We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Sands Country Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuruman
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Red Sands Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a trip to Botswana and decide to stay at Red Sands just outside Kuruman for one stop. Some of our team camped and they were very happy with the facilities. We stayed in one of the chalets and it was great. Restaurant food was good and the service was pretty sharp. The Manager was hands on in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillemlR
Kuruman, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

December 2016 one of my friend got married and hosted their reception at Red Sands. This location is so well set up and offers all required for a pleasant experience. The food is always of the higheste standards and cannot be faulted. I have visited Red Sands frequently during the last 15 years and even held my own wedding reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreyern74
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Comfortable, well appointed and spacious cottages are situated around the main lodge that offers an excellent restaurant. Plenty for the kids, and adults, to do to relieve the discomfort of long distance travel. A few kilometers from Kuruman it is an ideal stop over while en route to Kgalagadi or Northern Cape Flora.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23DaveG
South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The rooms have been updated since our last visit a year ago, and it has been done very well, by a person who notices detail :) Our room was very clean, very quiet, and was well equipped for self catering. Choose one of the chalets on the hill, they have a nice view. We stopped over the christmas days, when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank europeholidays
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Our chalet were broken into in early hours of the 26th of December. All our doors were locked, but the robbers managed to break open the sliding door just 3 meters from where we slept. They went into the children's bedroom and stole a cell that was on the nightstand right between the beds. Stole my husbands wallet and wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WilmaVermeulen
RichardKaufmann, Owner at Red Sands Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wilma It saddens me to hear about your horrible experience at our establishment. As you have noticed, we have taken many measures to ensure our guests safety and security and even in spite of it, this has happened. I know that no wording can repair this damage and we are looking at new ways to tighten security even more....

Helsinki
Reviewed 2 January 2017

On our trip from JNB airport to the Kgalagadi park we have stop at red Sand for one night. Because of the insecurity at Kuruman, we have choosen to pass via kimberley ... It was perhaps a mistake, it took around 8 hours for us to reach this destination and the restaurant was closed. The staff is nice and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThierryIT
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We visit the lodge on 18 December 2016. Much to our suprise the restaurant close that night until January 2017. No breakfast available . We booked there before because of the nice buffet and breakfis. We wanted to visit the lodge again on our return trip but wil stay now at another venue in Kuruman that will supply meals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gert D
Richard K, Owner at Red Sands Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gert Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise that our restaurant was closed over the period that you stayed here. This year we have decided to close over the festive period as it is normally our quietest time and wanted to award our staff the opportunity to spend time with their families over Christmas. We tried...

loomis ca
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Just looking to break up the drive from KTP to JNB and decided on this. What a lovely place with exceptional guest service. Rather than camp which we usually do, we opted for a chalet. $840R including breakfast. A sweet place, lots o windows, clean, hot shower, mini frig, coffee and tea making facilities. A place under cover to park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
Reviewed 6 December 2016

A very neat and well run lodge where everything works. I stayed in November and enjoyed every minute. The restaurant served one of the best steaks I have ever eaten and the service is fantastic. The Lodge is set just off the road out of Kuruman and if you are travelling in that direction and looking for a place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Visiting Red Sands was super, enjoyed a dip in the swimming pool and a memorable walk through the surrounding hills. Also seeing the wildlife in the area. A great attraction for family and friends...lots to do! Professional staff on hand!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cedric P

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuruman hotels
4.8 km away
Cunningham Cottage
Cunningham Cottage
#1 of 13 in Kuruman
50 reviews
2.9 km away
Klipwerf Guest House
Klipwerf Guest House
#4 of 13 in Kuruman
20 reviews
4.6 km away
Kuruman Inn
Kuruman Inn
#7 of 11 in Kuruman
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
No photo provided
5.8 km away
Amaziah Guesthouse
Amaziah Guesthouse
#9 of 13 in Kuruman
8 reviews
4.2 km away
No photo provided
Casa Linge Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Kuruman
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Red Sands Country Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Sands Country Lodge

Address: N14, Kuruman 8460, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kuruman
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sands Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Red Sands Country Lodge Kuruman, Northern Cape
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Sands Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Red Sands Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for chalet close to the restaurant - some are quite a walk away.”
WillemlR, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request a room away from the entrance road.”
23DaveG, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are chalets with kitchen, or smaller rondawels without. Chalets on the hill have a nice view.”
europeholidays, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cottages or camping depending on your flavour!”
cedricp500, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early. They are popular.”
ruizr8780, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5