We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gaia Retreat & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Gaia Retreat & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 379: English reviews
Start your review of Gaia Retreat & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from yet another truly wonderful Gaia Retreat break - a time to surrender to the delights of the extraordinary spa, breathtaking beauty of the natural environment, sublime nutritious and delicious food and warm and hospitable service! Feeling brand new after enjoying yoga to greet each day and being spoilt with all the wonderful treats on offer .... will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jo H As always it was wonderful to welcome you back to Gaia - we miss you already!!! Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot to us. Warmest regards Gaia Management

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nothing I could ever write will do my experience there justice. This was the best thing I have ever done from myself. After a long grieving process, unkown health problems for years and suffering burnout in my job (to then get made redundant) I was at my worst mental state in years. The grounds: Absolutely stunning. Silent and back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ashleigh M Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It was a real pleasure hosting you here at Gaia. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay and can’t wait to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards Gaia Management

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am writing this review a few hours before departing from my personal paradise on earth, GAIA, located in the beautiful Hinterland of Byron Bay. This time, I have come here to spend Mother’s Day and to pamper myself in this heart-warming environment. It is my fourth visit and will surely not be my last. As usual, I was picked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdeda
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear bdeda Mother’s Day is such a special day, we are thrilled you decided to spend it with us. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay. Your heartfelt review is much appreciated. Until next time. Warmest regards Gaia Management

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Gaia for my second visit, and have found the staff to be , exceptionally helpful and extremely warm. I needed to getaway and have some time out and serenity. Hard to find in this day and age, with the world of social media and such a busy life as a working woman. I choose Gaia because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suedearaugo
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear suedearaugo Thank you very much for your heartfelt review. We loved having you stay with us, see you surrender and reconnect. We are delighted to hear you had such a great time and hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards Gaia Management

Busselton, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have now stayed at Gaia twice with my daughter accompanying me on the second visit to be pampered and recharged. Love the tranquil bush setting which allows you to ground yourself back with mother nature. We both had a few pamper treatments during our stay, my favourite being the 1 hour massage in the outdoor setting (will be having that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des191
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Des191 It was just wonderful to welcome you both back to Gaia! We are so pleased to hear your pampering stay with us was deeply relaxing and nurturing for you. Your positive feedback means a lot to us and our team. We can't wait to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards Gaia Management

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in at Gaia for a 90 minute intuitive massage. My first time at the day spa and a first time visitor to Byron from Melbourne. It was ok but not the best experience or massage I have had. The masseuse didn't really explain how this massage is beneficial or ask me anything about myself specifically. She just told me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fit662017
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear fit662017 - our valued Day Spa guest, We apologise that you did not receive the Intuitive Massage experience you were anticipating. The Intuitive Massage is one of our most popular and loved treatments at our Gaia Day Spa. Guests consistently rave about this therapy’s profound benefits to their health & wellbeing. It is difficult to understand this feedback without...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My partner & I visited for 5 nights choosing the "refresh package" after reading such great reviews we thought it would be a great quick getaway from our busy lives in Perth. Overall it was a disappointing experience. Firstly, the wait staff were great and all lovely, helpful people. And the Naturopaths Grace and Hayley were fantastic. That was about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naomi S
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Naomi I have just read your review and am deeply saddened that you felt we did not fulfil your expectations and were not respected and looked after during your stay at Gaia Retreat & Spa and. You and Tyson looked like you were enjoying your stay, our General Manager even commenting he had met you both on the way...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Gaia. Both my husband and I spend a lot of our time apart travelling and working overseas, so when we get down time together it is a very special occasion for us. We booked the room that was recommended to us by the member of staff that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marieM9406JD
GaiaRetreat, Manager at Gaia Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marie Thank you for taking the time to speak with me to discuss your feedback regarding you and your husband Perry’s stay. As I explained I had been away on leave and was shocked to receive your email on my return 4 days after checkout and hear about your disappointment. We never recommend a room style. On booking, our...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Dear Gregg, What a beautifully place to visit. I just loved my spa treatment, so luxurious, professional and harmonious. The products which are made locally for Gaia were stunning. The lunch at the restaurant was delicious, organic and so flavoursome. The best pumpkin I've every eaten. With beautiful gardens and landscaped views. I would highly recommend Gaia and I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariestephens
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic retreat. All the elements to allow you to unwind and recharge. Serene and peaceful. Great location, food, amenities and staff. Yoga every morning to start the day well. Wonderful spa treatments. Hoping to make an annual visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen25506044

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklet
14.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
322 reviews
3.9 km away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
10.9 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
16.5 km away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#24 of 32 in Byron Bay
23 reviews
11.9 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrender to the beauty and healing cultures of Gaia Retreat & Spa, nestled in the breathtaking Bundjalung Country hinterland of Byron Bay, Northern NSW Australia. Gaia is the perfect place to renew, refresh, and restore. Poised on the highest point in the shire and set on 25 acres, Gaia has 20 beautifully appointed retreat style bungalow villas set in the lush sub tropical gardens. This unique boutique property will seduce you into infinity with its endless views and beautiful vistas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gaia Retreat & Spa

Address: 933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Brooklet
Price Range: RM1,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaia Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaia Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Retreat Hotel Brooklet
Gaia Retreat And Spa
Gaia Retreat Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaia Retreat & Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Gaia Retreat & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the Sura Terrace and the bath”
suedearaugo, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It is a quiet ethos, so no worry about noise in any of the accommodation or throughout the grounds”
Des191, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a choice of rooms and pick one at the top end of your budget.”
marieM9406JD, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Loved the Komala Villas”
Dform3, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suggest getting the highest standard of room that your budget will allow, as the entry level accomm appears to be very basic.”
Tough_Job, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates