We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Portofino Resort Tangalle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Portofino Resort Tangalle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portofino Resort Tangalle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We turned up on Christmas Eve for 4 nights after 10 'road trip' of Sri Lanka, so were ready to chill-out. We were aware of the additional $80 pp supplement for dinner, but were VERY unimpressed to be told we weren't allowed to order any wine/beer to accompany our most expensive dinner in Sri Lanka. (It was a full moon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LOVE2EAT56
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience that you mentioned in your review, we are humbled to inform you that at present we are reviewing all your comments and experience you had during the long stay of 04 days in the... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We ended our 400km bike ride around Sri Lanka at this hotel, and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff friendly and helpful.AC and wifi in the the room. The pool is nice place to spend the afternoon as at that time it's too hot and the seas too rough for the beach. But in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Minimum01
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, I thank you for your kind thoughts you shared of the resort and your review. We strive very hard to ensure that your stay is a memorable one and we always try go that extra mile to make your stay comfortable. My... More 

Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Nice enough location. Staff are lovely and friendly but need training as service can be ramshackle. Had much better buffets in less flash hotels in Sri Lanka. The curries are so bland and no bowl of the usual top up spice. Only have INSTANT coffee!!!!!! The breakfast buffet was very western and quite poor. Flies everywhere on the uncovered food.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheen W
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience that you mentioned in your review, we are humbled to inform you that at present we are reviewing all your comments and experience you had during your stay. Yes we identified the lack of... More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2016

As others have noted the resort is not as described, there is one restaurant only, the gym consistents of broken equipment and the pool while nice enough is of a pretty modest size. Our room on the ground floor was dark and dank and the beach is unswimmable for much of the time with strong currents. As a consequence we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Anne T
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience that you mentioned in your review in you 12 hrs stay in the Resort. We are humbled to inform you that at present we are reviewing all your comments. Reference to the Gym it was very... More 

kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We have just arrived (yesterday but i wanted to write a review as some that have been written are very unfair) we were welcomed after a very long drive(but we knew this) from the receptionist who presented me with a flower and then the manager took my husband and myself to our deluxe room which is lovely,clean and has many... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lyn63
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, I thank you for your kind sentiments you shared of the resort and your review. We strive very hard to ensure that your stay is a memorable one and we always try go that extra mile to make your stay comfortable. My... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Portofino hotel in Tangalle for two weeks with my family, including my one-year-old daughter, over Christmas 2015. Overall, we had a very nice stay, but there are several areas where the resort is far from perfect. The good points: - The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful - The spa is superb and the treatments... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank James H
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience that you mentioned in your review, we are humbled to inform you that at present we are reviewing all your comments and experience you had during the long stay of 13 days in the... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

A few really good points such as private beach and gorgeous rooms but sooooo many bad points like staff have no idea and pretty boring there, no atmosphere at all. It's also down a ridiculously bumpy road in the middle of no where so no taxi driver can find it and with the language barrier it's just impossible. Wouldn't recommend!!!!Sorry,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yummy999
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, I apologize on behalf of the management, I do agree that the road needs mending, this is the sole responsibility of the locale govt and we already taken it up with the authority. It was unavoidably not done due to the heavy... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Whenever I plan my holiday to Tangalle 212 has always been on the top of list . This resort is very isolated providing you the perfect hideaway to relax and enjoy . Easy access to the sea and pool is massive . Restaurant is just on a water way it is an absolute beauty . Very nicely landscaped garden and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HDSPat1984
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, I thank you for your kind introduction of resort and your genuine review. We strive very hard to ensure that your stay is a memorable one and you been pampered and taken care by our friendly staff. Appreciate your review. I certainly... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Interesting location, reasonable overall resort, nice beach but not for swimming. Very nice food and good prices. Nice pool and rooms which were clean. Average service but very friendly staff. Overall a nice place but expensive this time of year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience and the average service that you mentioned, we are humbled to inform you that at present we on a intensive training program with all colleagues in the resort to improve the quality of service.... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We had booked two rooms for 180$ each, but upon arrival on december 24 we were told to pay for a mandatory 100$ pr person Christmas buffet. In Sri Lanka this is a total rip off. We said that we would go somewhere else to eat, but we had no choice. We later learned that this was very typical for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DCEuropeans
Ian S, General Manager at Portofino Resort Tangalle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the hotel's management, please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience. We have inquired with our hotel's team regarding your complaint and have been informed that you were in fact not satisfied with reference to the mandatory supplement for xmas. We regret that we were... More 

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (342)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranna
1.3 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
1.5 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 14 in Tangalle
290 reviews
3.1 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tangalle
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
508 reviews
17.8 km away
Turtle Bay
Turtle Bay
#1 of 1 in Kalamatiya
380 reviews
1.5 km away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#3 of 14 in Tangalle
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portofino Resort Tangalle is a 4 star premium hideaway exuding historical Sri Lankan charm and hospitality, offering delectable gourmet cuisine, blending the pure bliss of relaxation with a secluded beach and presenting a once in a lifetime experience. The resort boasts 54 luxurious rooms with 49 deluxe rooms and 5 suites which are elegant and spacious with all modern amenities including air-conditioning, 42 inch LCD televisions, DVD players, WiFi, private balconies, tea and coffee facilities, mini bars, and comfortable king sized beds. The cottage styled rooms encompasses the swimming pool and its architecture emulates a colonial rustic ambience infused with modernity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portofino Resort Tangalle

Address: Kahandamodara Road, Ranna 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ranna
Price Range: RM240 - RM734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Resort Tangalle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Portofino Resort Tangalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portofino Resort Tangalle staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Portofino Resort Tangalle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Goundfloor poolside rooms are nice and spacious. Good for families with young kids.”
 of 5 bubbles BDSRP, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms by the pool side are great as they are both close to the pool and the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles GayangaK, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good in relaxing but hard in accessible”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Some of them is very small, you can ask for bigger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles zsuzsa0, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“we liked the first floor best”
  • Bathroom in the suite (with bathtub and shower on the other side)
  • party time
 of 5 bubbles 543sidr, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay