We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bua River Lodge

    10 km Off the Main M5 Salima To Nkhata Bay, Nkhotakota, Malawi
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NkhotakotaSee available hotels in Nkhotakota
    Traveller (131)
    Room & Suite (31)
    Dining (15)
    Kumbali Country Lodge
    130 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Kiboko Town Hotel
    217 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
    127 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Salima
     
    Crossroads Hotel
    174 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Overview
    • Excellent83%
    • Very good14%
    • Average2%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Paid Wifi
    Pool
    Room Service
    Suites
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Kumbali Country Lodge
    130 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Kiboko Town Hotel
    217 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
    127 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Salima
     
    Crossroads Hotel
    174 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Write a ReviewReviews (108)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 91 reviews

    Reviewed 3 November 2017

    FANTASTIC. The managers, Donna and Steven, are very nice , and Isaac, thanks for your great meals, Juma, thanks for your beautifull walks, Alvin, Frank, Johanne, (and the ones i forgot) thanks for all you did for us to make our stay unforgetable.Elephants all around...More

    Thank mwgraaf1960
    Reviewed 29 October 2017

    We were told in advance that ownership was changing: the former owner left and the new one did not finish the takeover yet. Mangement was for the meantime done by Donna and Steven from Tongole Logde further upriver. They are very kind and accurate people...More

    Thank RallyWise
    Reviewed 13 July 2017

    Bua River Lodge is a really special african experience. We stayed in the tents which felt luxurious with big beds and a beautiful open shower in our private section of the park. We loved the food and always had plenty to eat on the deck...More

    Thank Maya_Ventures
    Reviewed 15 May 2017

    The Bua River Lodge is one of kind! A small lodge located on the banks of the Bua River. John and his staff are amazingly welcoming. The food is delicious, and often makes you wonder " how'd they do that?" when you feel the remoteness...More

    Thank raerae123
    Response from buariverlodge, Manager at Bua River LodgeResponded 17 May 2017

    Many, many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed our food! And elephant visits have been quite frequent, so guest safety is our paramount concern. We look forward very much to hosting you again.

    Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

    We stayed two nights at the end of March. The river was high and everything was green. It was an interesting time to be there. Isaac was just so lovely and made me a vege packed lunch for our time travelling to our next destination....More

    Thank Ruth22
    Response from buariverlodge, Manager at Bua River LodgeResponded 7 April 2017

    So delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much at Bua, despite getting bitten! And thank you very much for your praise of the staff. I have printed this and shown them it - they were very happy indeed.

    Kumbali Country Lodge
    130 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Kiboko Town Hotel
    217 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
    127 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Salima
     
    Crossroads Hotel
    174 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Lilongwe
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$55 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Location
    • Malawi >
    • Central Region >
    • Nkhotakota
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (131)
    Room & Suite (31)
    Dining (15)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (95)
    Bathroom (4)
    Nearby
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Nora B
    24 January 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Andrew B | Reviewed this property |
    You can't. It is quite a drive to the park gates from the main road and then another few kilometres inside the park. Ask about a car/taxi to the gate and then arrange the lodge to collect you from the park gate.
    0
    Votes
    Rex A
    21 April 2016|
    Answer
    Response from buariverlodge | Property representative |
    Yes, we do. $10 per person per night. There are hot showers, a braai area and a basic kitchen for food preparation and dish washing. No electricity
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "All tents we saw are nice to stay."
    Read review
    "go for at least a riverside room to avoid a nasty climb"
    Read review
    "Budget rooms had just a candle, bed, mosquito coil and mosquito net. I loved it, not for everyone!"
    Read review
    "The tents offer great privacy, and the feeling that you are truly in nature."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing