We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunston Hall

Save
Share
Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$174
US$122
View deal
SAVE US$52
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$122
HurbUS$174
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1046)
Room & Suite (297)
Dining (93)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Dunston Hall their hotel of choice when visiting Stoke Holy Cross. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Dunston Hall Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and newspaper. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Travellers looking to enjoy some crab can head to Stoke Mill Contemporary Fine Dining or The Wildebeest. Otherwise, you may want to check out a seafood restaurant such as Stoke Holy Cross Fish N Chips.

At Dunston Hall, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Stoke Holy Cross.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3725Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,189
  • 988
  • 781
  • 450
  • 318
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sharon W wrote a review Yesterday
25 contributions8 helpful votes
If anyone thinks Dunston Hall is nice, think again. We arrived to check in at 3.00pm..room not ready, back to car with bags on hottest day. Sent to bar and told we would get table service..20 mins later still sitting waiting while they cleared afternoon tea tables and ignored us. Swim area has no steam room working. Well, on to dinner..food lovely but sat us in with a group of drunken golfers..my head was hurting from their noise, couldn't wait to escape to our room with a bottle of wine. Breakfast was good, but we had to suffer the same group of golfers again reliving the third hole, or some boring nonsense...wish the hole had swallowed them up! noisy inconsiderate people, and Dunston Hall needs to decide what it is or find a proper location for them so they don't spoil any other evenings. It seems majorly under staffed but on the plus side, they are polite but obviously stressed. Our room was pleasant but too warm even with a ceiling fan.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check in advance that all facilities available to avoid disappointment. You only get a 1 hour...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded yesterday
Thank you W4895PMsharonw for your review following your visit to the hotel. It was disappointing to read your comments but pleased to see your room was pleasant and the staff polite. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
Sarlly wrote a review 12 Jun
Soham, United Kingdom31 contributions15 helpful votes
From the outside, Dunstan Hall looks very grand and a high class hotel, but I’m afraid is was anything but. The interior is extremely dated and of need some major refurbishment. We stayed in the Kellet Wing, the carpets were threadbare in many areas and the common areas were very brown, if you know what I mean. We unfortunately forgot out toothpaste and after a couple of requested to get some from reception, we were informed that the hotel didn’t have any they could offer us! Pretty unbelievable! There are very limited complimentary toiletries, no shower gel, there were no sockets beside the beds so had to charge my phone/alarm clock the other side of the room. No porcelain cups or mugs, just paper cups you’d get from one of the many coffee retailers. All in all, not worth the money they are charging!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you Sarlly for your review following your visit to the hotel. I was sorry to read you found your stay very disappointing but am pleased to tell you that the hotel is due to be refurbished this year so the comments you mention about the hotel being extremely dated will be addressed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
AJP444222 wrote a review 9 Jun
Walsall, United Kingdom77 contributions60 helpful votes
Really disappointed with our two night stay. There is no way that this hotel deserves a 4 star rating. Our bedroom was very dated and the furniture was very shabby and badly marked. Carpet was old and very badly stained, as if someone had spilt a lot of bleach on the carpet. The bathroom sink had a huge crack all the way across the base and the bath panel was broken and dirty. The room was extremely dusty - one swipe of the bedside lamp left your fingertip covered in dust. Bad enough at the best of times, but quite appalling in the current climate I totally agree with comments made by other reviewers regarding the grounds, which could be lovely, but were strewn with litter and dirty glasses in flower beds. We saw the same discarded lucozade bottle another reviewer refers to and it was indeed there on consecutive days. We ordered drinks on two occasions and both orders were incorrect when delivered - not a difficult task when the order was for just two drinks. I understand the need for paper cups rather than china in the room, but as others have said, two cups which are not replaced basically means you can have one drink each during your stay! We complained to the duty manager on check out and showed the photos we had taken to evidence the very poor state of the room. We were eventually given a 20% refund - not great and, I believe, inadequate compensation. The first offer was for a preferential rate 'next time'. I explained that we would not wish to give them our further business and spend more money with them based on this stay. We did visit a couple of years ago which had been better. The hotel is in a good location but we will not be returning. Overall, extremely disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you AJP444222 for your review following your visit to the hotel. It was disappointing to read your comments but can assure you that the points you raised about your room will be addressed when our rooms are refurbished. I can only apologise for the problems you experienced with litter and service in the bar and rooms. Please be assured I will be speaking to the relevant managers so the points you raised can be addressed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
papapp wrote a review 9 Jun
england254 contributions125 helpful votes
I was looking forward to my trip here but was sorely disappointed The only positives I can say about this hotel are the location, view from the room and pool area I had called a couple of weeks ago to upgrade to a suite , received e mail confirmation which luckily I had taken with me . When we arrived staff were not aware so there were no avaliable suites . We were given the bridal suite which had an amazing view but that is where the positives stopped . The room is dated, dusty , full of old clumpy dowdy furniture , It had not been cleaned as there was confetti and nail clippings on the floor along with hairs in the bath. Loo seat was v loose . Carpet had a strange join right through the middle of it which was freyed in places.There was no drinks package in the room as per web siteand only 1 paper cup per person A staff member did eventaully come and hoover and tighten up the loo seat Outside terrace was litter strewn- we saw the same discarded lucozade bottle on Sunday. Monday and yesterday.Tthere were tissues and used face masks laying on the ground . No staff member seemed bothered to pick litter up There is renovation going on so some lifts were out of order but this was not mentioned at check in Breakfast is very disorganised You queue one way for cold and the other way for hot but there is no one stopping guests walking between the queues to exit . On Tuesday I witnessed one woman walk through with her mask dangling from her wrist like a decoration. When I mentioned it to a staff member there seemed to be no concern- just" Oh yes I notced that" Well do something about it!!!!! . Guests are asked to wear masks in communal places but obviously some coach party members feel this does not include them. Also be warned if your stay is less than 3 nights you wont get your room serviced . Apparently this is in line with government guidance but there is nothing in the room to tell you this . We found this out to our cost when we returned at 430pm to find no bed made or clean cups Drinking out of the same 1 paper cup for 2 days does not constitute 4 star service in my book . If this si the standard of Q hotels I for one will not be booking into another one
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: golf course view would be best
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you papapp for your review following your visit to the hotel. I was extremely disappointed to read your comments but please be assured I will be discussing all your feedback with my Management Team so the points you raised can be addressed and the necessary training implemented. I can confirm that the room you stayed in is due to be refurbished so will no longer be dated. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
Sharon S wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution
Stayed 5 June 20211 for 1 night but wish we could have be able to use the sauna ,steam room but wasn't open .jacuzzi was one person only and very limit numbers allowed in health club which have to book a hour slot. Breakfast and dinner times very limit this time The biggest thing is clearly staff look stress and the hotel was very under staff and waiting time in bar for drinks and meals were a very long time coming . This stay wasn't as relax as previous time we stay .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David Graham, General Manager at Dunston Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you sharonsN821NP for your review following your visit to the hotel. I was sorry to read you had service issues you experienced with us resulting in your stay not being as relaxing as the previous time your visited. Please be assured the Management Team and myself are working hard to rectify this. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards David Graham General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunston hall de vere hotel norwich, de vere dunston hall norwich, dunston hall norwich, dunston hall hotel, de vere dunston hall hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Dunston Hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwichStoke Holy Cross
NUMBER OF ROOMS
166
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dunston Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Dunston Hall?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Norwich (6.1 km), Cryptic Escape (6.8 km), and Clued Up! Escape Rooms (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dunston Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Dunston Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dunston Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dunston Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saporita Norwich, That Café, Norwich, and Gem of Norwich.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dunston Hall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Dunston Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Stoke Holy Cross.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dunston Hall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dunston Hall?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dunston Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Dunston Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (6.8 km), History Mystery (6.5 km), and Norwich Cathedral (6.9 km).