worse than expected. The location is really the only positive attribute. As people have mentioned here before, it is difficult to find front desk staff. We actually ended up leaving after one night even though we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HalcyonTravel

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

For the price and location, i would recommend this place to anyone visiting Montreal to spend less on hotel spots and more on the cities' great activities. The receptionist was very polite and responded to all of my needs. The restaurant downstairs really accommodates the hotel's overall relaxing ambiance with it's Mexican theme. I would go stay here again in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlo Ronald P
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So I went with my boyfriend for a nice romantic getaway in Montreal for 4 days, and we chose Casa de Mateo for the location and the nice comments on the mexican romantic feeling. The location was excellent indeed, and the room size was ok, however the mattress was very hard, there was no room service at all (we stayed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carla R
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We enjoyed our week long stay and the hospitality offered at the Casa de Mateo. The breakfast has the added ambiance of Old Montreal; and at dinner one evening we were impressed with the roving musicians. We would return again. Paul Shew

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Pros: Great location. Decent room size. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was included from the restaurant downstairs. Breakfast was delicious. Sometimes hung out there at night for a drink before bed. Cons: Rooms could be upgraded or re decorated to look more modern. Bed was a bit firm. Overall, would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Today I leave the Casa de Mateo with a smile on my face. I have been sightseeing around North America on my own for quite some time now, and I need a break from hostels sometimes. Budget hotels are usually horrible. Casa de Mateo is the perfect balance between hostel and hotel, with great service and value for money. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Casa De Mateo for 3 nights for the fireworks in Montreal. We called ahead to ask if our 4 month old mini poodle was allowed. They said they accept small dogs. The floor in the room clearly was not cleaned before our arrival, and to make things worse, there were toenails on the bay window seating area.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine L
casademateo, Manager at Auberge Casa de Mateo, responded to this review

As we all rememeber your presence at the Auberge because the hotel is a no pet allowed and we kindly accepted that you bring your little dog in the room as you said there will be no noise and dirtiness. We had busy weekend and we got overloaded complain from other guests from the Auberge from your dog. Your dog... More 

Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a fantastic deal if you don't care about your hotel and just want to see the sights. Please don't mistake this place for a romantic getaway. At forty dollars a night in the Old Montreal section it's a steal. It's clean, spare and functional and the gentleman who met me at the door couldn't have been nicer. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank artnants
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Arrived early off cruise ship and hotel was surprisingly close to cruise terminal. The check in person did allow us to check in early and deposit our bags so we could go exploring. The rooms are located on 2nd, third and fourth floors with out an elevator, above a Mexican restaurant.(which we knew and were expecting). The room was minimally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hinesdar

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
918 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
1,540 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 141 in Montreal
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#6 of 141 in Montreal
342 reviews
Quartier International
Les Etoiles Apartments
Les Etoiles Apartments
#19 of 89 in Montreal
12 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)

Neighbourhood Profile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The historic centre of Montreal, Vieux-Port is home to some of the city's most antiquated buildings and picturesque streets. Along the waters of the St. Lawrence River, the bank of Old Port features museums, festivals, food stalls, and outdoor athletics, a celebrated part of the city that explodes into fireworks displays on warm summer nights. At its centre, street performers and artists compete with sprawling restaurant terraces for space along Jacques-Cartier Square, while the cobbled streets of Rue St. Paul and Rue Notre-Dame offer a reprieve of quiet galleries and atmospheric wine bars. Horse-drawn carriages are not an uncommon part of traffic, and the narrows they traverse are lined with boutiques, crêperies, and poutine shops enshrined in buildings of stone and wooden lattices. Here you can evoke Montreal's past with a traditional cooking lesson or historical tour, then enjoy its artistic present with live music and theatre.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in picturesque Old Montreal, Auberge and Restaurant Casa de Mateo are in the heart of all the attractions of the Old Port. The 22 rooms in the auberge are exceptionally cozy and equipped with a small kitchenette, air conditioning and cable TV. Our Luxury Suite offers all the convenience of an apartment, with full kitchen and bath as well as a living room and separate bedroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge Casa de Mateo

Address: 438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Price Range: RM200 - RM233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Casa de Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Casa de Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Casa De Mateo Hotel Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge Casa de Mateo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better go to a real hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Inn_king, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“Email them”
 of 5 bubbles j0hnrayl, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book the lower rooms if you hate stairs. The rooms that face the street have the perfect view of the horse carriages passing by.”
 of 5 bubbles Rach2626, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The advertised pictures and description of the king suite is really the royal suite, don't be fooled. The king suite is much worse, and not worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterAttila83, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
“If you have problems walking upstairs please note there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles HalcyonTravel, 14 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay