We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Pulau Mantanani Besar, Kota Belud 89150 Malaysia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Best Available Rate with Full Board
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Hotels.com
US$169
View deal
Priceline
US$132
View deal
Booking.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$169
Trip.comUS$152
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (174)
Pool & Beach (50)
Room & Suite (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 15/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 15/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Kota Belud
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on a pristine beach, Sutera@Mantanani is an oasis located on the idyllic island of Mantanani Besar; a hidden gem blessed with natural wonders and rich marine life. Featuring 20 Beach Chalets, built in a minimalistic style yet very inviting as well as cosy and 8 spacious, comfy Deluxe rooms, Sutera@Mantanani promises an island gateway like never before. Haven for recreational divers, it is also one of the most sought after spots for snorkeling and other sea activities such as kayaking and fishing. Sutera@Mantanani is also a perfect gateway for couples. Take a stroll along the white sandy beaches and watch the spectacular evening sunset on this secluded yet beautiful and romantic island for that perfect time just the two of you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
Malay
Hotel links
Special Offer:Relax & Refresh

Location

Contact
Pulau Mantanani Besar, Kota Belud 89150 Malaysia
43Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 5
  • 6
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Silver_sly wrote a review 5 Aug
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Have stayed 4 nights for work trip & found out this beautiful island is magical with friendly staff.The HOD are very humble & working hard together and enggaged daily with their staff. Some areas can be improve to make this resort more alive especially night time.Maybe can put in your list night activities seeing the blue tears with all guest inhouse, mini zoo,night performance or anything instead of empty night
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sze Moi C wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Mantanani Island, with its white sandy beaches and emerald waters, is a tranquil and pristine holiday destination for those who would like to relax and enjoy the seaview. The ‘All-Inclusive Package’ offered by Sutera Mantanani Resort is a value for money package. It includes a 2-way boat transfer, accommodation, four meals (breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner) and activities like snorkelling, kayaking, ATV ride, board games and blue tears watching at night (depending on the weather and season). My friends and I chose the Beach Chalet facing the sea for our package and we went on a sunset cruise to Lungisan Island which was optional for the guests (additional RM16 per person). The sunset view in the middle in the sea was absolutely stunning. We were mesmerized by the picturesque view of the sea and its surrounding as well as the beautifully-lit resort at night. Special thanks to Mr. Ahmad, the manager of the resort, who tended to our needs and went beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. All in all, the dedicated and attentive nature of Mr. Ahmad and his team made our stay memorable and wonderful. I highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting Mantanani Island and hope to come back again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Premium Sea View Chalet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Dear Szemoic, Thank you for posting 5-Star review in our TripAdvisor page. We are thrilled to learn that you had an amazing experience with us. The hospitality that have extended and provided have always been our pride .Nothing puts a smile on all our faces than knowing that all our warm and friendly employees have accommodated you well. Your compliments are a great encouragement to our team and we eagerly await for the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, General Manager Sutera @ Mantanani
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marty wrote a review Jul 2022
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia19 contributions50 helpful votes
A few days ago stayed at premium chalet.early morning woke up by the noise thief pry open my lock about to come in.i shout at thief and he fled.have to call sutera harbour resort kota kinabalu to get security here come to my chalet because the reception here close at 9pm.there is a village nearby,wonder the thief is from there.sutera mantanani need to improve their security and increase personal security,need to take this matter seriously for the sake of tourists safety.those who stay here make sure get emergency number from the the reception just in case.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear hoday, Thank you for posting your review in our TripAdvisor page. First and foremost, we wish to sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incident which you’ve encountered during your stay with us. Please rest assured that our guests safety is our priority and we have taken immediate action to ensure such incident does not befall to our other guest. We take your feedback seriously and we hope that this incident have not marred your overall stay experience with us and we do hope to welcome you again in future. Best regards, General Manager Sutera @Mantanani Island Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johan A wrote a review Jul 2022
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia417 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
If you are short of time, Sutera Mantanani is an ideal place to chill, soak and experience all the good things Sabah beaches can offer such as white, sandy beach and blue green ocean. Getting there, we boarded the resort bus from Magellan Sutera at 645 am and arrived at the jetty around 845 am. After filling out some forms and waiting for a few more travellers, we boarded the boat around 10 and arrived around 1030 am. Lots of activity available such as kayaking, snorkeling and diving to keep guests occupied between meals. Rooms are decent sized and clean. We had a sea front facing chalet and although it rained heavily one night, we still had a very comfortable sleep. Although f&b was basic, and resort could do better with an additional bar cafe, wait staff and chefs were friendly, accommodating and as my group had vegetarians, chef made sure their dietary requirements were catered for. Some debris on the beach that spoiled the ambiance. With a bit more regular maintenance of beach front, the resort can be a real gem for the time conscious and those that want to experience island life.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Johan A, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are sorry that you found your island gateway with us a bit discouraging, due to debris found on the shores. Sutera@Mantanani Island Resort & Spa is a friend to the environment and we practice stringent upkeep of our beach as well as the surrounding areas. As vigilant as our team has been in maintaining the cleanliness of the Resort, garbage from the sea washes up to the shores more frequently than we expected. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize for the experience that did not meet your expectation. We do however, remain faithful to welcoming you back for a more positive experience. Best regards, General Manager Sutera@Mantanani
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pseo84 wrote a review Jul 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia153 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Booked this island excursion through the main hotel at sutera harbour. It's convenient and fuss free for those who don't like the hassle of planning on your own. It's a small island without much to do, but there are some activities included as a package. I was a little disappointed that the trampoline and inflatable slide were broken. Perhaps they had been left unused for too long. The beach is very dirty. The plastic bottles and debris washed ashore spoiled an otherwise beautiful view of the mountains
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear PSeo84, Thank you for taking your time to post a review in our Trip Advisor page. We are delighted that you had chosen Sutera at Manantani Island Resort as your island getaway trip in Kota Kinabalu. Here at Sutera @ Mantanani, we offer many activities such as snorkeling, ATV ride, beach soccer, kite flying and many more which cater to both adults and children. Sutera@Mantanani Island Resort & Spa is also a friend to the environment and we practice stringent upkeep of our beach as well as the surrounding areas. Unfortunately, as vigilant as our team has been in maintaining the cleanliness of the Resort, garbage from the sea washes up to the shores more frequently than we expected. We do however apologize for some the experiences that did not meet to your expectation. As our valued guest, your comment has been well noted as it is imperative for us to ensure that our guests' expectations are being met and exceeded. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Sutera@Mantanani. Best regards, General Manager Sutera@ Mantanani
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hippycowboydude d wrote a review May 2022
Kyle12 contributions12 helpful votes
Good: -friendly staff -great food -great scuba diving -beautiful white sand beach with many beautiful shells -warm turquoise water -awesome view of Mt. Kinabalu -beautiful beachfront cabins Bad: -resort area is small and you are not allowed to leave the grounds due to Covid. - no coral (all dead) and just a few tiny fish may be seen when snorkeling the island. Off shore Scuba trips are awesome though (according to my son). -no beer was available during my 2 night stay as they had not stocked up adequately. Hot beer did arrive on my second night but was undrinkable due to the temp. - no refrigerators available in the cabins. - they play an annoying soundtrack on a continuous loop in the common areas, it’s the only soundtrack they have and it almost drove me insane. -ATV rental is free (30 minutes) but the area to ride is very small. About half the size of a football field. -TV in rooms only play 3 lousy channels. A great place to go and read a book enjoy the beach and get the required photo ops. By the second day though I was bored and more than ready to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Dear derbna, Thank you for taking the time to review us at our TripAdvisor page. We are delighted that you and family enjoyed your stay with us. The hospitality that were provided had always been our pride and nothing put a smile on our faces knowing that our friendly employees have accommodate you well. We would also like to apologize for the shortcomings which you had encounter during your stay. We value your feedback and will improve our services and facilities to serve our guest better. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our Resort. Best Regards, General Manager Sutera @ Mantanani Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennyjamesuk wrote a review May 2022
Camberley, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had one night and two days on the island and it was beautiful. Snorkelling, kayaking and ATV were all included in the price so we only paid extra for banana boat. Chalet was lovely, beds super comfortable, fridge stocked with bottles of water and great Aircon. Yes, the beach had some trash on it but they have been closed a long time and there’s lots in the ocean to wash up. Great retreat to get away from it all, switch off and reconnect with family.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Wear a T shirt (or rash vest if you can) when snorkelling as you have to wear a life vest which...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Jenny, Thank for rating us 5-Star review at our TripAdvisor page. We are thrilled to know that you and family had a good island gateway with us and that you have been accommodated well. As vigilant as our team has been in maintaining the cleanliness of the Resort, garbage from the sea washes up to the shores more frequently than we expected. Rest assured we value all guests feedback and we will definitely improve on the points you have raised. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Sutera @ Mantanani Resort. Best regards, General Manager Sutera@ Mantanani Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slayz wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
This place is awesome. The scenery is breathtaking. The food are wonderful. The staffs are all friendly especially Hasriezul. He was super helpful and managed to get me there even I was late. Will visit here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Dear Slayz, Thank you for posting 5-Star review in our TripAdvisor page. We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay with us and that our staff have accommodated you well. The service and hospitality that have been extended to our values guest such as yourself has always been our pride. Your compliments are great encouragement to our team and we look forward to welcome you back to Sutera @ Mantanani. Best regards, General Manager Sutera @ Mantanani
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nawill wrote a review Jan 2022
Penang Island, Malaysia1 contribution
Our experience at Sutera @ Mantanani Resort was great. Room is clean & comfortable with good water presure. Our view from the room was magnificent. All staffs are warm, friendly and always ready to help. Special thanks to Mr. Hasriezul (S&R) and Mr. Adi ( Divercity) for the hospitality provided during our visit at your beautiful island, you make us feel like home.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Dear Traveler33795142703, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are thrilled that you had an amazing experience during your stay with us. All our staff and the hospitality that they provided have always been our pride and nothing puts a smile on all our faces than knowing that all our warm and friendly employees have accommodated. Your compliments are a great encouragement to our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, General Manager Sutera @Mantanani Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chanelwoo123 wrote a review Jan 2022
Singapore, Singapore109 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
Becareful with the extra charge and it is not as published. It was dissapointed with the management and I think I was been overcharged with no free stay for the small kids as they mention in the agent published. I booked a night here with very sure the advertisement is free stay for kids between 0-11 years. But I was been charge for this. When call the the management the management refuse it and they change the policy immediately but luckily I was screenshot the policy earlier. And when called agent the agent said they they have no proof. Oh my.. Other than that the beach also so dirty and the room was old. But the staff uin the hotel was nice but not the hq staff talking like the hell.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Dirty beach
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Harbour, Owner at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Dear Chanelwoo123, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. We wish to express our sincere apology to the unpleasant experience that your encounter during your stay with us. Please be assured that this is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on. Rest assured that this matter will be discussed seriously with the department involved for improvement and rectification. It is only through caring guests such as yourself that we are able to continually monitor, improve our standard and services. At Sutera@Mantanani Island Resort & Spa, we practice stringent upkeep of our beach as well as the surrounding areas. Unfortunately, this time is the monsoon season in Borneo. As vigilant as our team has been in maintaining the cleanliness of the Resort, garbage from the sea washes up to the shores more frequently than we expected. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize for the experience that did not meet your expectation. We remain faithful to welcoming you back for a more positive experience. Best regards, General Manager Sutera @ Mantanani
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahKota Belud DistrictKota Belud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Sutera at Mantanani Island Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.