We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dormy House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Dormy House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dormy House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the Dormy Hotel twice in two days and the food was fantastic! The first night we ate off the menu and on the second night we had the buffet from the servery. The buffet had a great variety and was expertly cooked by the chef James. It was great value for money. The staff were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My family group, seven in total, including three children, visited today. Two adults and three children ate from the All you can eat Servery (available Tuesday and Thursday). A wide range of food to suit most people's taste buds. Particular favourite from my 6 year olds was the cottage pie and the bbq ribs, and of course the dough balls!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie A
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, glad to hear you enjoyed the food, and thank you for bringing to my attention the issue with the Servery being brought in, this should have not happened, we usually ask if everyone has finished, so my apologies for that. I will look into who was serving you when you...

Suffolk
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We visit the area every year and always go to the Dormy to eat our evening meals. We were delighted that the all you can eat severy was back again this year. This was absolutely delicious as was all the other meals we had.I was so full up after the severy after trying lots of different dishes which all looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brilliantJersey
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon.

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We decided last minute to get away late in the day. We usually camp but all campsites and b&bs were booked up understandably. I saw a double room available and called the hotel direct. They were really helpful and gave us a discount as on the day last minute booking. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NVisick
Essex
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We visit the area yearly and always go to Dormy House for the carvery at least once during our stay. Disappointed then to find that this year, the midweek carvery has been replaced by an 'all you can eat' buffet. It was awful. The strangest selection of dishes none of which looked particularly appetising and tasted little better. I suppose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura121
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Just for your information, the All you can eat Servery is only on Tuesday's and Thursday's. And on those day's we also offer our full Menu, so if you didn't like what you saw, you should have ordered from that. However we do get very good feed back from our regular customers. Guess we can't please everyone.

Lncs
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Hotel room was clean, comfortable and well light. Food was good, standard hotel fare, but given the quality and quantity we felt it represented good value. (Though my wife thought her mango roulade was superb.) Breakfast however was excellent; good array of cereals and yogurts with a wonderful full English, cooked to order, and also an equally good smoked salmon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Spacious restuarant comfortable table Excellent Carvery good selection of meats and veg Only used the restuarant but if accomadation is as good as the dining this is definatly the place to stay if you choose North Norfolk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We booked in for the carvery on a Sunday evening and chose to have the gammon and turkey options. Both meats were very nicely cooked, still moist and not dried out. There was a good choice of vegetables and all were in good condition - not dried out by being kept warm. We had a good choice of deserts as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterL40
Lowestoft
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We first visited Dormy House Hotel 25 to 30 years ago when it was under the personal supervision of John and Jean Jarvis, and there were only a few rooms. Since that time it has gradually been enlarged, and – although it is still owned by the Jarvis family – the ‘personal touch’ has gone and it is now has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OllyLowestoft
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Visited for the carvery on a Saturday evening for the first time. Was very quiet and as such not many staff about. Restaurant was quiet for a Saturday, not much atmosphere. Opted for the carvery, though would like to try something from the main menu in future as it looked a good menu. Food was very good, though not exceptional....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Runton
0.7 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.0 km away
The Cliftonville Hotel
4.5 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sandcliff Guest House
3.8 km away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
322 reviews
3.6 km away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the pretty village of West Runton discover the natural beauty of the small coastal Norfolk village of West Runton, it is in an ideal place to stay for playing Golf, Horse-riding, Fishing, or enjoying beautiful country and coastal walks with nearby bird watching facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Cromer Road, West Runton, Cromer NR27 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > West Runton
Price Range: RM413 - RM775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dormy House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear of the hotel looks over to the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 842JenniferS, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The hotel does have a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreyh467, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only used the restuarant”
 of 5 bubbles 41mickb, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the rear of the hotel - sea view too!”
 of 5 bubbles PeterL40, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There is a Lift only to the First Floor. The Second Floor is accessed via stairs. Some of the rooms have a side sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles OllyLowestoft, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay