We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Caledonia Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Caledonia Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Absolutely horrible! The new owners locked the doors to the hotel at night ! No exits to leave the hotel available! This was the worst hotel I have ever encountered in my life, when we approached the owner about locking us out at night we were told the lock out curfew was 12 pm ! The exit doors were also...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FrankieTCI
JohnTory, Owner at Caledonia Motor Inn, responded to this review

First of all, I apologize that you had unpleasant experience with our hotel. We are immigrant family so I admit that my English is not perfect, but i wouldn't be rude. Also due to the security reasons, our front door is locked after midnight. Still, I am staying at the sight, right here at the motel, and I leave my...

Cornwall, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2015

It was our second time at this motel after not so much of a good experience from a few years back. To be frank, we were just trying to find a place to rest after long hours of drive. We noticed a sign that read "New Management" which made us disregard our past experience and decided to give this motel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank canadian_winter26
JohnTory, Owner at Caledonia Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We are always our best for any customers for stay in our hotel.

Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

This place was the biggest waste of money EVER!! The room was absolutely filthy, the bathroom was too gross to describe. I don't think they know what cleaning is. The staff barely spoke English and were very rude. TV didn't work, no coffee in room and charged $2.00 for it at the desk! The restaurant was no better. Cutlery was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canthelpthisplace
JohnTory, Owner at Caledonia Motor Inn, responded to this review

We took over this hotel on June 01,2015, After took over we have done cleaning and renovate step by step. Now we are not perfect hotel but we will be getting better for the nice hotel. We are immigrant family and can't speak English very well but wouldn't rude, dirty, bad food same as below review. Because of we are...

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stay Anywhere else!!! THIS IS RIGHT BESIDE THE TRAIN TRACKS every 30mins a train goes by-full horns and the hotel shakes! Dirty toilet/ leftover garbage from previous guests/ FILTHY mattresses/ Mold in coffee pot/ dirt surrounding bathtub/ entrance to the hotel is a safety hazard (VERY broken tile) / flickering lights down the hallway/ mildew and dead flies on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian K
Bonnyville, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times over the last 10 years. However this stay was horrific. Initially the clerk that checked us in tried to jack up the price to $138 are you kidding me. They gave us the $90 rate. Room is terrible, curtains falling off. A huge industrial extension cord was looped around the room to plug...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cinnamon43
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here in June for 1 night. Rooms are outdated, shabby and the bathroom is just plain nasty. There is a restaurant in the hotel but the dinner we had must have been frozen food. Breakfast isn't bad though. If you want coffee in the morning they charge you $ 2.00 at the desk. The TV didn't work in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astromac866
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I were traveling and after a long night on the road we decided to pull over and get some sleep. We checked in at 4am and paid 98.00 for the room and were told we must check out at 11am. I was not overly happy but at the time just wanted a shower and to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie Y
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Weak at best. Fridge was gross, bed sagged, the complimentary 6am breakfast was served at 6:30 and both meals I had were small portions for the price. TV didn't even work in 1 of the rooms for our crews and the beds sagged in the middle.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PT306
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place is a joke. Way over priced because they were putting in a pipeline over the winter and the area was booked out so they ran up their prices and apparently are sticking to them. The rooms are terrible absolutely terrible. Pillows are lumpy sheets smell like greasy human flesh. There was no cable no heater no light. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Westlock, Canada
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We traveled with a team to this hotel this weekend, they new we were coming as reservations were made a month in advance, one person working in the whole ,restaurant and liquor store. gave us rooms that had not been cleaned and were filthy amde them come and change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom H

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our restaurant menu are western style and pub snack .From Tuesday to Sunday open 08;00 AM ~ 20;00 PM, Monday will be close. For the pub, every Wednesday is 'WING DAY", every Friday is 'STEAK DAY ( 8OZ STEAK). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caledonia Motor Inn

Address: 5136 54st | Crossroads of Hwy 14 & 36, Viking, Alberta T0B 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Beaver County > Viking
Price Range: RM301 - RM310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caledonia Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonia Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to Camrose- Best Western Resort & Casino”
 of 5 bubbles 741iank, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles astromac866, 12 Jul 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay