We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
 Click to rate
Westmount, Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We were looking for a room last week, because of the storm. Instead of booking one, we got insulted by the front desk agent at hotel Gouverneur in Shawinigan, our car had gotten stocked in the snow at the entrance and when we came in ask the front desk agent if he or someone else could come outside ( we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parentalex513
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The Auberge des Gouverneurs Shawinigan is a very pleasant establishment with confortable rooms, good service and a spa area. Complimentary full course breakfast is served in the adjoining restaurant. The hotel is situated within easy reach of the Cite de l'Energie, a must for any visitor to Shawinigan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel P
canada
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I am curently at the Auberge with a group of business people for a board of director meeting. The hotel is very clean, it as been renovated a bit. The restaurant is very nice and modern. They are trying succesfully to be creative. Remember we are not in a urban area. So this place is a good balance. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petercanada
Mathieu V, Directeur de la réception at Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan, responded to this review

Hello Peter, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hoping to see you again soon !

Reviewed 18 August 2016

The only good thing is the location. Hotel is run down. Beds were hard as a rock, old pillows, felt like a stack of hay. The pool area was open, but jaccuzzi was not working, bad breaker and the front desk girl did not have acces to the key to reset it. Paint on doors i. The room was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drtraveller2014
Mathieu V, Directeur de la réception at Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like your room. We did have a problem with the jaccuzzi's breaker in the last days and you will be happy to hear that we fixed the problem. We take your comments seriously and we will make sure to address those...

Hendrik-Ido-Ambacht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Room was ok, ground floor facing parking lot. The rooms are a bit thin walled, we had some screaming kids next door that we could hear, and the doorlock system is old but worked for us. very large free parking lot, and good breakfast because the restaurant is part of the pacini chain. Several good restaurants close by, and at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maarten d
Mathieu V, Directeur de la réception at Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan, responded to this review

Hello Maarten, Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated as we are always trying to improve our services. We are glad that you liked our restaurant are hoping to see you again soon!

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

- wrong info on website. Attention, a room for 4 persons is in reality only for 2 - add extra bed but charge them 10$ a nights - shower broken - insects in the bed - no empathy when bad hotel servicing/issue - bad quality matras/ bed - old hotel - need renovation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurent C
Mathieu V, Responsable de la réception at Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan, responded to this review

Hello Mr. C, Thank you for taking the time of writing your comments. It seems that there is a lot of misunderstanding about your booking and we are sorry about your experience at our hotel. The reservation made online on a third-party seller website was booked for two people. When booking online, it is the responsibility of the guest to...

Laval, Canada
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We stayed at the Auberge Shawinigan for a hockey tournament in Trois-Riviere. The hotel was under contruction and recently renovated. They are in the process of adding a Pacini's Restaurant to the side of the Auberge. Fortunetly we never saw or heard any of the workers. Here are my HIGHS & LOWS. POSITVES ++ Rates were very good. + Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travaholick
Mathieu V, Front Office Manager at Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We have a continental breakfast, not to be confused with a full American breakfast, for the time of our renovation in our restaurant. We are aware that our clients prefers an American breakfast and we will get back to this as soon as our restaurant reopens. You...

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We had a convention there and we were given a room that's still not renovated. However, we did enjoy our stay although it would be a good idea to renovate all the rooms. The beds are really comfortable. I would have loved to be assigned a renovated room, but I guess I will have to wait until next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IHGAS
Mathieu V, Front Office Manager at Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We know that our clients like to have up-to-date rooms and this is why most of our rooms will be renovated by summer of 2016. Hoping to see you back again soon!

Fredricton
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Very nice hotel, nice and clean room, good view and great location ! We would go back there again. All the restaurants close to the hotel were full. We had dinner buffet at the hotel restaurant. Service was average, food was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo1256
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel is nice, located on the water and a block from downtown area. Several restaurants in 1 block and the hotel offers one also. Rooms were clean, beds and pillows comfortable(love good pillows). Shower was hot and the pressure was great! We found the gate to the parking area open during the week but locked on weekends? Not sure if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacayyy

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawinigan
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Shawinigan
Comfort Inn Shawinigan
#1 of 6 in Shawinigan
111 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
#2 of 6 in Shawinigan
55 reviews
7.7 km away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
1,061 reviews
26.2 km away
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
Super 8 Trois-Rivieres
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
533 reviews
27.4 km away
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
Hotels Gouverneur Trois-Rivieres
#6 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located across the Cité de l'Énergie, the Auberge Gouverneur and Centre de Congrès Shawinigan offers breathtaking and spectacular views over the theme park and the St-Maurice River. An unforgettable holiday awaits you in the Mauricie region. Relax in an incomparable natural setting while enjoying services that are on the cutting edge of technology. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan

Address: 1100 Promenade du Saint-Maurice, Shawinigan, Quebec G9N 1L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Shawinigan
Price Range: RM388 - RM536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms facing the St Maurice river offer the best value”
MarcelP891, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all good”
petercanada, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
Drtraveller2014, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the second floor facing the lake.”
Travaholick, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a renovated room.”
IHGAS, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5