We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
New South Wales Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat explains it all, yes you can see the wildlife from the courtyard. This is not 5 star luxary accomodation. This is a wilderness Retreat and gosh to be with wild life at your front door..mmm awesom. We travelled from Currency Creek Vineyard after spending a night slow trip down the coast and stopped at Victor Harbor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina046
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel is basic and is located in probably the best spot to access the main attractions of the island. The rooms are similar to your normal motel room. The exception is the unique courtyard. All the staff were very welcoming - especially in the restaurant. After a long hot day it was great to have a shower then sit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
214 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Location is great, next to the entrance of the National Park, rooms are a bit gloomy, and the resort is perfect when you enjoy the atmosphere of a boy-scout camp. Food is really too pricey, but there is no alternative. A small house wallaby comes becking for food on your porch. We definitely recommend the koala evening walk in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

KIWR has a tremendous location- just at the entrance to Flinders Chase park- and was a perfect location for our 5 days on the island. We took two courtyard rooms with interconnected doors for 2 adults and 4 kids. The rooms are nothing fancy, but that's not why you come here. The food was unexpectedly good and became one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank lawsoniain
KIWR, General Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we cannot thank you enough for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you and your family here; we sincerely hope you visit us again in the future. Best Wishes More 

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had booked our room at Wilderness Retreat on-line and when we arrived there was no record of it - fortunately we had our print-out of the confirmation so we were pretty swiftly upgraded to a courtyard bath suite. I have to agree with some of the other reviews that we were slightly underwhelmed by the lack of luxury that... More 

Helpful?
Thank toasty754
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We were so disappointed with the Wilderness retreat. Our first impression was not good- the staff on the desk were quite rude and impatient. We chose the eco lodge rooms with bunk beds and a fold out (family with 3 kids). The fold out bed still had the old sheets with someone's dirty socks and undies in it. The bunk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
KIWR, General Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, we were grateful when you informed us of the condition of your apartment and agreed that this should not have happened. We immediately rectified this and gave you a full refund for the first night of your stay. We now have a brand new team of housekeepers who ensure that standards are consistently high. It is unfortunate that... More 

Travellers are raving about these Flinders Chase hotels

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
225 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in Kangaroo Island and this really was not long enough. I really wanted to get into Flinders Chase national park and thought that the Wilderness Retreat was the best option at this end of the Island. I was really looking forward to experiencing some 4 star hospitality and luxury as had been advertised. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dippy_sal
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

From all of the reviews, website and price I was expecting more of a luxury retreat. This was extremely basic and outdated. I can't remember the last time I've seen a shower that primitive. I understand respecting surroundings and being economical with water but it can still be done nicely on the inside. The food was terrible; very bland and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lalalandcitygirl
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

First of all, Kangaroo Island is a wonderful and unique place. It is bigger than one might imagine, it will take about 4 days to see it all, but we only had time for one night. Flinders Chase National Park is the best part, don't miss the Remarkable Rock and the Admirals Arch. We rented a room with the lowest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieWit
upstate new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

KIWR is located at the western end of Kangaroo Island, a few minutes drive from the Remarkable Rocks, Admirals Arch, and the Koala walk (the highlights of our three day trip to the island.) The setting is quiet - a good retreat. The rooms are rustic - the furniture and the carpets are quite dated, although the beds are comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ivy_professor

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
83.9 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
691 reviews
91.5 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in American River
370 reviews
107.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
121.1 km away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
171 reviews
2.2 km away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Price Range: RM426 - RM875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1and 2 are close to the reception and you could get the Wifi in your room”
 of 5 bubbles TheTrick70, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay more for a nicer room, the eco-lodge rooms are very tired”
 of 5 bubbles Nixxypies, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“need more lights”
 of 5 bubbles lizar955, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are in good area and not far from restaurant and breakfast hall.”
 of 5 bubbles lucianoferro61, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard suites have balconies so you can watch the wildlife”
 of 5 bubbles jones4m4m, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay