We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,037: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I travel to Quebec quite often and although we have experienced many nice hotels in Quebec, this was our first time staying at the Chateau Frontenac. I can tell you, without a doubt, this is the best hotel in the city. Our room was very spacious with a king bed and many windows with an amazing view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren D
Mexico City, Mexico
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed for 3 night last summer at this hotel. Quebec is beautiful and maybe one of the best destinations in Canada. This city is divided in old and new. The old part is surrounded by a wall and it takes you back in time to where this place was founded. The hotel is located in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank echerem2013
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear. echerem2013, Thank you for this great review of your recent stay at the Chateau. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Fairmont experience. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we sincerely appreciate it. Best regards, Best regards, Patricia Carré Director of Rooms

Reviewed yesterday NEW

This landmark couldn't be in a better spot.....right in the center of Old Quebec City. The lobby is smaller than you'd expect, with not a lot of space to sit, but it's very tastefully decorated. Our room was small, as is often the case with these old landmark hotels, but again, tastefully decorated and very clean. We were situated in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ParkerSturbridge
PEI
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, we were disappointed with our stay. My husband and I came from the East coast on an Easter getaway, and decided to splurge to stay one night in Quebec City, and we chose the chateau because of its popularity. The service was great but for such a large amount of money, I was expecting more. I had built up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeiNurse99
Patricia C, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear PeiNurse99, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Your feedback is both valued and welcome, and I thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the areas that require improvement. I am very concerned to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I cannot apologize enough...

Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a room on the Gold Level. We booked ahead of time and got a great deal. There is a great lounge for the Gold Level. The free Gold Level Lounge breakfast bar offers enough for a great full breakfast. The appetizers offered beginning at 5pm is delicious, and gives you enough food to satisfy dinner. The amount of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevalmcnamara
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear kevalmcnamara, We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and specifically the Fairmont Gold experience. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Patricia Carre Front Office Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

An absolutely amazing hotel. It is beautiful and luxurious. You cannot be in a better location for exploring Quebec City: shops, cafes, waterfront churches are all within walking distance. This is a hotel with a lot of history. This is not an average hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
Patricia C, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear Nicole D, What a delight to read your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Thank you for these wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Patricia Carré Director of Rooms

Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel. Very impressive architecture. Overlooking the river in Old Town. Lobby and common areas very nice. Staff attentive. Good full buffet breakfast. Dinner at the Bistro was great; try the seafood. Large selection of cocktails at both bars. Very close to many restaurants and tourist spots. Bring good walking shoes, lots of hills. Had a large room with two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stan l
Patricia C, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear Stan I, Thank you for these wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and experience at our restaurants. We appreciate you taking time to share it with us and we hope to welcome you again soon! Best regards, Patrica Carré Director of Rooms

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

While this is a grand old hotel it has lost some of its luster over the years. We had a lovely double room but the wallpaper was peeling. Most luxury hotels have umbrellas in each room; they do not. The weather was very rainy a day we were there. When I asked the concierge for an umbrella I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizdeg
Patricia C, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear lizdeg, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. The feedback is both valued and welcome, and I thank you for making us aware of the areas that require improvement. Best regards, Patricia Carré Director of Rooms

Mexico City
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You can hardly find a better place to stay in Quebec. This is where history is. Also the location is perfect for visiting both the upper and the lower town. The installations are great. Some of the best shops are also here. The restaurant for breaksfast was a very nice experience all the mornings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kartikmexico
Patricia C, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Bonjour kartikmexico, Thank you for these wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and experience at the Dufferin restaurant. We appreciate you taking time to share it with us and we hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Patricia Carré Director of Rooms

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was awesome. Spectacular service. Beautiful room. We had a special gift for our one year anniversary. The Sam had great food. We booked the gold floor. The evening canapés where great and the deluxe continental breakfast was super good and convenient. Its was over Easter weekend and they had treats for the kids from the Easter Bunny. It even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliegould1178
Patricia C, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Bonjour nataliegould1178, Thank you for this detailed and very informative review of your recent Chateau Frontenac stay. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and the amenities of our Fairmont Gold level. I will share your great feedback with our teams and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards, Patricia Carré Director of Rooms

2,389 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (674)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (251)
Viewed
View from Room (143)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Other (1113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,929 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,059 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,096 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,225 reviews
0.2 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: RM889 - RM2,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors if you want a view.”
ParkerSturbridge, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All views are good but you can get a river view for an extra C$70/night.”
StinkyStan123, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with views to the river”
kartikmexico, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the 18 th floor!!”
781catha, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Gold Level was truly worth it!! Great food and service!!”
suzannesweat, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5