We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 218: English reviews
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with some friends to complete the 3 Peaks challenge. I would recommend you don't use room 4 if you want to go to sleep before the bar closes and to stay asleep past 6am. As the rm is on the first landing and everyone has to go past your room repeatedly it seems. The bed liner was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annlou15
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Clean, tidy & comfortable accomodation and good home cooked food in walkers portions made for another excellent visit to the Crown (and the Old Peculier was as good as ever). All together with a great Yorkshire welcome from the Millman family. If you are expecting the Ritz or "drizzles & jus'" with your food then this is not for you... More 

Helpful?
Thank kensmith2015
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the crown for 2 nights for my birthday whilst me and my partner walked the famous three peaks. Staff are so friendly and welcoming, the rooms are cosy and comfortable. The food is absolutely delicious and the location is perfect situated right outside the start to the walk up the mountains.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Finished our walk at 5.45 and headed for the hospitality of the local hostelry. My husband ordered a pint and all I wanted was a nice Yorkshire brew. Nothing hot said the bar man until 6.00pm, so I had a soft drink, then at 6.15 my husband went back to bar and asked for a tea, he was told no... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Marzipan50
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I stayed at the beginning of September as I was doing the Yorkshire 3-Peaks. Landlord, landlady and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and was perfectly fine for me. I thought the food was really excellent and the menu catered for the right type of customer. The breakfast was also excellent. To be honest,... More 

Helpful?
Thank iandewhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I recently called in for a drink after a long walk it was a extremely hot day I had a dog with me I had used all my water up on the walk had extra for the dog .i thought there would have been a water dish for dogs outside as many cafes and pubs have in the Yorkshire dales... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank toinger

Travellers are raving about these Horton-in-Ribblesdale hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This pub is in a great location as it is 5 mins from the end of the 3 peaks. The first thing the majority of people want to do after walking 24 miles is grab an ice cold beer! Anyway a group of 6 of us popped in for a post walk beverage. The pub lacks character and charm, probably... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Meehanlaura
manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This place sums up the worst of what used to be passed off as the British hospitality trade - I didn't think places like this existed any more. This place is in a prime spot in Horton-in-Ribblesdale, a popular centre centre for the Three Peaks walk. Called in for a drink after a long walk but the pub was empty,... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank cheadleblue
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Luckily we do survive , despite the negative reviews. As another customer just said this site does not do us any justice. Obviously you didn't hang around long enough to witness this. Maybe if you called again you would see we are very friendly, serve good food and good beer. Signs are there for the small minority they apply to.... More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Unfriendly and in need of some tender loving care, seemed unwilling to help or seem interested in the customer, did not eat, following comments from others beer so-so....all in all a big disappointment as should be part of the wonderful experience that is The 3 Peaks Challenge...shame

Helpful?
4 Thank Keith602015
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms are very over priced, you are charged the same whether you are in a large room with a bath or a teeny tiny room with a teeny tiny shower, broken lamp and broken toilet seat!! The decor is very tired looking!! The owners are so unwelcoming and rude, the atmosphere is awful!! If it wasn't for the fact... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Mary E
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

This is the lady who thought it was ok to give her key to people to use her room to get showered and changed who were not booked in with us but were part of their walking group . Until we stopped her. When challenged she said it was her room she could allow who she wanted to use the... More 

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
9.8 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
267 reviews
7.2 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
441 reviews
5.9 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Green Grove Country House
Green Grove Country House
#1 of 2 in Bell Busk
184 reviews
0.0 km away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 5 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
14 reviews
6.8 km away
Dalesbridge House
Dalesbridge House
#19 of 21 in Settle
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Horton In Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range: RM429 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Smithfamily40, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the wheelchair accessible room on the ground floor and can recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles Buddleja_11, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a en-suite shower and not just a walk in wet room”
 of 5 bubbles hman72, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Double and twin rooms are equally spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles CathyG59, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 only has a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Steve2826, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay