We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Mollymook Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great place to stay while exploring the many beautiful gorges nearby. Restaurant amazing. Friendly staff especially Nathan- what a gem!!!! Facilities suit the location- you are in the red centre!!! Clean & comfortable. Weather was hot but aircon worked a treat and pool lovely.

Helpful?
Thank 58Rhonda58
Solothurn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are a young couple and camped couple if nights! Well located to explore the West Macs, the restaurant is pricey but food is great! Friendly staff and very clean! The gorge is close and great for a Swim

Helpful?
Thank reisefudi
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

What a fabulous resort with amazing food. I have visited this establishment on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed their hospitality. The food is fresh and beautifully cooked and this place is an oasis in the desert. Staff are really helpful. Prices are moderate, but remember you are out in the middle of nowhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Xanerin
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback. While we are aware of some shortfalls in the experience at Glen Helen we are also extremely proud of our restaurant, staff and the general welcoming atmosphere that we aim to create; it's always a treat to hear from someone who appreciates the same things. Hopefully we will see you back again soon... More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The accommodation is basic which would be fine if they charge prices appropriate for the standard. They are over priced. Staff are generally helpful but did not go out of way to help with advice on area. In summary I would not bother with this place as you can get to all places from Alice Springs easily It is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand that the experience can fall short in some ways and while renovations are currently underway to enhance the visitor experience I can see that that is of no consolation to your stay. I hope that you were still able to enjoy the wonderful West MacDonnell Ranges and the remainder of... More 

Travellers are raving about these West MacDonnell National Park hotels

Alexandra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Great little stopover with friendly staff and lovely fresh meals (chicken salad was delicious). Highly recommended the helicopter ride to get an amazing view of the surrounding area with our pilot Keiron giving us so much insight into the outback life.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel T H
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Carmel, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It's always a treat to hear from people who have really been wowed by the homestead and surrounding area, as you can imagine we are pretty fond of it so it's nice to see people share in that. Thanks again Stacey More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We camped on a powered site for 2 nights. The are pretty small sights, with only just enough width for a caravan or camper trailer and awning. You won't be able to get any pegs in the ground and you will have to unhitch to fit your car. The bathrooms were not all that clean, and the taps and showerheads... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amelia T
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Amelia, Thank you for sharing your experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge. While we can also see that the camping area has some limitations, a lack of grass definitely being one of them, it is still good to hear that you were able to appreciate the view, the gorge and of course our friendly staff. Also my apologies for... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed in the rooms which really do need a refurbishment especially for the price charged. The restaurant was decent and the live music was terrific. I would have given a higher rating than average if not for Ana (one of the staff). I know it's hard to get decent staff in the outback, but does it take much to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mmao
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge. Although it comes after your stay we are happy to share that refurbishment works are underway in the motel rooms. We believe this will make for a more enjoyable experience for all future guests. Overall we are very pleased with our staff and do not experience difficulty attracting... More 

Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This place has an amazing view but is let down by overpriced and sad rooms. Rooms are very small but they are very tired. The bathroom was terrible and the whole place smelled of cheap disinfectant. The carpets are past it and the decor,well there there really isn't one. Linen had seen better days.That said the view is great as... More 

Helpful?
Thank N3654KRadamm
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. As you have pointed out renovations are already underway in the motel rooms so you can see that is being addressed. It's a shame that you did not find the restaurant to be up to... More 

Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

While we weren't expecting too much from this place it was very poor, with its best days some 20 years past. The rooms are not basic, they are small, dirty, too small to even open a suitcase apart from on the bed, old linen, frayed towels, no light cover, a sliding door on the bathroom. When I asked for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curl2609
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge We agree that our rooms are not to everyones taste however refurbishment works are currently underway which we believe will make for a much more pleasant experience. I'm glad that you enjoyed the Glen Helen Gorge and the surrounding area. Stacey More 

Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Was told on arrival about the award winning restaurant and to book before 5pm. Went to book at 4pm and was told there was a waiting list very long and u won't get in. No takeaway but you could buy your own meat and cook it yourself, but not for $17 for one piece of steak!!! Amenities were disgusting and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge. Unfortunately seating in our restaurant is extremely limited as is space in our kitchen with only 2 staff fitting to cater for between 80-100 guests each night. I will also follow up your observations regarding the amenities. We do employ a full time cleaner who attends to all... More 

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, previously known as Glen Helen Resort is a Lodge style property with simple, compact and comfortable rooms, great scenic location with old fashioned welcome and outback atmosphere.We are renowned for great personal service, great dining in our Award Winning Restaurant and great live entertainment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Address: 1 Namatjira Drive | West MacDonnell Ranges Via Alice Springs, West MacDonnell National Park, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Glen Helen Resort)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > West MacDonnell National Park
Price Range: RM479 - RM595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Helen Homestead Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Helen Homestead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glen Helen Homestead Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glen Helen Homestead Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room, if they are completed. Otherwise carry on to Alice Springs.”
 of 5 bubbles N3654KRadamm, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all about the same, ones facing the ranges give a better view”
 of 5 bubbles oldie_9, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own tent or caravan :-/”
  • Fridge and provided insect repellant spray
 of 5 bubbles x57, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“No worries all pretty much the same”
 of 5 bubbles wulliebroon, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Double check before you go what you need to take.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwiirish2001, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay