We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Clarendon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Clarendon
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clarendon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 957: English reviews
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is in the prime location, in the heart of the city and is a fantastic heritage hotel. The decor of the lobby is grand and takes you to the bygone era. Strategic Location, freindly staff,clean and tidy rooms are perfect for your stay in the charming old city. The VIA Railway station is about 15 min walking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reena M
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is very much appreciated. I have transmitted your comments to the Clarendon staff, and they were very pleased to know that we reach our goal of ensuring that our guests have a great experience when staying at our hotel. Make sure to personally contact me for your...

Smithfield, Virginia
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent location and quiet place. Old but well maintained and one of the cleanest places I have stayed lately. Free and fast wi-fi. They charge $25 for valet parking in the underground garage across the street. For $16 you can park yourself in a space of your choice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EDUARDO H
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the parking, the price difference is indeed for the valet service, which is in order to save you the trouble of driving around in the one ways which can be sometimes be confusing. Our price also covers unlimited...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2013

One month ago, I made a phone reservation specifically asking for a Superior corner room with a King bed that oversees the Desjardins and St-Anne street like the one in the picture they advertise on their web site. The room was confirmed and the lady on the phone even told me all superior rooms are on the corner of every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leo041
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your last stay. I would like to explain the Superior rooms location, we do have Superior room on every floor at the corner of Des Jardins and Ste-Anne. The room that was first offered to you was indeed a corner front room (finishing by 09) on the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip. Hotel is in an amazing location right in the heart of Old Quebec, within walking distance to everything. We took the VIA train and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the train station. No problems at all with the hotel. Room was clean and comfy, although on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rob_Toronto88
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the desks in the rooms, the executive or superior all have one, as some of the regular ones. Make sure to ask for one next time you come stay with us.

Vancouver (Canada)
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for a conference recently. I had no issue with the service overall, staff seems friendly enough. The location is great if you are here as tourist and want to enjoy what the old town offers. This hotel fits right in with its historic and cozy decor. However, the down side is that it lacks the amenities that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AKLVancouver_Canada_
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest We are glad that you enjoyed the service at the hotel. I understand the lack of a pool or a gym can be disappointing. However due to the age and the location the Clarendon, it is nearly impossible to have a pool. However, there are some pools close by if you were to need one. As for a...

Lago Vista, Texas
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I set waiting in the lobby for over 3 hours while guests after guests arriving after me received their rooms. The people we were traveling with received their room at 10:30 in the morning. Our reservations where made at the same time over two months ago, 8-17-2013. By the way I am sitting in the lobby using their computer and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R52B
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Our check-in time is guaranteed for 4pm. However, it is very unfortunate that you were kept waiting that long. We try our best to ask that the rooms for people arriving early are made in priority. You can contact me personally to see what we could do for making up for you when you come stay at our...

Stanton, California, United States
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We drove 4 hours from Lincoln, White Mountain New hampshire to Quebec. Our first reaction to old town Quebec was: WOW. What a charming place. Our hotel Clarendon is right at the heart of the old city. We just parked our car in front and walked in to check in. It was 1pm and our room was ready. The elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 130Tam
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

As I can read, you felt in love with Quebec City! For your information, Quebec city has been considered the10th best city in the world according to the magazine Condé Nast traveler! As you said we are pretty well located in the middle of Old Quebec and it is so pleasant to walk around. We are glad you enjoyed your...

Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel Clarendon is an old hotel with modern amenities. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is centrally located in the old city, near everything. The view from our window was great. We enjoyed walking around the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloBear2013
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. Indeed our hotel is old but modern at the same time. Did you know that the hotel Clarendon is the oldest hotel in Canada? We are pleased to know as well that you enjoyed the location and that you spent a good time walking around. Thanks again for the reviews!

Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 October 2013

and an easy to walk to anywhere within the walled city. I booked late for a weekend in September. All nearby boutique hotels were full. I was pleasantly surprised to find a vacancy at such a convenient location and at a reasonable price. Our room on the 4th floor had a view of the church, cobbled street and Hotel Frontenac...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glebegirl
Ève B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

You are totally right when you say that there is construction across the street and the view is better on desjardins street. We are happy you enjoyed the room and the view. As you said we are well located and this is a plus for us. We are close to everything and our guests really appreciate that. Thank you very...

burbank, ca
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Clarendon reminded us of the European hotels we enjoyed. It's old, but inviting...with a lovely lobby and lounge/bar. The bedroom was small, but clean...the beds very comfortable. This hotel is smack in the middle of old town and a wonderful assortment of boutiques and restaurants. Service in the lounge and dining room was slow, perhaps due to short-staffing. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you reviews. Indeed we are pretty well located and the hotel has an nice european style. I notice in your comment that you found the room quiet small. For your information you can get a superior room for a litlle extra, which is much bigger than a standard room. It will be a pleasure to...

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (67)
Viewed
Executive King Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
1,317 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 104 in Quebec City
908 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 104 in Quebec City
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 104 in Quebec City
1,597 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
1,013 reviews
0.3 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 104 in Quebec City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: RM415 - RM800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Clarendon staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Gilbert, Arizona
8 months ago

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Clarendon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay for a Superior room. Regular rooms are too small.”
 of 5 bubbles jezzy10, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing the city hall, on the main street was a bit noisy through the night as the road crew plows the snow below at street level.”
 of 5 bubbles Gesie64, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its better to upgrade from base room as they are really small. Small cost difference will get you a bigger room.”
 of 5 bubbles rohans733, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“( Before- Check In) Ask for a room facing the famous 'Chateau Frontenac'.”
 of 5 bubbles 534tarunk, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the Chateau”
 of 5 bubbles tnr040470, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay