We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of The Lion
 Click to rate
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is less a review and more a comment on what a wonderful place this is. We were called to the village on Thursday night with storm Doris having knocked the electricity off for most of the village thee assistant manager was so helpful and offered us a room to take people in the event the power came back on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin a
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were working locally and wouldn't be returning till about 5am, this was not a problem for the lady on reception and very kindly explained our situation to the chef who organised a very late breakfast for myself and colleagues. Nothing was too much trouble. I look forward to returning next weekend for further work in the area. Beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flash1981-1
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your late breakfast and we look forward to seeing you next weekend.

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went for a family lunch which was wonderful. The staff are very welcoming and the food was excellent. We had the brisket, pork and the risotto and everyone was very happy with their choices. The puddings were delicious too, sticky toffee pudding and apple crumble. I think you would need to book a table on a weekend as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebee70
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for coming along and reviewing our lunch. You mentioned that you have been before so it is lovely that you keep coming back.

essex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took my elderly mother here for her 81st birthday as this was the place she had been evacuated to during the war, the lion is a Cosy small hotel with friendly service, our rooms were comfortable with luxurious bedding, the shower was possibly the best iv used when away from home. We had an evening meal on the Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindylou1961
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Good afternoon Lindylou Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope your Mum had a special time for her 81st birthday.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I stayed her for 2 nights in January. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldnt have been more attentive. The rooms are wonderful, clearly done professionally and money spent on lovely wallpaper (Zoffany if I'm not mistaken), and soft furnishings. The place is spotless and the bed was soft and cosy. We had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Well, thank you, and I must say what a charming review, this has got to be my favourite review on 15 January! I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I hope that you will come again and enjoy the river and the views in the Summer - lets hope it comes soon - a little fed up...

Cheshire
Reviewed 4 January 2017

An excellent and very relaxing two night stay at The Lion which included a nine course evening meal on 31st December. The New Years Eve meal was well paced by the staff over a several hour period leading towards midnight. Our room although on the small side, was comfortable and quiet with crisp white bedding. The bathroom was spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerontiousH
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your New Year at the Lion. I am delighted that you keep coming back and really appreciate the time you have taken to review us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We called by for lunch for the first time after being recommended the Lion. Lunch was fabulous and we can heartily recommend the Seafood Chowder starter with sweet corn fritters. We opted for 2 starters; the other was a beetroot risotto, plus a green salad. We left very satisfied. Service was extremely efficient and the staff delightful. We would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfair11
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for review, the seafood chowder is another of my favourites, the trouble is once you have had it you don't want to miss out on it every time you visit! but having said that please come again soon and try some more of our dishes (I promise you won't be disappointed.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

My husband and I had boxing day lunch here. What a lovely surprise the food was tasty, well presented, filling. We had the three courses and came away very contented and happy with what we had. This was our first visit, but having moved to the area it won't be our last. The staff were delightful and couldn't do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

A belated welcome to the area Valerie, and also a big thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am so glad you enjoyed your Boxing Day lunch and hope that we can offer many more memorable meals to you in the coming years.

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

11 neighbours and friends met here yet again for our annual pre-Christmas shindig ! All the arrangements went very very smoothly, thanks to the efficiency and friendliness of the Lion's management and serving staff. Meals were judged delicious and the service was exemplary. Many many thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninjawarrior1
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Well - many thanks to you for trusting us with your Christmas do and for your glowing review, we really appreciate the time taken to let us know you enjoyed your evening and, of course to let other people know you had a good experience. It was great to have you with us and we hope we will be able...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We visited this gem of a place with friends and had booked a table.On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff.The food was fantastic,very well presented,good sized portions and not over priced.The premises are very clean and the staff are attentive but not pestering,at no point were we rushed.We will be back soon I hope.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mr o
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Thank you Mr O (a little belatedly I am afraid) for your kind review. I do hope you are able to come again soon.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
10.9 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
11.3 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
820 reviews
10.4 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#4 of 8 in Ludlow
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
684 reviews
8.3 km away
The Clive Restaurant with Rooms
10.9 km away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Lion

Address: High Street, Leintwardine SY7 0JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Price Range: RM602 - RM615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Leintwardine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lion staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have baths and some showers only; ask at booking if you prefer one or the other”
 of 5 bubbles WendyL534, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can not rate the accommodation as we only used the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 436mro, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book well ahead”
 of 5 bubbles GB23C, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Well, we loved Room 1 looking out to the river and lovely old bridge.”
 of 5 bubbles jeremyw917, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 493pamelaw, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5